We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Sammy

Extremely welcoming

Review of Aspen On King
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 8 Dec 2019via mobile
My partner, 4 month old son and myself recently stayed due to the Rangitata flooding. Great service & lovely suites. They made it seamless at such a last minute & rushed booking. Also upgraded us on the second night to a spa bath suite at no extra cost which was great. Highly recommend :)
Date of stay: December 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
$196
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    $196
1.7 km from Aspen On King
Free Wifi
Free parking
Conference Room
$139
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Algotels
2.1 km from Aspen On King
Free parking
Restaurant
$145
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    $145
2.3 km from Aspen On King
Free parking
Executive Studio Spa
  • Hotels.com
  • Official Site
    $190
  • Priceline
0.3 km from Aspen On King
Free Wifi
Free parking
Property and Gardens
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    $189
  • eDreams
0.7 km from Aspen On King
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $186
  • Priceline
1.9 km from Aspen On King
Free Wifi
Free parking
Reception
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $132
  • Algotels
1.2 km from Aspen On King
Free Wifi
Free parking
One bedroom unit
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $180
  • Priceline
0.6 km from Aspen On King
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    $177
  • Priceline
2.0 km from Aspen On King
Free Wifi
Free parking
Lovely big studio room
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    $167
  • Priceline
2.6 km from Aspen On King
Free parking
View more hotels in Timaru
Reviews (232)
Filter reviews
232 results
Traveller rating
122
71
20
8
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
122
71
20
8
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews spa bath botanic gardens water pressure living area units motel dvd hosts sofa sky television
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 232 reviews
Reviewed 21 November 2019

Me and a group of friends travel to timaru yearly for a car event and always stay here. The hosts are the most lovely caring couple you will come across in timaru and will make your stay in timaru a trip to remember. Have already reserved our rooms for next years stay and I guarantee next year will bring a bigger group again. Thanks heaps Karen and Family!! See you again very soon

Date of stay: November 2019
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Benhrt
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 21 October 2019

When I booked with then with my debit card, which has funding they were arrogant with me over the phone and by email.
I work for a travel agency. But I have never felt so insulted for someone like this people. They were very racist. I will not recommend to book with them at all.

Room tip: DO NOT BOOK here, they are awful people, no respect at all
Date of stay: October 2019
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank valdez2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
aspenonking, Manager at Aspen On King, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2019

Using a visa debit card is inadvisable when booking online. Why you used a third party booking agent -rather than the agency voucher system available threw your employer bewilders me. Procedures for the third party booking agent were followed on all three Eftpos transaction platforms. All failed - Refer to issuer - Seek other form of payment. As you would not let me book online for travel without payment, why should accommodation be any different. If we do not have a valid credit on arrival day, the appropriate actions are started with the travel agent.
Credit cards are required to give recourse if damages are incurred .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2019

The best most accommodating hosts we have ever encountered. After our assigned room was not quite what we needed we were offered a bigger room at no extra cost. Lots of lovely extras such as little cookies with the coffee and tea and lovely bathroom accessories. Super quiet heat pump and wonderful recycling options. Highly recommend this place!

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Fi F
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 September 2019

Stayed with my daughters and niece and had an awesome time. Can not speak highly enough about staff and managers. Amazing people and would recommend to anyone . Great space in rooms with everything very close by. A short 15 walk to town for restaurants and shopping. You will be very happy staying here. Thanks Terry and karen, we will be back.

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank lisa p
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 17 August 2019 via mobile

Karen and Terry are the best hosts.
They look after us superbly.
The units are spotlessly clean. Everything you need.
Comfy beds for a restful night's sleep
Awesome showers
Great hosts and staff
We won't stay anywhere else when we are in Timaru.
You wont be disappointed.

Date of stay: August 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank ChrisPennyStott
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews