We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Angus D
Napier, New Zealand

Top place to stay

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 19 Jun 2020via mobile
Had a wonderful stay at Avenue Motor Lodge.
The owner, Mark greeted us with a warm and friendly welcome, which only set off the mood for our stay here.
The rooms are big and spacious. All travel groups, business people or families could find a room to suit.
Mark and his lively staff set the whole stay off. His local knowledge is impeccable, and there seems nothing he can't do, offer or suggest to help. True customer service at its highest.
My partner commented and the small details, like having the fore thought to use dark flannels for make up, unlike many who use white.
Small details and wonderful service at a very clean and comfortable location.
Date of stay: June 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
$184
Fully refundable
  • Official Site
  • Expedia.com
    $159
  • Priceline
    $184
0.3 km from ASURE Avenue Motor Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Property and Gardens
$205
  • Expedia.com
    $205
  • Hotels.com
    $204
  • StayForLong
0.7 km from ASURE Avenue Motor Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
$201
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    $201
  • Priceline
    $201
  • Hotels.com
    $201
1.7 km from ASURE Avenue Motor Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Reception
$160
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    $133
  • Hotels.com
    $127
  • Priceline
    $160
1.2 km from ASURE Avenue Motor Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
$178
  • Priceline
    $178
  • Expedia.com
    $178
  • Hotels.com
    $178
1.8 km from ASURE Avenue Motor Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Conference Room
$139
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $139
  • Expedia.com
    $139
  • Hotels.com
    $139
1.9 km from ASURE Avenue Motor Lodge
Free parking
Restaurant
$94
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $94
  • ZenHotels.com
  • eDreams
    $94
2.7 km from ASURE Avenue Motor Lodge
Free parking
view from my room
$190
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $182
  • Agoda.com
    $169
1.9 km from ASURE Avenue Motor Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
$130
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    $145
  • Priceline
    $130
  • Hotels.com
    $145
2.1 km from ASURE Avenue Motor Lodge
Free parking
The view from the lounge room window.
$110
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $105
  • Agoda.com
    $92
2.1 km from ASURE Avenue Motor Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Timaru
Reviews (133)
Filter reviews
133 results
Traveller rating
85
38
8
0
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
85
38
8
0
2
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 133 reviews
Reviewed 3 January 2020

We had a fantastic stay at the Avenue Motor Lodge and would highly recommend it. The owners were friendly and helpful and our room was fantastic. The room was huge with a private outdoor sitting area, the smell of the star jasmine hit you as soon as you opened the door - beautiful! We had a very comfortable King size bed, and the pillows were heavenly, you can tell they were great quality. All in all a great night away for a much needed break.

Date of stay: December 2019
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank HLT83
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 24 October 2019

Stayed here in New Zealand. The Accomadation was wonderful Clean , tidy and comfortable Best sleep in a large comfortable bed .The lovely staff emailed me the day I'd left my reading glasses behind , They forward them onto my next destination by courier at their expense I could not recommend these wonderful people any higher

Date of stay: October 2019
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Memphisbell1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 21 October 2019

Best accommodation that I have stayed in Timaru . Very friendly staff and super clean room. A+.
They are flexible and they really make your stay super awesome.
I will recommend this place to stay even longer.

Room tip: Very friendly staff, open mind, and very customer focus
Date of stay: October 2019
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank valdez2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 21 July 2019

The room was very large for one person and this seems to be the theme at this place. I would recommend the rooms for this reason and they are very warm. The location is out of the town but it is within a 10 minute walk which is easy. the manager is very helpful and the parking and WIFI excellent. Of its type it is very good and certainly the best in Timaru. The price is very competitive abd better value for money than most that I have tried in this area

Room tip: towards the back ground floor
Date of stay: May 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Mike P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 18 July 2019

I recently stayed here for a week for a national hockey tournament. This is hands down one of the best places I have stayed in. The spacious unit was clean and tidy, the kitchen had stovetop cooking which is always a bonus when staying for a week, and the hosts were very friendly and actioned any issues straight away. 100% would recommend a stay here.

Date of stay: July 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kirsten s
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews