We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Anwil51
Queenstown, New Zealand

Quiet location but small rooms and a bit tired

Review of Aspen On King
3.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 11 Jul 2021
We just needed an overnight stop and the choice was made based on being easy to find and off the main highway so it would be quiet. While we had booked "bigger" room than the standard ones, the space was still very limited and the bathroom very very small. That said - the room - while a bit old and tired - was clean and quiet and served the purpose for an overnighter.
Date of stay: June 2021
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
$211
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • Expedia.com
    $201
  • Hotels.com
    $211
0.7 km from Aspen On King
Free Wifi
Free parking
$207
  • Expedia.com
    $193
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
    $230
0.7 km from Aspen On King
Free Wifi
Free parking
$201
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    $173
  • Expedia.com
    $201
1.9 km from Aspen On King
Free Wifi
Free parking
Reception
$160
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    $131
  • Agoda.com
    $126
  • Priceline
1.2 km from Aspen On King
Free Wifi
Free parking
$190
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    $190
  • Tripadvisor
    $190
  • Priceline
1.7 km from Aspen On King
Free Wifi
Free parking
$178
  • Priceline
  • Expedia.com
    $178
  • Hotels.com
    $178
2.0 km from Aspen On King
Free Wifi
Free parking
$94
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • ZenHotels.com
  • Agoda.com
3.0 km from Aspen On King
Free parking
view from my room
$185
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    $168
2.1 km from Aspen On King
Free Wifi
Free parking
$134
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    $149
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
    $149
2.3 km from Aspen On King
Free parking
$86
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
  • Vio.com
1.7 km from Aspen On King
Free parking
View more hotels in Timaru
Reviews (232)
Filter reviews
232 results
Traveller rating
122
71
20
8
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
122
71
20
8
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews spa bath botanic gardens water pressure living area units motel dvd hosts sofa sky television
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 232 reviews
Reviewed 21 June 2021 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights with around 10 other family members (5 rooms) for two nights on rally weekend. Managers were very quick at check in, which is always a plus. Rooms were perfect, spa bath, fridge/freezer, two TVs, quiet heat pump, nice outdoor chairs with cushions. Throughlly enjoyed this motel & thought it was a great size.

Only down note I would have to write is definitely carpet needs cleaning or replacing & fix up scuffs in the wall when needed. Would definitely not stop me from staying here again. Until next time, Thank You

Room tip: Book a room down the back, so quiet & private... 22,23 & 24..
Date of stay: June 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Molly317
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 24 November 2020 via mobile

We booked this motel because we have stayed at this place many times before and been happy. However after this visit and the response from the owners we will not stay again. We paid $172 for a studio room ( this was more than we have paid previously) that was substandard in quality. It would barely rate two stars, see photos of the bathroom.
Had trouble sleeping because there was a very bright light outside our room that we couldn’t turn off, it was still on at 11pm.
The condition of the bathroom was terrible with a shower over the bath with poor water pressure and and old curtain.
In the morning we found the fridge wasn’t working and our milk was warm.
I spoke to the man on reception about the fridge and he said they would need to replace it. No apology for our spoilt food. I also spoke to him about the state of the room and he said we got an old room because we booked via booking.com and not directly with the motel! That our room was only worth $130 a night.
If motels want to use Booking.com then they shouldn’t discriminate against the guest.
Very poor service from this motel.

Date of stay: November 2020
Trip type: Travelled on business
2  Thank Wilbur61
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Aspen on King, General Manager at Aspen On King, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2020

Thank you for taking the time to place your review we appreciate all feed back. Unfortunately as you booked your stay on the day you arrived we were unable to offer you any off our superior back quieter units as we were full. The fridge had not been bought to our attention and has now been replaced. Booking online through a 3rd party agency
like booking.com is alway more expensive than booking direct with the motel as you incur commission charges.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2020 via mobile

Best value for money ! Modern, clean, has everything you need and want away from home - spa bath, 2 tvs. Excellent customer service - Owners go out of their way to supply what you need. You can't go wrong if you choose to stay here!

Date of stay: October 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank arinavanrooyen
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Aspen on King, General Manager at Aspen On King, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2020

Thank you for taking the time to place a lovely review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to having you stay again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2020 via mobile

This motel is quiet - handily placed- clean warm and quite luxurious.
A lovely place to spend 3 weeks here on business. Managers are friendly and helpful.
Will make sure to stay here in future.
Rooms are modern - bathroom is very big with spa bath - big TVs in lounge and bedroom - free wireless internet is very good speed and connectivity.

Date of stay: September 2020
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank HR22263
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Aspen on King, General Manager at Aspen On King, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2020

thanks for a lovely review we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and that we could accommodate you with your change in plans

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2020 via mobile

Having rushed to Timaru unexpectedly, Karen went out of her way to accommodate us at the eleventh hour. Electric blankets were on, everything incredibly clean, the service just excellent 👌🏽Huge Thanks

Date of stay: August 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank webbyshome
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Aspen on King, General Manager at Aspen On King, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2020

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Hope everyone is now on the mend, we like to provide flexibility and ease off mind in stressful uncertain times when dealing with unexpected
hospital stays.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews