We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
iamseacliff
Dunedin, New Zealand

No handle on door of fire exit

Review of Aspen On King
1.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 15 Jun 2019
The main entrance to the unit was a sliding door. The rear door was solid wood with a window BUT THERE WAS NO HANDLE ON THE DOOR. If there was a fire the only way out was the front sliding door. If the fire was in the lounge area there was no way out of the unit. The unit next door had a rear door with a handle but was locked without a key in the lock. FIRE SAFETY STANDARDS TERRIBLE.
Bed was awful. Shower was pathetic.
Date of stay: June 2019
Room Tip: Fire safety standards awful. Bed uncomfortable. Shower pathetic.
Trip type: Travelled with family
2.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
aspenonking, Manager at Aspen On King, responded to this review
Responded 15 Jul 2019
Shower mixer has been replaced, property is completely compliant with required regulations, and inspected monthly by fire inspectorate. Beds are new?
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
$211
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • Expedia.com
    $201
  • Hotels.com
    $211
0.7 km from Aspen On King
Free Wifi
Free parking
Property and Gardens
$208
  • Expedia.com
    $203
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
    $208
0.7 km from Aspen On King
Free Wifi
Free parking
Reception
$160
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    $135
  • Hotels.com
    $130
  • Priceline
1.2 km from Aspen On King
Free Wifi
Free parking
$185
  • Expedia.com
    $174
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
    $185
2.0 km from Aspen On King
Free Wifi
Free parking
view from my room
$185
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    $182
2.1 km from Aspen On King
Free Wifi
Free parking
$94
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
    $94
  • ZenHotels.com
3.0 km from Aspen On King
Free parking
$134
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    $149
  • Hotels.com
    $149
  • Priceline
2.3 km from Aspen On King
Free parking
The view from the lounge room window.
$110
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    $99
2.2 km from Aspen On King
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    $179
  • Priceline
1.9 km from Aspen On King
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    $86
  • Priceline
  • Vio.com
1.7 km from Aspen On King
Free parking
View more hotels in Timaru
Reviews (232)
Filter reviews
232 results
Traveller rating
122
71
20
8
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
122
71
20
8
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews spa bath botanic gardens water pressure living area units motel dvd hosts sofa sky television
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
28 - 33 of 232 reviews
Reviewed 3 June 2019 via mobile

I stayed at Aspen On King one night on a recent work trip and found it very nice. The room itself was very clean, modern and well laid out. The spa bath was also a nice touch. I was situated right down the back and found it very quiet despite being on the main road. The owners were also very friendly. As it is a motel there is no bar or restaurant but there are several not far away where you can charge back to your room. My personal recommendation is Monteiths. I would love to stay here again, maybe bring my wife next time.

Date of stay: June 2019
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank johnthetempest
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 June 2019 via mobile

3 rd time staying here.
Very clean and tidy.
Everything you want in a motel room.
We love staying here but next time maybe choose a room where the bed isn't under the window cause it was rather chilly.
Bed was basic,a bit hard and noticed partner disturbance.
Absolutely loved the spa bath,was just what I was needing.

Date of stay: June 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Debbie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 April 2019

Very disappointing stay at the Aspen on King. When we arrived at our unit the first thing we noticed were the two giant (and they were giant) tears in the cushions on the couch. We then noticed the chips on the coffee table. When we told our host his reply was "o we've slowly doing up all the units" - no offer to replace them and no offer to change units - they weren't busy and there were plenty of empty units. There were also stains on the carpet in the lounge area. The bathroom was incredibly small and the sink was in the bedroom - very odd. The shower had great water pressure but the water was luke warm but it was strange as the water from the tap in the sink was boiling - go figure! Nice clean linen on the bed but the bed itself was incredibly soft and you rolled together so not very comfortable. Clearly a very tired dated unit that clearly needs updating and definitely wasn't value for money.

Room tip: Don't stay here!
Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Bowy22
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 13 March 2019

A very comfortable stay here, nothing spectacular about the location being on a main road but well kept clean and tidy rooms that were welcoming and quiet through the night.
Separate bedroom, which seems unusual for motels in NZ, gave it a small apartment feel which was great.

Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank lymef0ssil
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
aspenonking, Manager at Aspen On King, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2019

Thank you for taking the time to place your review, we are glad you enjoyed your stay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2019

Welcoming hosts, large comfortable rooms - and so quiet!! Hosts went out of their way to make our visit a great one. Spa bath a treat! The small deck area a great spot for morning coffee and relaxing last thing. We'll be back.

Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Orkland
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
aspenonking, Manager at Aspen On King, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2019

Thank you for taking the time to place your review, we are glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to having you back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews