We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
Beautiful preserved forest

You can organise hikes from Pacific Treelodge Resort. The park is stunning and cool, filled with... read more

Reviewed 24 October 2018
JacMBrisbane
,
Queensland, Australia
Great for a boat ride

My hotel (Pacific Treelodge Resort) arranged a boat ride for me. Since it is a small boat, I shared... read more

Reviewed 17 June 2017
Saricie_Q
,
Taipei, Taiwan
Read all 6 reviews
  
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
Reviews (6)
Filter reviews
6 results
Traveller rating
5
1
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
5
1
0
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 6 of 6 reviews
Reviewed 18 June 2016

Even though the unimproved road was a bit scary at times my driver took me on one of my most memorable rides that ended in Walung. This very small community is right on the beach and takes you back to days when everyone lived in thatch huts. Make sure you have a 4 wheel drive or you won't be able to get there. Hire a local driver unless you are a very skilled driver. Bring lots of drinking water and some snacks. The trip will take several hours at the minimum but you will love it as I did.

Date of experience: May 2016
Thank Dwight O
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 30 December 2015

We arranged this tour through Kosrae Nautilus Resort. We took a taxi to Utwe Harbor to meet up with the tour guide, Tadao. The taxi ride round-trip was about US $26. You can also get there by renting a car. During the drive you can see how people live, their houses, gardens, stores, fun stuff. Some of the most beautiful and unique structures were graves of family members in the yards. Sometimes the graves with roofs built over them were better looking than the houses. They hang laundry in them, sit around in their shade, a shady, cool, gathering place. Wonderful! Not many graveyards in Kosrae.

We met Tadao and his grandson at the dock. Tadao was born during the Japanese occupation. All children born during that time were given Japanese names. Tadao built the outrigger himself, it has an outboard motor, it leaks a bit, he had to bang on the motor a few times, but we had an amazing tour through the mangrove channels. Tadao gave us a running commentary along the way. About, plants, birds, fish, the Japanese occupation. There is still an artificial island built by the locals during the occupation. People could move out there to get away, fantastic history.

We did not snorkel in the Marine Park but we did go over it. Beautiful place.

Date of experience: October 2015
1  Thank Sue W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 23 August 2014
Google Translation

Date of experience: July 2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.