We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Fi F
Oamaru, New Zealand

Super accommodating

Review of Aspen On King
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 24 Sept 2019
The best most accommodating hosts we have ever encountered. After our assigned room was not quite what we needed we were offered a bigger room at no extra cost. Lots of lovely extras such as little cookies with the coffee and tea and lovely bathroom accessories. Super quiet heat pump and wonderful recycling options. Highly recommend this place!
Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Executive Studio Spa
Booking.com
$218
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $218
  • Official Site
    $195
  • Expedia.com
    $218
0.3 km from Aspen On King
Free Wifi
Free parking
Property and Gardens
Booking.com
$202
  • Expedia.com
    $202
  • Hotels.com
    $220
  • Priceline
    $202
0.7 km from Aspen On King
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$213
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $213
  • Hotels.com
    $213
  • Expedia.com
    $213
1.9 km from Aspen On King
Free Wifi
Free parking
Reception
Booking.com
$160
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    $160
  • Expedia.com
    $131
  • Hotels.com
    $134
1.2 km from Aspen On King
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$178
  • Priceline
    $178
  • Agoda.com
    $171
  • Expedia.com
    $178
2.0 km from Aspen On King
Free Wifi
Free parking
Hotel exterior
Booking.com
$149
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $149
  • ZenHotels.com
    $141
  • Expedia.com
    $149
2.1 km from Aspen On King
Free parking
Restaurant
Booking.com
$91
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    $91
  • Vio.com
    $91
  • Expedia.com
1.7 km from Aspen On King
Free parking
Booking.com
$94
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $94
  • ZenHotels.com
  • Lol.travel
3.0 km from Aspen On King
Free parking
Booking.com
$131
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $131
  • Expedia.com
    $139
  • Hotels.com
    $139
2.3 km from Aspen On King
Free parking
Booking.com
$95
  • Priceline
    $95
  • Agoda.com
2.4 km from Aspen On King
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Timaru
Reviews (232)
Filter reviews
232 results
Traveller rating
122
71
20
8
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
122
71
20
8
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews spa bath botanic gardens water pressure living area units motel dvd hosts sofa sky television
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
23 - 28 of 232 reviews
Reviewed 7 September 2019

Stayed with my daughters and niece and had an awesome time. Can not speak highly enough about staff and managers. Amazing people and would recommend to anyone . Great space in rooms with everything very close by. A short 15 walk to town for restaurants and shopping. You will be very happy staying here. Thanks Terry and karen, we will be back.

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank lisa p
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 17 August 2019 via mobile

Karen and Terry are the best hosts.
They look after us superbly.
The units are spotlessly clean. Everything you need.
Comfy beds for a restful night's sleep
Awesome showers
Great hosts and staff
We won't stay anywhere else when we are in Timaru.
You wont be disappointed.

Date of stay: August 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank ChrisPennyStott
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 14 July 2019

Our recent trip there with our U18 hockey team was fanctastic. First rate hospitality and facilities. We were welcomed with clean, warm and comfortable rooms and our hosts and their staff were friendly, helpful so accommodating. Highly recommended

Date of stay: July 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Angela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 13 July 2019

Our family stay here often and each time we have stayed it has been exceptional. Rooms are always cleaned to high standards and have great facilities. Staff are always very friendly and efficient we look forward to staying again. See you in November

Date of stay: July 2019
Thank tteo1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 16 June 2019

The main entrance to the unit was a sliding door. The rear door was solid wood with a window BUT THERE WAS NO HANDLE ON THE DOOR. If there was a fire the only way out was the front sliding door. If the fire was in the lounge area there was no way out of the unit. The unit next door had a rear door with a handle but was locked without a key in the lock. FIRE SAFETY STANDARDS TERRIBLE.
Bed was awful. Shower was pathetic.

Room tip: Fire safety standards awful. Bed uncomfortable. Shower pathetic.
Date of stay: June 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank iamseacliff
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
aspenonking, Manager at Aspen On King, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2019

Shower mixer has been replaced, property is completely compliant with required regulations, and inspected monthly by fire inspectorate. Beds are new?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews