We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Booking.com
ZenHotels.com
$2,601
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
theconciergemom
Wassenaar, The Netherlands

One of the best family trips we have taken

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 8 Apr 2024
This trip was so incredible- We had our 12 and 16-year-old with us and my husband and I were hopeful this would be a great experience. Thorybush was awesome! We felt lucky with our amazing guide and tracker- Lindi and KG - so many fun game drives and moments. In addition to seeing the Big 5, we enjoyed being out in nature for hours at a time being together. We shared the drive with other visitors a couple of times and that was great too. The spa was really nice- I had a massage and pedicure from Granny. The food was great too- it was relaxing to not have to leave the lodge for any meals and relax in between the drives. We would LOVE to return and bring our oldest son with us. Thanks to Precious, Peter and Lucie for taking great care of us!
Date of stay: April 2024
Room Tip: We were in rooms 14 and 15 and liked being close to our kids. There is an extra pool at the spa...
Trip type: Travelled with family
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thornybush Group, Owner at Thornybush Game Lodge, responded to this review
Responded 3 weeks ago
Hi there,

Your family trip sounds absolutely fantastic! Lindi, KG, Granny, Precious, Peter, and Lucie are all delighted to have been a part of making your experience memorable. We can't wait to welcome your oldest son on your next visit!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Tripadvisor
$251
  • Booking.com
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
19.6 km from Thornybush Game Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
$343
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    $343
20.0 km from Thornybush Game Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Pool Area
Tripadvisor
$71
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    $71
  • Agoda.com
23.3 km from Thornybush Game Lodge
Free parking
Pool
Tripadvisor
$1,317
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    $1,317
45.8 km from Thornybush Game Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $283
  • Expedia.com
    $344
19.5 km from Thornybush Game Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Official Site
    $368
  • Algotels
21.5 km from Thornybush Game Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $158
  • Priceline
41.0 km from Thornybush Game Lodge
Free parking
Pool
View more hotels in Hoedspruit
Reviews (603)
Filter reviews
604 results
Traveller rating
563
36
5
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
563
36
5
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews outdoor shower safari experience game lodge watering hole the reserve dry river bed an amazing experience wild dogs lounge area the entire staff pure luxury cape buffalo lion cubs dream come true water buffalo morning and evening whole experience
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 604 reviews
Reviewed 3 April 2024 via mobile

An all round 10/10 for the people, the lodge, the ranger and tracker, the drives, the big 5, the food, the rooms and the genuine feeling of how the staff engage was tops. Carlton, Elliott, Noshem and everyone else were superb.

A must visit for lovers of the bush.

Date of stay: April 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank zast2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thornybush Group, Owner at Thornybush Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi zast2020,

Thank you for rating every aspect of your experience with us as a perfect 10/10. Carlton, Elliott, Noshem, and our entire team are delighted to have made your stay superb. We can't wait to welcome you back for more unforgettable moments in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2024

The staff, food and game viewing was absolutely amazing!! It literally couldn't have been better! We traveled with 24 people, but they made each person feel like they were the only ones there! Every person said they can't wait to go back and do it again!

Date of stay: March 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank pambartholomew75
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thornybush Group, Owner at Thornybush Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2024

Hi Pam,
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your wonderful experience with us! We are thrilled to hear that you and your group had an amazing time at our establishment.

Creating memorable experiences for our guests is what we strive for, and it's fantastic to know that our staff, food, and game viewing exceeded your expectations. Making each person feel special, even in a group as large as yours, is something we take great pride in.

Your kind words truly motivate us to continue delivering exceptional service and experiences. We can't wait to welcome you all back for another unforgettable adventure!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2024

My friend and I (both women in our mid 30s) stayed at Thornybush for 4 nights, and I can't say enough how wonderful an experience it was. The transfer was very easy from Hoedspruit Airport (under 40 mins) and we had such a warm welcome from the Thornybush team. My first impression of the accommodation and facilities was just WOW! And then it got better from there - delicious, generous food at every meal (thanks Ralson who was always so welcoming), great gym and pool (we did yoga whilst elephants were on the river bank!), and we always felt very safe with the support from the evening rangers.

Now onto Safari! Thornybush is massive and we saw the big 5 and more multiple times - the animals are plentiful within Thornybush thanks to being open to Kruger and surrounding reserves (I personally wouldn't recommend a closed reserve after learning about this). Watching the animals interact is incredible and our ranger, Lindy, and tracker, KG, were so knowledgable and really cared for the natural environment and their profession. Spending four days getting to know them was a highlight of our trip!

We did both the morning and afternoon game drives on most days. One morning we opted for a bush walk instead which is also a cool experience if you're looking to understand the nature and tracking techniques more.

As it was the first time for both of us, we didn't quite know what to expect or how much to pay (you gauk when you first see the prices). We did a lot of research and I can't say enough how pleased I am that we chose Thornybush. Worth every penny!

Date of stay: January 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank alexandrabC2677GM
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thornybush Group, Owner at Thornybush Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2024

Hi Alexandra,

Thank you so much for sharing your wonderful experience at Thornybush! We're thrilled to hear that you and your friend had such a fantastic time during your stay. It sounds like you made the most of your safari adventure, from the warm welcome to the incredible wildlife sightings and engaging activities like the bush walk. We're delighted that you found our team, accommodations, and facilities to be top-notch, and we'll be sure to pass along your compliments to Ralson, Lindy, KG, and the rest of our team. We're honored that you chose Thornybush for your safari experience and we hope to welcome you back again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2024 via mobile

Freedom, Delta, Glory, Lorraine, Gia and Catherine .... to you all, thank you for a memorable 4 nights at your Lodge.
On the vehicle with Freedom and Delta exploring the bush and its surroundings, learning all that nature can provide was wonderful - not knowing what was around the corner! Knowledge from both was exceptional.
Incredible viewing of creatures big and small.
Food .... just perfectly presented and tasteful with a smile at all times.
The accommodation - perfect and comfortable with a great view - a favourite for me is the outdoor shower.
Special Place indeed!

Date of stay: February 2024
Trip type: Travelled solo
1  Thank DebbyKZN
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thornybush Group, Owner at Thornybush Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2024

Hi Debby,


Thank you for your glowing review! We're delighted to hear that your experience at our lodge was memorable. It was our pleasure to have you with us for four nights of bush exploration and relaxation. We're thrilled that Freedom and Delta provided exceptional knowledge during your safari adventures, and that you enjoyed the incredible sightings of wildlife. We take pride in presenting delicious meals with a smile, and we're glad you appreciated them. Our accommodations aim to provide comfort and a connection to nature, and we're glad you enjoyed the outdoor shower. We look forward to welcoming you back to our special place in the future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2024

The service and friendliness of the staff elevate this place!! Thoughtfully appointed bungalow was perfect! You are assigned a driver, tracker, and waiter on arrival and they are yours for your stay, Ralson took great care of us at meal time, Ngosi and Kilmon made for interesting game drives. We truly enjoyed our time here!

Date of stay: December 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Thank davidbE924MO
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thornybush Group, Owner at Thornybush Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2024

We sincerely appreciate you sharing your experience with us, David! We are overjoyed that the incredible service and warmth of our staff enhanced your stay at our lodge and that your bungalow was a perfect haven during your time with us.
Your encouraging words inspire our team to maintain the high standards of hospitality we strive for. We are grateful for your valuable feedback and look forward to the pleasure of hosting you again for another memorable stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews