We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
DanO68
Alexandra, New Zealand

Best place to stay on Kosrae.

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 7 Jun 2024
We had a good 3-night stay at the Kosrae Nautilus, and after 3 days of looking around the island, it definitely looked to be the best place around. The location is very good, literally across the street from the Blue Hole snorkeling/diving area. It’s also only about 20 minutes scenic walk into Lelu village and the Lelu ruins. The hotel backs onto the mangrove channels and we made use of the free kayaks to explore these remote channels.

We were met at the airport for our free pick-up and brought to the hotel where we met the owner, Josh, and got checked into the room. Josh and all the hotel staff were very friendly, helpful, and hard-working and we enjoyed our daily chats with them. Our room was one of about 16 or so in the complex, rows of motel style adjoined units. It was clean and comfortable with good AC, fridge, hot water jug, and good, dependable Wifi internet. The TV was purely for internet streaming and worked well. We had 2 queen size beds and a small computer desk. Everything seemed to work well and was well-maintained. We ate nearly all our meals at the restaurant and were happy with every meal – especially the chicken quesadillas. There were both indoor and outdoor eating areas and the place seemed to be very popular with the local inhabitants. The only complaint about the restaurant was that lots of people were smoking in the outdoor covered eating area which made the whole eating experience very unpleasant. As mentioned before, use of the kayaks is free, and you can also rent diving/snorkeling gear and rent cars as well for getting around the island. Josh can also arrange hikes and other activities if you choose. Overall we had a very good stay and would definitely recommend it to other travelers looking for a great base in Kosrae.
Date of stay: June 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Starlink WiFi
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Agoda.com
2.8 km from Kosrae Nautilus Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Boardwalk entrance to Treelodge Restaurant
  • Priceline
  • Vio.com
0.6 km from Kosrae Nautilus Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
0.0 km from Kosrae Nautilus Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
.
Contact accommodation for availability.
Contact accommodation for availability.
View more hotels in Kosrae
Reviews (120)
Filter reviews
120 results
Traveller rating
85
30
4
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
85
30
4
0
1
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 120 reviews
Reviewed 27 January 2024 via mobile

Famous ‚Blue Hole‘ (snorkeling highly recommended! You can get gear at the resort) at your front door, Lelu ruins in walking distance, bank next door.

All rooms have A/C. You can also rent a car from there or have tours arranged (fishing is really fun, even if you‘ve never done it). Using the kayaks to explore the mangroves behind the resort is free.

People are super nice and I loved the food, THANK YOU!

Date of stay: January 2024
Trip type: Travelled solo
1  Thank Tobias_Kapunkt
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 23 January 2024

My wife and I stayed 3 nights, met at KSA Airport by the hotel’s driver at 1:30PM, and joined 1 other for the 12km van ride southeast in the pouring rain. At reception, the owner copied our passports and guided us along a garden walk in front of sturdy concrete block rooms with white tile floors, all accessed through glass sliding doors.
#13 was sparkling clean with 2 doubles with colorful spreads, desk and chair, then closet, sink with hot pot and bathroom at the back. A housekeeper brought a large pitcher of drinking water and a floor towel. All was fine until we discovered the sink wouldn’t drain and there was no micro, so the owner moved us to a 2 bedroom apartment.
# 17 had a full kitchen(large refrigerator, full oven and micro), sink/shower and separate toilet, perfect for us using only 1 bedroom. The silent wall AC in the living room was appreciated as was the room’s secure and strong WIFI. We swam in the lovely cool pool and ate at their restaurant with its extensive American menu that’s popular with the locals.
The owner had Robert drive us to the well stocked Ace Grocery, 1 mile south on Lelu Island; it’s closed tomorrow, Sunday. It would be a nice walk without the heavy rain.
This friendly hotel was the perfect location for our stay which included airport transfers, nice accommodation and an accommodative owner to suit our needs.

Date of stay: December 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Gene R J
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 6 July 2023

The Nautilus Resort is a must-stay if you find yourself in the beautiful island of Kosrae. I really enjoyed the camaraderie built with other guests, where there weren't the many distractions of modern life. Instead, I happily enjoyed deep conversations with hotel staff and other guests, hanging out by the pool in a well-appointed patio area. When I needed to, I would return to my room to escape the heat and humidity, and take advantage of the air con. 10/10 recommend, can't wait to go again!

Date of stay: June 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Natasha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 24 November 2019

We stayed at Kosrae Nautilus Resort this past June for a week of sightseeing and diving. Josh is a great host and took care of the details for most any request we had. The restaurant has very good food and service. Josh coordinated several outings that required local guides and everything went off without a hitch. Our group included both snorkelers and divers, adults and children. All of our dives were guided by Josh himself and we always had marvelous conditions and felt very safe. We actually had an incident where Josh's rescue skills were put the test and he reacted quick, calm and decisively. We do plan on returning to Kosrae and would not consider staying anywhere else.

Room tip: All rooms are a stone's throw from the ocean.
Date of stay: June 2019
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MMcSD
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 18 February 2019 via mobile

Did a solo dive trip here. Super friendly staff. Rooms are simple but clean and quite comfortable. Remember this is a remote island not a Hilton Resort. But thoroughly enjoyed myself and would def stay here again.

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Travelled solo
1  Thank 526grantm
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews