We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
$201
Hotels.com
$203
Fully refundable before Thu, 18 Apr
Get rewarded with One Key
Agoda.com
$199
Fully refundable before Wed, 17 Apr
Multiple ways to pay
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (20)
Filter reviews
20 results
Traveller rating
14
6
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
14
6
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews spacious bathroom botanical gardens main road stay there again armchairs pam units christchurch motel shower
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 20 reviews
Reviewed 2 January 2019

We booked online a std queen sized studio first thing in the morning of our stay which was in between Xmas and new year. We'd been on the road since getting off the Picton ferry at 4.30am. Our accomm plans had changed and were arriving in Timaru earlier than the standard check in time of 2pm. I called and left a message, the owner called me back soon afterwards and assured me they would try to cater for an early check in even though they were busy turning around all the rooms. When we arrived nothing was a problem and our host wa super friendly and welcoming. We were exhausted from car travel and able to have a good nap before going out later. Our studio unit was very clean, tidy, spacious and quiet. The large bed was super comfy and there was a separate kitchette. There was also a separate single bed and two armchairs in the room. Wifi is supplied. I would recommend Cedar Lodge!

Date of stay: December 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Jacqui M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
PamSimpson2017, Owner at Cedar Lodge Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2019

It was indeed our pleasure to have you stay and we do appreciate your taking the time to write a review. We look forward to welcoming you back. Kind regards, Pam & the Cedar Lodge Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2018

This Motel was very quiet,a little out of the main shopping area of Timaru,but thats what appealed to us,it has all been up dated to a high standard .the rooms very clean and beds very comfortable, the lazy boys in the lounge were a lovely sight after sitting in a car all day.

Date of stay: November 2018
1  Thank Sue Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
PamSimpson2017, Owner at Cedar Lodge Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2019

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We were so pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay in one of our newly refurbished rooms. We look forward to welcoming you back. Kind regards, Pam & the Cedar Lodge Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2018 via mobile

Nice quiet location, Clean, tidy and warm. Very accommodating of our dog. Very comfortable bed. They are renovating the units, so I'm looking forward to staying there again and checking out the renovated units. Would recommend to anyone

Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank moparninja
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
PamSimpson2017, Owner at Cedar Lodge Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2018

Thanks so much for taking the time to write a review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stayed and look forward to welcoming you back. Kind regards, Pam & the Cedar Lodge Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2018

Stayed here for two nights. The rooms are very clean if a little dated.
Bed was comfy and the room was quiet. Tea and coffee supplied and had free Wifi.
Easy chairs were fabulous. Close to town with good easy access to main road.
I would stay here again.

Date of stay: April 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank RickPamFin1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
PamSimpson2017, Owner at Cedar Lodge Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2018

Hello. Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate your feedback and wanted to share with you that we are indeed undergoing a refurbishment programme and the "Easy Chairs" were the start of the upgrade. We are so pleased you liked them. We look forward to welcoming you back. Kind regards, Pam & the Cedar Lodge Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2017

I'm a sales rep and stay at this motel for 3 days every 5 weeks. Sure the rooms are dated and some of the furnishings are shabby, but the great news is that it is now and very recently under the new and rather fabulous management of the lovely Pam and Brett, very ably aided on the front desk by Andrea. Pam has the most wonderful warm personality and customer service, loves her guests and makes sure that nothing is a bother. "Just ask!" I believe it is their plan to upgrade the units over time. The rooms are always very clean and well equipped - all have cooking facilities, comfy beds, free wifi, are family and dog friendly and WARM!! I believe they all have big squishy comfy lazyboy chairs too. There is parking right at the door of the units which is great for unloading your stuff, and there is a nice grassed area with a barbecue down the back which is perfect for a G&T at the end of a loooooong day. Sure it's on a busy road but I have stayed in rooms close to the road and always had a good sleep. (I work too hard!!) If you are after a well priced motel which is a 2 minute walk to the botanic gardens and 5 minute drive to town and want to be made to feel like a valued guest then stay here. They will never get rid of me! (Just sayin' ) :-)

Room tip: All rooms are good - some bigger than others. Two bedroom and studio suites. My favourite is down the back of the property.
Date of stay: November 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank mariannem625
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
PamSimpson2017, Owner at Cedar Lodge Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2018

Thanks so much for taking the time to write a review. Our Guests comfort is indeed
our priority and we appreciate your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back. Kind regards, Pam & the Cedar Lodge Motel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews