We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Booking.com
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
eDreams
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Hawean
Geraldine, New Zealand
Comfortable stay
4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 8 Jan 2019
The place was comfortable and quiet. The bed was very comfortable and there was plenty of room to move about. The woman in the office was most pleasant and helpful. The motel could do with a bit of a revamp but I'd stay there again.
Date of stay: January 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
The VERY comfy bed.
Tripadvisor
$170
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.6 km from Cedar Lodge Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
$206
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • eDreams
0.0 km from Cedar Lodge Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Reception
Tripadvisor
$134
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
1.8 km from Cedar Lodge Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Hotel exterior
Tripadvisor
$158
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
2.6 km from Cedar Lodge Motel
Free parking
Restaurant
Tripadvisor
$138
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
2.8 km from Cedar Lodge Motel
Free parking
Property and Gardens
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    $201
  • eDreams
0.0 km from Cedar Lodge Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    $187
  • Priceline
2.4 km from Cedar Lodge Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • Official Site
    $190
  • Hotels.com
0.7 km from Cedar Lodge Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    $177
  • Priceline
2.5 km from Cedar Lodge Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Lovely big studio room
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    $165
  • Priceline
3.1 km from Cedar Lodge Motel
Free parking
View more hotels in Timaru
Reviews (21)
Filter reviews
21 results
Traveller rating
14
7
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
14
7
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews spacious bathroom botanical gardens main road stay there again armchairs pam units christchurch motel shower
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 21 reviews
Reviewed 5 January 2019 via mobile

2 nights here and we slept so well. Quiet and 3 minutes drive away from the centre of Timaru and choice of supermarkets. Happy we chose this as many of the motels are on main roads with a lot of trucks and traffic noise, day and night. We chose one of the older rather than refurbished units and found it brilliant and homely. Very hot weather but these units were cool with windows front and back so the breeze could blow through. Very clean. Very Comfortable and definitely recommended.

Date of stay: January 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank robin b
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
PamSimpson2017, Owner at Cedar Lodge Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2019

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review-much appreciated. We are pleased you enjoyed the new beds we have added our rooms. We are on track to complete refurbishment of all our Cedar Lodge rooms by end of June 2019. We look forward to welcoming you back. Kind regards, Pam & the Cedar Lodge Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2019

We booked online a std queen sized studio first thing in the morning of our stay which was in between Xmas and new year. We'd been on the road since getting off the Picton ferry at 4.30am. Our accomm plans had changed and were arriving in Timaru earlier than the standard check in time of 2pm. I called and left a message, the owner called me back soon afterwards and assured me they would try to cater for an early check in even though they were busy turning around all the rooms. When we arrived nothing was a problem and our host wa super friendly and welcoming. We were exhausted from car travel and able to have a good nap before going out later. Our studio unit was very clean, tidy, spacious and quiet. The large bed was super comfy and there was a separate kitchette. There was also a separate single bed and two armchairs in the room. Wifi is supplied. I would recommend Cedar Lodge!

Date of stay: December 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Jacqui M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
PamSimpson2017, Owner at Cedar Lodge Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2019

It was indeed our pleasure to have you stay and we do appreciate your taking the time to write a review. We look forward to welcoming you back. Kind regards, Pam & the Cedar Lodge Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2018

This Motel was very quiet,a little out of the main shopping area of Timaru,but thats what appealed to us,it has all been up dated to a high standard .the rooms very clean and beds very comfortable, the lazy boys in the lounge were a lovely sight after sitting in a car all day.

Date of stay: November 2018
1  Thank Sue Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
PamSimpson2017, Owner at Cedar Lodge Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2019

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We were so pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay in one of our newly refurbished rooms. We look forward to welcoming you back. Kind regards, Pam & the Cedar Lodge Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2018 via mobile

Nice quiet location, Clean, tidy and warm. Very accommodating of our dog. Very comfortable bed. They are renovating the units, so I'm looking forward to staying there again and checking out the renovated units. Would recommend to anyone

Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank moparninja
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
PamSimpson2017, Owner at Cedar Lodge Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2018

Thanks so much for taking the time to write a review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stayed and look forward to welcoming you back. Kind regards, Pam & the Cedar Lodge Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2018

Stayed here for two nights. The rooms are very clean if a little dated.
Bed was comfy and the room was quiet. Tea and coffee supplied and had free Wifi.
Easy chairs were fabulous. Close to town with good easy access to main road.
I would stay here again.

Date of stay: April 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank RickPamFin1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
PamSimpson2017, Owner at Cedar Lodge Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2018

Hello. Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate your feedback and wanted to share with you that we are indeed undergoing a refurbishment programme and the "Easy Chairs" were the start of the upgrade. We are so pleased you liked them. We look forward to welcoming you back. Kind regards, Pam & the Cedar Lodge Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews