We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
migifj
Johannesburg, South Africa

Wonderful hostess

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 10 Nov 2019via mobile
Maria was an excellent hostess. Informative and helpful. The room was clean and spacious with an air con. Lovely meal and Maria was accommodating of dietary needs. We had to leave very early so Maria packed a breakfast for us and also gave us a lift to town. Our only criticism was the sandwich - no butter on the bread and it was not cut and had meat on for a vegetarian.
Date of stay: November 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
$294
  • Expedia.com
    $346
  • ZenHotels.com
    $284
  • Hotels.com
    $346
2.2 km from Rafiki Bush Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
$344
  • Priceline
  • Expedia.com
    $293
  • Hotels.com
    $293
3.1 km from Rafiki Bush Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
$451
  • Expedia.com
    $451
  • Agoda.com
    $272
  • Hotels.com
    $451
5.7 km from Rafiki Bush Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Hlatifula Main Lodge - Swimming Pool
$160
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
    $144
  • Expedia.com
    $152
23.7 km from Rafiki Bush Lodge
Free parking
Pool
Pool Area
$63
Easy and fast booking
  • Expedia.com
    $67
  • Trip.com
  • Hotels.com
    $70
6.7 km from Rafiki Bush Lodge
Free parking
Pool
$113
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    $73
  • Expedia.com
    $99
18.9 km from Rafiki Bush Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
$76
  • Priceline
    $85
  • Agoda.com
    $76
  • Vio.com
27.8 km from Rafiki Bush Lodge
Free parking
Pool
Mirage Bar
$203
  • Expedia.com
    $203
  • Radissonhotels.com
    $203
  • Priceline
    $203
9.5 km from Rafiki Bush Lodge
Free parking
Pool
$1,409
  • Hotels.com
    $1,533
  • Priceline
  • Expedia.com
    $1,533
30.3 km from Rafiki Bush Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
$1,007
  • Expedia.com
    $1,086
  • Trip.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $1,252
28.7 km from Rafiki Bush Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Hoedspruit
Reviews (45)
Filter reviews
45 results
Traveller rating
43
0
2
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
43
0
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beautiful experience wildlife reserve enjoyed our stay food was amazing kruger park game drives bush lodge hosts meals safari
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
32 - 37 of 45 reviews
Reviewed 10 November 2019

Nothing to complain about. Awesome host with lots of tips for activities and excellent food for dinner and breakfast. Interior was super stylish and we had an awesome time! Keep in mind though that Kruger is about an one hour away but there are private reserves which are totally work visiting - even for the big five and especially for bush walks!

Date of stay: November 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 367maximiliano
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 5 November 2019

Amazing accommodation & Maria is a fantastic host. Food is delicious & you feel at home been here. This place is definitely an unknown beauty & I am so glad I found it. I will be back & would highly recommend it

Date of stay: October 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank N8879IKlisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 8 October 2019

Nothing was too much trouble for this family owned and run lodge.
It's small but excellently decorated. Very private rooms all with their own patio's.
We had a great trip and this one is on our to do again list. What a fantastic break.

Date of stay: September 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank BelindaDunn123
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 27 September 2019

Rafiki Bush Lodge is one of the best located lodges on the Hoedspruit Wildlife Estate. Complete privacy and peace and quiet. The decor is gorgeous and the rooms are fabulous, with nothing missing.

A beautiful pair of bushuck were ready to welcome us at the deck when we arrived.

Maria is an excellent host and she and the ladies prepared us a lovely breakfast in time to suit our schedule next morning.

We will be back!

Date of stay: September 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Bushgranny1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
rafikibushlodge, Manager at Rafiki Bush Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2019

Dear Kate,

Thank you so much for your kind words, it was such a pleasure to have met you.

Best Wishes,
Rafiki

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2019

The staff at Rafiki made a comfortable stay very special. Nothing was too much and everyone went beyond expectation to make us feel at home. The lodge itself is beautifully and tastefully decorated and the food was sublime. Considering that we requested a vegan menu, this is saying a lot. Would highly recommend Rafiki as a place to stay.

Room tip: All the rooms are private and beautifully decorated but the premiere suite has a spacious bathroom and loads of cupboard space.
Date of stay: August 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank CeciliaM2967
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
rafikibushlodge, Manager at Rafiki Bush Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2019

Thank you for visiting Rafiki We would love to have you back again !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews