We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
Priceline
$184
Fully refundable before Fri, 19 Apr
No prepayment needed
Go to your Happy Price
Hotels.com
$170
Fully refundable before Fri, 19 Apr
Get rewarded with One Key
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (232)
Filter reviews
232 results
Traveller rating
122
71
20
8
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
122
71
20
8
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews spa bath botanic gardens water pressure living area units motel dvd hosts sofa sky television
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 232 reviews
Reviewed 24 November 2020 via mobile

We booked this motel because we have stayed at this place many times before and been happy. However after this visit and the response from the owners we will not stay again. We paid $172 for a studio room ( this was more than we have paid previously) that was substandard in quality. It would barely rate two stars, see photos of the bathroom.
Had trouble sleeping because there was a very bright light outside our room that we couldn’t turn off, it was still on at 11pm.
The condition of the bathroom was terrible with a shower over the bath with poor water pressure and and old curtain.
In the morning we found the fridge wasn’t working and our milk was warm.
I spoke to the man on reception about the fridge and he said they would need to replace it. No apology for our spoilt food. I also spoke to him about the state of the room and he said we got an old room because we booked via booking.com and not directly with the motel! That our room was only worth $130 a night.
If motels want to use Booking.com then they shouldn’t discriminate against the guest.
Very poor service from this motel.

Date of stay: November 2020
Trip type: Travelled on business
2  Thank Wilbur61
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Aspen on King, General Manager at Aspen On King, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2020

Thank you for taking the time to place your review we appreciate all feed back. Unfortunately as you booked your stay on the day you arrived we were unable to offer you any off our superior back quieter units as we were full. The fridge had not been bought to our attention and has now been replaced. Booking online through a 3rd party agency
like booking.com is alway more expensive than booking direct with the motel as you incur commission charges.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2020 via mobile

Best value for money ! Modern, clean, has everything you need and want away from home - spa bath, 2 tvs. Excellent customer service - Owners go out of their way to supply what you need. You can't go wrong if you choose to stay here!

Date of stay: October 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank arinavanrooyen
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Aspen on King, General Manager at Aspen On King, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2020

Thank you for taking the time to place a lovely review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to having you stay again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2020 via mobile

This motel is quiet - handily placed- clean warm and quite luxurious.
A lovely place to spend 3 weeks here on business. Managers are friendly and helpful.
Will make sure to stay here in future.
Rooms are modern - bathroom is very big with spa bath - big TVs in lounge and bedroom - free wireless internet is very good speed and connectivity.

Date of stay: September 2020
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank HR22263
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Aspen on King, General Manager at Aspen On King, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2020

thanks for a lovely review we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and that we could accommodate you with your change in plans

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2020 via mobile

Having rushed to Timaru unexpectedly, Karen went out of her way to accommodate us at the eleventh hour. Electric blankets were on, everything incredibly clean, the service just excellent 👌🏽Huge Thanks

Date of stay: August 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank webbyshome
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Aspen on King, General Manager at Aspen On King, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2020

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Hope everyone is now on the mend, we like to provide flexibility and ease off mind in stressful uncertain times when dealing with unexpected
hospital stays.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2020 via mobile

Amazing friendly service from Cherie 🙂 the king bed is so so comfy everything is really good highly recommend staying here. My son injured himself while we were there an Cherie was so kind and organised washing and drying my washing. An the next when we were leaving she came an asked how he was doing. We also left his laptop there which Cherie is organising to courier back to us in Christchurch. Thanks so much Cherie 🙂🙂. We will be back again soon.

Date of stay: July 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Rach3738
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Aspen on King, General Manager at Aspen On King, responded to this reviewResponded 23 December 2020

Cherie is a credit to the hospitality interest, and appreciates the vote of confidence. We love hearing that all went well, and hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews