We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
$184
Fully refundable before Fri, 3 May
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
Expedia.com
$162
Fully refundable before Fri, 3 May
Get rewarded with One Key
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
susy44
Sydney, Australia
Friendly 5 Star Accommodation and Service.
Review of Aspen On King
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 11 Nov 2022
If you want friendly service, comfortable accommodation, daily cleaning, in a quiet area of Timaru, close to the botanic Gardens and walking distance to town, then I would highly recommend Aspen on King. I recently spent 6 nights here ,as my husband was in the local hospital for 4 nights, and the help I received from Sandra and Aiden was exceptional. Nothing was too much trouble and they managed to make a very stressful time bearable. Loved the spa bath to relax at the end of each day!
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
$211
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • Expedia.com
    $207
  • Hotels.com
    $207
0.7 km from Aspen On King
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$213
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Expedia.com
    $187
  • Hotels.com
    $209
0.3 km from Aspen On King
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$201
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Expedia.com
    $201
  • Hotels.com
    $201
1.9 km from Aspen On King
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$202
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    $197
  • Expedia.com
    $210
0.7 km from Aspen On King
Free Wifi
Free parking
Queen Room (Rom 101)
Booking.com
$160
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • Expedia.com
    $134
  • ZenHotels.com
1.2 km from Aspen On King
Free Wifi
Free parking
Hotel exterior
Booking.com
$159
Fully refundable
  • Tripadvisor
    $159
  • Algotels
  • Priceline
2.1 km from Aspen On King
Free parking
Restaurant
Lovely big studio room
Booking.com
$166
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    $166
  • Agoda.com
    $159
  • Hotels.com
    $163
2.6 km from Aspen On King
Free parking
Booking.com
$94
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Lol.travel
  • eDreams
    $94
3.0 km from Aspen On King
Free parking
Booking.com
$125
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Expedia.com
    $139
  • Hotels.com
    $139
2.3 km from Aspen On King
Free parking
Booking.com
$91
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • Lol.travel
  • Vio.com
1.7 km from Aspen On King
Free parking
View more hotels in Timaru
Reviews (232)
Filter reviews
232 results
Traveller rating
122
71
20
8
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
122
71
20
8
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews spa bath botanic gardens water pressure living area units motel dvd hosts sofa sky television
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 232 reviews
Reviewed 14 October 2022 via mobile

Stayed for only 1 night, nice living area but shower and toilet in one minuscule room, never seen a room so small, had to step up to get into shower, which had steel base, water pressure so strong it was actually hurting to shower (couldn't turn pressure down), shoulders hitting walls when sitting on toilet, loud fouled mouthed builders everywhere cursing, swearing etc, try to get downstairs room as upstairs pretty ordinary, like the outdoor seating area outside unit

Date of stay: October 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank eenski
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 10 August 2022

So I travel a lot for work and I've stayed lots of motels, but this was great.
Super clean (and I'm fussy), tidy. Netflix. Sky. Spa Bath. Quality toiletries. Lazy boy sofa and all I needed. Did I say tidy!?
Great service and awesome stay. Whatever people were complaining about years ago, it's fixed now. Stayed in back lodge. 100% coming back.

Date of stay: August 2022
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank beccab600
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 11 July 2021

We just needed an overnight stop and the choice was made based on being easy to find and off the main highway so it would be quiet. While we had booked "bigger" room than the standard ones, the space was still very limited and the bathroom very very small. That said - the room - while a bit old and tired - was clean and quiet and served the purpose for an overnighter.

Date of stay: June 2021
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anwil51
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 21 June 2021 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights with around 10 other family members (5 rooms) for two nights on rally weekend. Managers were very quick at check in, which is always a plus. Rooms were perfect, spa bath, fridge/freezer, two TVs, quiet heat pump, nice outdoor chairs with cushions. Throughlly enjoyed this motel & thought it was a great size.

Only down note I would have to write is definitely carpet needs cleaning or replacing & fix up scuffs in the wall when needed. Would definitely not stop me from staying here again. Until next time, Thank You

Room tip: Book a room down the back, so quiet & private... 22,23 & 24..
Date of stay: June 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Molly317
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 24 November 2020 via mobile

We booked this motel because we have stayed at this place many times before and been happy. However after this visit and the response from the owners we will not stay again. We paid $172 for a studio room ( this was more than we have paid previously) that was substandard in quality. It would barely rate two stars, see photos of the bathroom.
Had trouble sleeping because there was a very bright light outside our room that we couldn’t turn off, it was still on at 11pm.
The condition of the bathroom was terrible with a shower over the bath with poor water pressure and and old curtain.
In the morning we found the fridge wasn’t working and our milk was warm.
I spoke to the man on reception about the fridge and he said they would need to replace it. No apology for our spoilt food. I also spoke to him about the state of the room and he said we got an old room because we booked via booking.com and not directly with the motel! That our room was only worth $130 a night.
If motels want to use Booking.com then they shouldn’t discriminate against the guest.
Very poor service from this motel.

Date of stay: November 2020
Trip type: Travelled on business
2  Thank Wilbur61
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Aspen on King, General Manager at Aspen On King, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2020

Thank you for taking the time to place your review we appreciate all feed back. Unfortunately as you booked your stay on the day you arrived we were unable to offer you any off our superior back quieter units as we were full. The fridge had not been bought to our attention and has now been replaced. Booking online through a 3rd party agency
like booking.com is alway more expensive than booking direct with the motel as you incur commission charges.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews