We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Marie T

An absolute delight.

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 4 weeks ago
From the moment you arrive you feel like everything has been thought through and receive a really warm welcome.
The lodges are beautiful and 'bug free' inside. The bathroom has an indoor shower and bath and there is also an outdoor shower for the more adventurous. We saw many visitors to the riverbed from our balcony each day including elephant, impala, baboons and giraffe!
The game drives are the highlight of the stay (the food a very close second) We saw all the 'big 5' on the drives but it was Colton and Elliot that took them to the next level. 3 hours passed by very quickly due to their very entertaining manner.
There is nothing negative to say about Thornbush, and I don't want to say too much because it's the little thoughtful surprises that make your stay so special. I will remember this holiday forever.
Date of stay: May 2024
Room Tip: Don't worry, Thornbush will see to everything. You just need to turn up.
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thornybush Group, Owner at Thornybush Game Lodge, responded to this review
Responded 2 weeks ago
Hi there,
Thank you so much for your heartwarming review! We're delighted to hear that you had such an enjoyable and memorable stay at Thornbush. It's wonderful to know that you appreciated the thoughtful details, the comfort of our lodges, and the excitement of the game drives. Colton and Elliot will be thrilled to hear your kind words about their entertaining and knowledgeable guiding. We're glad you enjoyed the wildlife sightings and the culinary delights as well.

Your feedback is incredibly valuable to us, and we look forward to welcoming you back for another unforgettable experience.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Pool Area
$66
  • Hotels.com
  • Agoda.com
  • Trip.com
23.3 km from Thornybush Game Lodge
Free parking
Pool
$98
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
  • Booking.com
29.9 km from Thornybush Game Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
$184
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
39.1 km from Thornybush Game Lodge
Free parking
Pool
Hlatifula Main Lodge - Swimming Pool
$150
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
41.0 km from Thornybush Game Lodge
Free parking
Pool
$1,508
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
  • Expedia.com
    $1,508
45.8 km from Thornybush Game Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $225
  • Priceline
19.5 km from Thornybush Game Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $285
  • Priceline
20.0 km from Thornybush Game Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Official Site
    $381
  • Algotels
21.5 km from Thornybush Game Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    $1,065
  • Trip.com
42.5 km from Thornybush Game Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Mirage Bar
  • Hotels.com
  • Radissonhotels.com
    $200
  • Expedia.com
    $200
25.6 km from Thornybush Game Lodge
Free parking
Pool
View more hotels in Hoedspruit
Reviews (605)
Filter reviews
605 results
Traveller rating
564
36
5
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
564
36
5
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews outdoor shower safari experience game lodge watering hole the reserve dry river bed an amazing experience wild dogs lounge area the entire staff pure luxury cape buffalo lion cubs dream come true water buffalo morning and evening whole experience
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 605 reviews
Reviewed 20 April 2024 via mobile

This was the initial location of our first visit to South Africa and from our arrival, it was apparent that absolutely nothing was too much trouble with everyone going out of their way to ensure that our stay would be memorable.
Our lodge far exceeded expectations with a very high quality specification, while the food and service was exceptional.
On top of this were the safaris, where Archie, Mandla and Haydn ensured that our safety was paramount, but also that we would enjoy a once in a lifetime experience. The way that they were able to locate not just the Big 5, but enlighten us on a whole array of animals, birds, trees, bushes and plants was first-class. The animal viewings were not in any way artificial or manufactured, but we were able to witness the animals in their natural environment and particular circumstances, without infiltrating their ‘space’ or causing them to be distracted or threatened, the manner in which they dealt with a female elephant who approached the vehicle due to some concern for its infant, highlighted the relationship between rangers and the animal residents. Thank you
An exceptional experience which set a very high bar for other venues on our South African visit.

Date of stay: April 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank CeriPhil54
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thornybush Group, Owner at Thornybush Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2024

Hi there,

We're delighted to hear that your first visit to South Africa was such a memorable one! We're grateful for your kind words and thrilled to have set a high standard for your South African journey. Thank you for choosing us, and we look forward to welcoming you back someday!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2024

This trip was so incredible- We had our 12 and 16-year-old with us and my husband and I were hopeful this would be a great experience. Thorybush was awesome! We felt lucky with our amazing guide and tracker- Lindi and KG - so many fun game drives and moments. In addition to seeing the Big 5, we enjoyed being out in nature for hours at a time being together. We shared the drive with other visitors a couple of times and that was great too. The spa was really nice- I had a massage and pedicure from Granny. The food was great too- it was relaxing to not have to leave the lodge for any meals and relax in between the drives. We would LOVE to return and bring our oldest son with us. Thanks to Precious, Peter and Lucie for taking great care of us!

Room tip: We were in rooms 14 and 15 and liked being close to our kids. There is an extra pool at the spa away from the main pool.
Date of stay: April 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank theconciergemom
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thornybush Group, Owner at Thornybush Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2024

Hi there,

Your family trip sounds absolutely fantastic! Lindi, KG, Granny, Precious, Peter, and Lucie are all delighted to have been a part of making your experience memorable. We can't wait to welcome your oldest son on your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2024 via mobile

An all round 10/10 for the people, the lodge, the ranger and tracker, the drives, the big 5, the food, the rooms and the genuine feeling of how the staff engage was tops. Carlton, Elliott, Noshem and everyone else were superb.

A must visit for lovers of the bush.

Date of stay: April 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank zast2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thornybush Group, Owner at Thornybush Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2024

Hi zast2020,

Thank you for rating every aspect of your experience with us as a perfect 10/10. Carlton, Elliott, Noshem, and our entire team are delighted to have made your stay superb. We can't wait to welcome you back for more unforgettable moments in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2024

The staff, food and game viewing was absolutely amazing!! It literally couldn't have been better! We traveled with 24 people, but they made each person feel like they were the only ones there! Every person said they can't wait to go back and do it again!

Date of stay: March 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank pambartholomew75
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thornybush Group, Owner at Thornybush Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2024

Hi Pam,
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your wonderful experience with us! We are thrilled to hear that you and your group had an amazing time at our establishment.

Creating memorable experiences for our guests is what we strive for, and it's fantastic to know that our staff, food, and game viewing exceeded your expectations. Making each person feel special, even in a group as large as yours, is something we take great pride in.

Your kind words truly motivate us to continue delivering exceptional service and experiences. We can't wait to welcome you all back for another unforgettable adventure!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2024

My friend and I (both women in our mid 30s) stayed at Thornybush for 4 nights, and I can't say enough how wonderful an experience it was. The transfer was very easy from Hoedspruit Airport (under 40 mins) and we had such a warm welcome from the Thornybush team. My first impression of the accommodation and facilities was just WOW! And then it got better from there - delicious, generous food at every meal (thanks Ralson who was always so welcoming), great gym and pool (we did yoga whilst elephants were on the river bank!), and we always felt very safe with the support from the evening rangers.

Now onto Safari! Thornybush is massive and we saw the big 5 and more multiple times - the animals are plentiful within Thornybush thanks to being open to Kruger and surrounding reserves (I personally wouldn't recommend a closed reserve after learning about this). Watching the animals interact is incredible and our ranger, Lindy, and tracker, KG, were so knowledgable and really cared for the natural environment and their profession. Spending four days getting to know them was a highlight of our trip!

We did both the morning and afternoon game drives on most days. One morning we opted for a bush walk instead which is also a cool experience if you're looking to understand the nature and tracking techniques more.

As it was the first time for both of us, we didn't quite know what to expect or how much to pay (you gauk when you first see the prices). We did a lot of research and I can't say enough how pleased I am that we chose Thornybush. Worth every penny!

Date of stay: January 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank alexandrabC2677GM
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thornybush Group, Owner at Thornybush Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2024

Hi Alexandra,

Thank you so much for sharing your wonderful experience at Thornybush! We're thrilled to hear that you and your friend had such a fantastic time during your stay. It sounds like you made the most of your safari adventure, from the warm welcome to the incredible wildlife sightings and engaging activities like the bush walk. We're delighted that you found our team, accommodations, and facilities to be top-notch, and we'll be sure to pass along your compliments to Ralson, Lindy, KG, and the rest of our team. We're honored that you chose Thornybush for your safari experience and we hope to welcome you back again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews