We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
$160
No prepayment needed
Priceline
$160
Go to your Happy Price
Agoda.com
$127
Multiple ways to pay
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
FushNChips
Christchurch, New Zealand

Nice new/old hotel with large rooms

Review of Grosvenor Hotel
4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 22 Mar 2024via mobile
First time staying here and it was a bit of a mixed bag, I’d probably give 3.5 stars but upped it to 4 because of the very large spacious room (#101). That was definitely a good first impression when I opened the door. Other plus points were a large and comfortable bed, a crazy powerful shower that rivalled a jet plane taking off and ample free parking. The receptionist was also very friendly and accommodating.
The negatives were an awful strong chlorine-type smell from the bathroom/toilet and painfully slow wifi; it wasn’t fast enough for me to watch anything on YouTube or Netflix. All in all though, pretty good and I would stay here again
Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled on business
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ping Lim, Owner at Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this review
Responded 23 Mar 2024
Thank you very much. 101 was the very room Her Majesty the Queen stayed during her NZ tours. By the time you come back, it would be revamped as the Suites on the 2nd floor. It is timely to bring the hotel to the 21st century and beyond. Team Grosvenor
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
$213
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $213
  • Expedia.com
    $213
  • Hotels.com
    $213
1.0 km from Grosvenor Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$178
  • Priceline
    $178
  • Agoda.com
    $174
  • Expedia.com
    $178
1.0 km from Grosvenor Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Executive Studio Spa
Booking.com
$218
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $218
  • Official Site
    $195
  • Hotels.com
    $215
1.2 km from Grosvenor Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$196
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    $196
  • Expedia.com
    $196
  • Hotels.com
    $196
0.7 km from Grosvenor Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Hotel exterior
Booking.com
$149
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $149
  • Expedia.com
    $149
  • Hotels.com
    $149
1.2 km from Grosvenor Hotel
Free parking
Restaurant
Property and Gardens
Booking.com
$202
  • Expedia.com
    $202
  • Hotels.com
    $220
  • Priceline
    $202
1.9 km from Grosvenor Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Lovely big studio room
Booking.com
$150
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $150
  • Agoda.com
    $142
  • Expedia.com
    $150
1.7 km from Grosvenor Hotel
Free parking
Booking.com
$175
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $175
  • Agoda.com
1.1 km from Grosvenor Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$94
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $94
  • eDreams
    $94
  • ZenHotels.com
2.3 km from Grosvenor Hotel
Free parking
Booking.com
$95
  • Priceline
    $95
  • Agoda.com
1.5 km from Grosvenor Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Timaru
Reviews (356)
Filter reviews
356 results
Traveller rating
86
141
73
40
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
86
141
73
40
16
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 356 reviews
Reviewed 1 March 2024 via mobile

I stayed in one of the newly renovated rooms, a very comfortable bed in a decent size room, the only complaint would be the shower, whilst a large shower, there is nowhere to put soap, shower gel or shampoo which was a minor inconvenience. I didn’t have breakfast but the mixed grill for dinner was fantastic, food cooked to perfection and tonnes of flavour. There are a few shockers in Timaru but this hotel is well worth a visit.

Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank Thefamilytravellernz
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ping Lim, Owner at Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2024

Thank you very much. We will do better for the next wing that's due for completion this side of winter. Team Grosvenor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2024

Photos are very deceiving. The access to the rooms is via stairs or a very very old lift that i am surprised passed a health and safety inspection. The room was incredibly dirty, the hall way very dirty with peeling paint and mould. The restaurant is average in food and service. The only positive is the location right in the town centre.

Date of stay: January 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Sharon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ping Lim, Owner at Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2024

Apology to have not met your expectations. Like any accommodation facilities in New Zealand, we are audited by the local Council on an annual basis. The lift at the Grosvenor is the oldest lift in South Canterbury, and for historical enthusiasts, they were thrilled to take it for free. It's the same age as the Santa Justa lift at Lisbon, Portugal designed by Eiffel, the same engineer who designed the Eiffel Tower in Paris, and people need to queue up and pay for a lift ride! Picture how grand the Grosvenor must be a century ago when guests didn't have to take stairs but straight to their floor?! We are in the midst of renovation; the new Suites are at the top floor, and by the time it is completed, it will be the Grand Hotel that you love to stay in. The Grosvenor is a very busy hotel, and our housekeepers have been keeping themselves busy. The Grosvenor is also known for its food, and local people frequent the restaurant on a weekly basis. Shall we agree to disagree at this point? Team Grosvenor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2024 via mobile

Good location, shame hotel facilities weren’t up to scratch, newly upgraded room but shower crap, took ages to get TV sorted, unable to access freeview tv and apps wouldn’t open on the tv due to no log in details to include tvnz. Restaurant shut for duration of stay despite it being peak season and not included in the price of the booking so had to search for breakfast options !!

Room tip: Do your research
Date of stay: January 2024
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank Emma W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ping Lim, Owner at Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2024

Apology to have not met your expectations. It is difficult to get quality hospitality staff to keep up with the demands. We have advertised for staff for a very long period of time but nobody sees hospitality as a career option. Our core staff is like our family, and they have burnt themselves out. Don't you think that it is a humane thing to do to let them have a break, to enjoy quality time with their families? If you are unsure how to operate the entertainment system, do communicate with our staff, and they are there to assist. We are not making excuses here, and we will most certainly do our best to rectify the issues that you have raised. Team Grosvenor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2023

Check in was super easy, even though reception was unattended there was a phone on the counter which I just had to pick up and tell them we were there. A friendly staff member came straight away to give us our room key.
We stayed in room 206, it is nice and big with a huge bed, couch, chair and tv .
The room had floor to ceiling windows with a view to the sea (you just have to look past the containers and dock). The bathroom was clean, modern and a great size. Only downside was the shower did not drain away but I notified a staff member and they were going to repair it.
We found the room amazingly quiet and the black out curtains worked perfectly.

Date of stay: December 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank TKAGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ping Lim, Owner at Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2024

Thanking you. Please do come again. Team Grosvenor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2023

We had one of the Queen rooms on the top floor and was most impressed! Everything was so totally modern and the bed was big and comfy. Smart television which gave you a heap of options and took me a little while to work out but I did. We had dinner down on at the restaurant and it was the best steak I have tasted in a long while. Moderately priced and service was tops!

Date of stay: May 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Margaret M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ping Lim, Owner at Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2024

Thanking you. We look forward to serving you again in the future. Team Grosvenor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews