We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
$160
No prepayment needed
Expedia.com
$137
Get rewarded with One Key
Agoda.com
$132
Multiple ways to pay
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (356)
Filter reviews
356 results
Traveller rating
86
141
73
40
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
86
141
73
40
16
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 356 reviews
Reviewed 7 December 2023

Check in was super easy, even though reception was unattended there was a phone on the counter which I just had to pick up and tell them we were there. A friendly staff member came straight away to give us our room key.
We stayed in room 206, it is nice and big with a huge bed, couch, chair and tv .
The room had floor to ceiling windows with a view to the sea (you just have to look past the containers and dock). The bathroom was clean, modern and a great size. Only downside was the shower did not drain away but I notified a staff member and they were going to repair it.
We found the room amazingly quiet and the black out curtains worked perfectly.

Date of stay: December 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank TKAGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ping Lim, Owner at Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2024

Thanking you. Please do come again. Team Grosvenor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2023

We had one of the Queen rooms on the top floor and was most impressed! Everything was so totally modern and the bed was big and comfy. Smart television which gave you a heap of options and took me a little while to work out but I did. We had dinner down on at the restaurant and it was the best steak I have tasted in a long while. Moderately priced and service was tops!

Date of stay: May 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Margaret M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ping Lim, Owner at Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2024

Thanking you. We look forward to serving you again in the future. Team Grosvenor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2023 via mobile

A lovely older style hotel in the centre of Timaru. We liked our room - older style comfort, and enjoyed our meal in the restaurant. The staff were lovely, parking was free across the road, and overall, it was quiet and good value for money. Would recommend.

Date of stay: April 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank 383sonjab
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ping Lim, Owner at Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2024

Thanking you. Our aim is ultimately transform the hotel fused with old world charm but with all the latest mod coms. Look forward to serve you again in the future. Team Grosvenor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2023

I wrote a review in 2015. We've just stayed there again. It's quite deceiving. From the outside, there's scaffolding (they're obviously doing the place up) and initially inside, it looks like the same old hotel. However, the rooms have been done up and ours was excellent. Good size, great bathroom, large TV, comfy new bed - a really good room. And very good value considering the price. We were very happy. It may still be a 3-star hotel, but the room was much better value than that.

Date of stay: January 2023
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnthonyW698
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ping Lim, Owner at Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2024

Thank you for your kind words. We have taken major leaps this year. By the time the whole hotel is completed, it will be the destination that Timaru is proud of. Her Majesty the Queen stopped over at the Grosvenor three times in Her prime and we wish to honour her by being the best that we can be. Team Grosvenor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2022

Booked last minute for our road trip. Excellent place to stay. Friendly reception staff. Our room was beautiful and value for money. Unfortunately we were not able to have a meal here due to staff shortages. This place will look amazing once the renovations are complete.

Date of stay: October 2022
Thank aw682018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ping Lim, Owner at Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2022

Blessed. Thanking you. Team Grosvenor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews