We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (881)
Filter reviews
881 results
Traveller rating
306
348
167
36
24
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
306
348
167
36
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviews putt putt lovely hotel family room tennis courts table tennis within walking distance garden route enjoyed my stay pleasant stay lounge area one night stay squash spa trampoline lagoon maintenance fireplace
Filter
Updating list...
65 - 70 of 881 reviews
Reviewed 4 June 2018

We didn't enjoy our stay at the Wilderness hotel, the shower ran for 10 mins before it eventually heated up, the toilet was clogged up and overflowed, had to call them to come sort it out, there was no safe to store belongings, there was no fridge to keep drinks or food from restaurants. We were only supplied with normal and decaf coffee for two people so if I had normal coffee my Fiancè was forced to have decaf. We heard footsteps right through the night due to the old flooring, causing us to have about 3 to 4 hours sleep each night. Then lastly the colours are so dull in the room, it's not welcoming at all, I literally compared my stay to a backpackers. The only thing we enjoyed was the Wi-Fi.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank RoxanneR437
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2018

It was a pleasure staying at The Wilderness Hotel. Staff very friendly and polite. Quality of meals, room service, cleanliness and everything in general was very good. Will definitely stay at the hotel again

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 731hans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2018

What a pleasant experience ! Highly recommended for a relaxing weekend in a tranquil environment. Enjoyed the location and what the town had to offer. The scenerey in the surroundings is worth to explore. Sitting on the deck overlooking the lagoon was the best relaxing experience of a long time.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank faure73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2018

No roomservice after 9-should be reconsidered. Maintenance problems starting to occur ie chairs on open deck above entrance wobbly and unsafe. I dont know what is on offering at the hotel so reception should offer to inform guests ie facilities like atm, sport, pool, newspapers etc. Rate is about 20% too much

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank nverma618826
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2018

We stayed there for our wedding anniversary for 18 and 19 May 2018. We booked the bed, breakfast and dinner special for R1160.00 per night, which included a discount coupon for the spa. When we got there, we were given the furthest room in the hotel. Yes, really. I went back to reception and asked for another room as my lovie had a sore back and could not walk far. We were given a room on the first floor (260). The room was great, enough towels and a Cloud 9 mattress which sleeps like a dream. On the Friday night, the buffet was superb. I informed all my friends and family of the wonderful meal and told everybody to come stay there for any special occasion. The staff was wonderful. On Saturday I tried the cake and coffee special for R45.00. On Saturday night, the hotel hosted an event for the Eden Coastal Angling Club. And there things went downhill.The meal was dismal that was served to us and 3 buses full of tourists. Fish seemed to be the main ingredient of the entrees, and also the main meal. The fish was underdone, watery and I found scales and fish bones in my meal. The broccoli was underdone, the potato salad had potatoes that was underdone and the pumpkin fritters had a sauce where custard powder was used and not cooked well. The German tourists complained to one another as there was only fish and Beef Stroganoff to choose from. Some of them asked for meat but none was prepared. One guest asked the chef what he could eat as he could not eat fish. The chef could not answer him. It seemed that with the Angling club there, they were catered for and the rest of us had to make do. Even the ice cream that was available the first time, was moved to their meal for the club. I was so sad as this was our anniversary and after the previous night, an immense letdown. I spoke to a manager who promised to deduct one of the meals, and I signed for one meal only. The next day when we booked out, we were charged for 4 x rooms, R65.00 for the cake and R165.00 for the meal, which came to R2310.00. The waiter had added an extra R20.00 for himself without my permission, and the hotel had added a tourist levy. I explained that I did not add the R20.00 and that I was not a tourist and had not been informed of the levy. The receptionist informed me that they don't tell people about it, but they charge it. I asked that it be removed. According to me, I should have been charged 2 x R1160 (2 nights), minus R165.00 for the one meal and R45.00 for the cake and coffee. A total of R2200.00. I was overcharged with R110.00. And the coupon for the spa? We never received it.

Room Tip: Don't accept a room in the back of the hotel. The views are none existent and they do not have balconies.
  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RainyDecember
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews