We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!”

KOLI Equestrian Center
Ranked #2 of 47 things to do in Chandler
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: KOLI Equestrian Center, located in the heart of the Gila River Indian Reservation and just minutes away from Downtown Phoenix, offers miles of breathtaking scenery and horseback riding trails that you and your family is sure to enjoy while visiting the Phoenix area. With wide open views and landscape, you just might be able to see the wild horses on a private horseback trail ride at Wild Horse Pass. Out here at KOLI Equestrian Center there is never any “head to tail” single line horseback riding. Everyone is spread out and can get to know each other along the way. Friendly, qualified wranglers will advise you of the surroundings and what you need to know about our well trained horses during your horseback riding adventure. If you are looking for relaxation and fun in the Phoenix area, KOLI Equestrian Center is the place to be. Book your horseback trail ride today where our knowledgeable wranglers and gentle horses are waiting for you… To avoid the Phoenix heat, we leave earlier in the day so you can enjoy your horseback trail ride. Whether it is Summer or Winter, within a 24 hour notice we can provide Private Horseback Trail Riding at any time. We recommend advance reservations to ensure your horseback ride time during your stay in Chandler or the Phoenix area. Contact us for the latest pricing. Please check in 15 minutes prior to your scheduled horseback riding time for our group to depart promptly.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

My family took a private ride to view wild Mustangs at the Koli Equestrian Center this week. Fantastic experience from start to finish. Ben our guide was an expert! I have ridden many Trail horses and highly recommend this experience. Worth every penny. This is not a nose-to-tail trail ride! We learned a lot and had a great time.

Thank Ruth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chuck P, Owner at KOLI Equestrian Center, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

What a great review! We appreciate the feedback and glad to hear you and your family had a fantastic time. We pride ourselves on being the only horseback riding in the area that does not require riders to be head to tail / single file line. It's great to be able to interact with the wrangler and your group during the ride.

I will let Ben know you were happy with his experience and knowledge. We will look forward to seeing you again if you are looking for another great horseback ride. Take care.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (178)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"wild horses"
in 29 reviews
"private ride"
in 13 reviews
"horseback riding"
in 15 reviews
"great ride"
in 11 reviews
"group ride"
in 9 reviews
"sunset ride"
in 7 reviews
"side by side"
in 6 reviews
"morning ride"
in 5 reviews
"minute ride"
in 7 reviews
"jack rabbits"
in 7 reviews
"awesome experience"
in 6 reviews
"great guide"
in 4 reviews
"indian reservation"
in 7 reviews
"city slickers"
in 3 reviews
"trail guide"
in 3 reviews
"two sons"
in 2 reviews
"love horses"
in 2 reviews
Filter

4 - 8 of 178 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

It was very nice. I took my granddaughter from Montana there recently. Everyone was very nice, she had a nice ride. She is an experienced rider, but got bored quickly as they just walked, although her guides trotted. She did not think she was allowed to so didn’t. The two guides talked mainly between themselves not including her. I probably would not bring her back, although for an inexperienced rider I think it would be fine.

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank mutzeraz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chuck P, Owner at KOLI Equestrian Center, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hello and thank you for taking a moment to let us know about your experience. I am sorry to hear we didn't live up to your expectations but I see you still had positive things to say. All of our horseback riding are walking trails (as most guests are inexperienced and for guest & horses safety). If you opt for a Private Ride (after demonstration in the arena) then the wrangler may work up to light trot (based on wrangler assessment and as the trail permits). Perhaps you can give us another shot and try a Private Ride for your grand-daughter. We hope to see you another time. Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I took my friend for her birthday on a sunrise ride. It was SPECTACULAR!!!! I recently had gone to Cave Creek for a ride which was good, although lacking in wild life... On this private ride we saw wild horses, bunnies, a coyote and a snake. It was a nice relaxing ride, and didn't seem as treacherous as a prior ride. The horses are in great shape and they clearly love the horses here. Great company and easy process. I asked if we could start our ride earlier as we wanted to see the sunrise and they were happy to accommodate our request. Awesome experience and I can't wait to go back and do it again.

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank Jenlong49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chuck P, Owner at KOLI Equestrian Center, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for taking a moment to posted your review about KOLI Equestrian Center. I am happy to hear we were able to accommodate your request and you enjoyed the ride. What a birthday surprise like seeing the wild horses on a ride. We do our best to have a relaxing and scenic ride. It sounds like you enjoyed your wrangler, Roger too!

We hope the next time you want to go horseback riding you think of KOLI Equestrian Center first! Perhaps we can show the a Sunset Ride soon. Take care.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Great outing for the family . Go as early as possible in the Summer. Guide was great and accommodating

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank Hazem R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chuck P, Owner at KOLI Equestrian Center, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for having your family out to KOLI Equestrian Center. Yes, as it continues to get warmer, the earlier rides are the best. Please keep in mind during summer months of June, July and August we are closed mid day (riding at 7am and 9am then 6pm). We hope to see you again for another ride with your family. Have a great rest of the week.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 12 April 2018

Wesley, our guide, was kind and the horses were friendly and sweet. Thank you so much for a memorable time!

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank abc147852
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chuck P, Owner at KOLI Equestrian Center, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2018

Thank you for taking a moment to let everyone know about your experience with Wesley. We do our best to provide the best horseback riding in the Phoenix area. Glad we were able to crate a great memory for you! Take care.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed KOLI Equestrian Center also viewed

Chandler, Central Arizona
 
Chandler, Central Arizona
 

Been to KOLI Equestrian Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing