We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
$160
No prepayment needed
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
Agoda.com
$134
Multiple ways to pay
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Tania and Pete M
Silverdale, New Zealand
Enjoyed our trip to Timaru
Review of Grosvenor Hotel
4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 3 Aug 2022via mobile
First of all, I'm from Timaru so I have every right to call it a hole. But it wasn't, we had a great time. We booked the Grosvenor because we wanted to show the kids how it was back in the day. We all enjoyed our stay, comfortable beds, big rooms, friendly helpful staff. Yeah it was a bit shabby but times are tough, support places like this before they disappear. Good coffee down the road, market was great.
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
$201
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Expedia.com
    $188
  • Hotels.com
    $194
1.0 km from Grosvenor Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
The VERY comfy bed.
Booking.com
$184
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
    $156
  • Expedia.com
    $171
1.2 km from Grosvenor Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$213
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Official Site
    $190
  • Hotels.com
    $200
1.2 km from Grosvenor Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$211
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    $207
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
    $207
1.9 km from Grosvenor Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Hotel exterior
Booking.com
$159
Fully refundable
  • Tripadvisor
    $159
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
    $159
1.2 km from Grosvenor Hotel
Free parking
Restaurant
Lovely big studio room
Booking.com
$166
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    $159
  • Hotels.com
    $161
1.7 km from Grosvenor Hotel
Free parking
Booking.com
$94
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
    $94
  • ZenHotels.com
2.3 km from Grosvenor Hotel
Free parking
Property and Gardens
Booking.com
$262
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
    $259
  • Expedia.com
    $262
1.9 km from Grosvenor Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$125
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
    $139
  • Expedia.com
    $139
1.4 km from Grosvenor Hotel
Free parking
Booking.com
$91
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • Vio.com
  • eDreams
    $91
2.8 km from Grosvenor Hotel
Free parking
View more hotels in Timaru
Reviews (356)
Filter reviews
356 results
Traveller rating
86
141
73
40
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
86
141
73
40
16
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 356 reviews
Reviewed 25 June 2021 via mobile

Dinner with friends. Only one waitress on most of the time & whilst she was really friendly it took ages to get a menu, then drinks then the food. Still waiting to hear what's in the vege medley, she had no idea & kept saying would ask chef but never did. The meals were very good, so much meat with roast & hardly any veges, I do enjoy my veges! Would return for the food.

Date of stay: June 2021
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank MummaandCo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 18 March 2021

I’d have to agree with most of the reviews on here. Stayed two nights and is up there with the worst hotel/Motel I have stayed in the only one that was worse was the Godley in Tekapo.
The only reason it got a 2 and not a 1 is due to the pleasant stuff unfortunately they are in dire need of training especially in the restaurant.
The rooms are small and dated and the new wall coverings don’t hide the dilapidated and run down feel of the place, especially the furry wall paper, WTF! Next time they do a Reno they should spend some money on an interior designer, instead of getting inspired by the local kindy.
Dripping taps and no main light in the claustrophobic bathroom, no desk or anywhere to set up a lap top in the rooms, only 3 channels on the TV, paint chips on the doors and frames, holes in the bathroom walls from where old fixings have been removed, a bottle opener screwed on the wall by the toilet....classy. Also a slot in the vanity for your disposable razors....who normally stays here, coke heads?
I was almost thinking that, hey, its dated but at least its clean. That was before I noticed the buildup of thick black gunge around the taps and oozing out from under the cracked Formica, probably about the same age as the disposable razor slot. Eventually I went to bed after nearly throwing up and adding to the gunge around the taps, luckily I had bought ear plugs as the street noise coming through the old single glazed metal framed window that pretended to be closed tight was quite loud but at least it was drowned out by the dripping tap. If you need a completely dark room to sleep in you’re out of luck the gap under the door is so large the hallway light illuminates the room. The dripping tap and broken light was fixed the next day so 5 stars to the staff for making that happen so fast.
The food was what I wood expect in a back country pub, it was nice enough but not hotel standard and was backed up by the packet hollandaise sauce on the eggs Bene. They should also think about using plates that actually fit the food, it’s bloody annoying when you have to put half your meal on the table just so you can cut your steak. If you are going to offer table service then do so having to go up to the bar and get your own menu and and wave frantically to get attention so that you get service isn’t acceptable in any restaurant, this obviously down to lack of training as mentioned before.
Well that’s my rant and obviously I nor anyone else I work with will stay here again and at $150 per night there are other options in Timaru. I’ll also be recommending to our booking agents that they remove Grosvenor Hotel from the options for Timaru

Room tip: Don”t stay here its rubbish
Date of stay: March 2021
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Spudd9046
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ping Lim, Owner at Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2021

This reminds me of either a Stephen King's novella or a Meghan/Harry-ish rant on Oprah's. Let's dissect the points backwards, shall we?

We find it condescending that you define the food here as a back country pub food. Are you trying to say that Timaru is a back country? Our Head Chef originated from Sheraton Hotel in South Africa and we have hosted major functions here on a regular basis. We didn't know that you sneak into our kitchen and spotted the so-called packet hollandaise sauce?! It's been only two weeks that we have changed our so-called back country large plates into the fancy pancy black plates and guess what, you complained that it's too small for you to cut your steak?! Did you care to mention that the Pub was very busy doing your visit and that, all our staff were off their feet trying to look after all our guests? This is not about training but about self-entitlement, that the world revolves around you.

From your description, you seemed to be staying in our standard room. If the price point is $150 per night, that would mean our hotel is either fully or almost fully booked. Accommodation in Timaru is finite and $150 these days ain't going to take you far noting that standard of living in NZ is one of the highest in the world, and soon enough, minimum wage is going to be increased too. Sorry to disappoint you, the Grosvenor has been around since 1875 and it will still be here after you and I are gone. We are spending millions at the moment getting itself ready for the next generation.

For gullible readers, before you book your accommodation here, kindly look at Booking.com and you shall see the cleanliness is one of the high points of the Grosvenor. We have and are gradually replacing single glazed windows to double glazed windows. Being a light sleeper, we think that it is best you get yourself a lodging in the farm in the future. We can't figure out if you have issues re noise, why would you book yourself to stay in the middle of CBD at the first place? Oopsy, we forgot, you are not a back country person. We can't stress enough that the Grosvenor has been around since 1875 and you won't expect timber floor to be even steven. It is all about willing buyer, willing seller. If you weren't happy staying here then, why didn't you look for an alternative accommodation?

The furry covering that you were mocking, it is a building material used to provide guests with better warmth and better sound insulation. It is manufactured by Autex (the same company that owns NZ Warriors League team). Ignorance is a bliss indeed. Another thing that you mocked about, interior inspired by the local kindy, you may never have heard about Piet Mondrian, correct? So, is there any point of us trying to justify ourselves to the uninformed? As for the Standard Room that you stayed in, bottle opener and vanity with disposable razors are something that you would find in the 1970s hotels in New Zealand. From your book, apparently, in the 1970s, NZ is a nation of coke heads then?!

We have done our assessments here, that almost all the guests who ranted on Tripadvisor were all staying in Standard Rooms. To put things into perspective, The Grosvenor is a 3 stars hotel, and we are not a motel because we don't have a cooking facility. This adage holds true to these days: you get what you pay for. For you to get bang for buck at the Grosvenor in the future, kindly book yourself at least a Superior Room or Suite. The Grosvenor has 50 rooms. The hotel is constantly busy. Put us in your shoes, if the hotel is constantly full, how would we be able to revamp the hotel interior without having to let go of our staff who has been with us for over a decade and more? It is one thing to be a brazen keyboard warrior, being mean without consequences but we are dealing with the practicality of keeping the guests happy without affecting our bottomline in the COVID environment, and keeping our staff employed. I think readers here can see that in spite of our Prime Minister's urging for Kiwis to be compassionate and "to be kind" at this challenging time to support local business, hospitality business needs to constantly deal with the demands of guests -whether it be reasonable or not. When you are under our roof, as hosts, we shall do our best to take good care of you. However, there is also this expectation that if you aren't pleased with something, you let us know in person and on the spot so that we could rectify the issues to make your stay more pleasant. The whole thing about not saying anything but venting online afterwards is not doing anyone any favours and it's not constructive as well.

Life is too short. Be kind, be there for one another. Being mean is not necessary.

Team Grosvenor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2021

Rooms do not replicate photos online. The hotel is very very run down. Room felt very unclean- old carpet, curtains and bathroom felt like we were at a campsite with communal showers. Room smelt like a smoker had been in here. The whole “hotel” gave us a vibe we were in a backpackers accommodation. Defiantly not worth the stay and would not recommend to anyone.

Very disappointed as this is out honeymoon and the accommodation did look quite okay for a one nighter online.

UPDATE YOUR WEBSITE. PHOTOS ARE FROM 2016!

Date of stay: February 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Relax586959
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ping Lim, Owner at Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2021

Hello,
Thank you for your second review. We would have appreciated being made aware of this upon check in and we would have tried to accommodate you further.
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2021 via mobile

Paint peeling everywhere. Restaurant extractor fan outside my window smelled gross so couldn’t open the window. Tiny room. Very old decor.
No fridge.
Great location though and clean sheets. 2/5 for those.

Date of stay: February 2021
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank suitcasesailor
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ping Lim, Owner at Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2021

Hello,
Thank you for your review.
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2021

This place is seriously the worst Hotel Room experience I have ever had, & I have stayed in 40-50 Hotels & Motels thru NZ & Australia for work!
The staff are exceptional(considering what a dump the Rooms are),
The Bar Meals are excellent for a Pub Meal,
BUT! Room cleanliness, Room Quality, Bed quality, quality of the so called modernized Ensuites & the quality of the flooring, furnishings & maintenance of the Room & Windows is diabolical when you look at their Website photographs & Room Descriptions!
No Compendium so you dont know how to contact Front Desk!
Find out how to ring front desk after hours & after hours service will not 'pick up'!
No phone list!
No Cable or Sky TV as advertised!
AND the list goes on & on & on!
This 'Reality Experience' makes their pricing at least 30% too high compared to the other 3 Timaru Motels I have stayed at! Two of them for months!
I have an 18 point list of Complaints listing all the defects & inconsistencies for the room, & compared to their Website!
They have deleted my poor review from their website, & you will only see unbelievably positive reviews....
Very Fishy!

Date of stay: January 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 2Savvy4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ping Lim, Owner at Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2021

Hello Hugh,
Thank you for your review. We are disappointed to see your comments here on TripAdvisor, with no mention of the refund that was issued to you after expressing that you were not impressed with the hotel. All issues mentioned have been, or are in the process of being rectified.
We would, however, like to make it aware that we are not able to delete any reviews made.
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews