We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
$178
Priceline
$178
Go to your Happy Price
Expedia.com
$178
Get rewarded with One Key
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Paul C
Rochester, United Kingdom
Great location, fantastic accommodation and really friendly staff. Stop looking and get booking!
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 2 Mar 2023
Highly recommend the Harbour View for it’s excellent location & cleanliness. Everything is pretty much brand new and the bed was really comfortable. Jill , the person in charge during our visit, was absolutely fantastic and could not have been more helpful, friendly and welcoming. We would 100% stay at the Harbour View again on any future trips to NZ.
Date of stay: January 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
$201
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $201
  • Vio.com
    $183
  • Expedia.com
    $201
0.2 km from Harbour View Motel Timaru
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$94
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $94
  • eDreams
    $94
  • ZenHotels.com
1.3 km from Harbour View Motel Timaru
Free parking
Lovely big studio room
Booking.com
$166
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $166
  • Agoda.com
    $159
  • Hotels.com
    $163
0.7 km from Harbour View Motel Timaru
Free parking
Queen Room (Rom 101)
Booking.com
$160
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    $160
  • Expedia.com
    $134
  • Algotels
    $172
1.0 km from Harbour View Motel Timaru
Free Wifi
Free parking
The VERY comfy bed.
Booking.com
$184
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $184
  • Expedia.com
    $162
  • Hotels.com
    $170
2.0 km from Harbour View Motel Timaru
Free Wifi
Free parking
Hotel exterior
Booking.com
$159
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $159
  • ZenHotels.com
    $147
  • Expedia.com
    $159
0.1 km from Harbour View Motel Timaru
Free parking
Restaurant
Booking.com
$213
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $213
  • Expedia.com
    $187
  • Hotels.com
    $209
1.8 km from Harbour View Motel Timaru
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$125
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $125
  • Expedia.com
    $139
  • Hotels.com
    $139
0.3 km from Harbour View Motel Timaru
Free parking
Booking.com
$202
  • Hotels.com
    $202
  • Priceline
    $202
  • Expedia.com
    $202
2.6 km from Harbour View Motel Timaru
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$91
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    $91
  • Vio.com
    $91
  • eDreams
    $91
3.2 km from Harbour View Motel Timaru
Free parking
View more hotels in Timaru
Reviews (77)
Filter reviews
77 results
Traveller rating
44
25
3
2
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
44
25
3
2
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews caroline bay electric blankets large bathroom main road comfy bed noise motel cuts cleanliness couch nz christchurch
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 77 reviews
Reviewed 20 January 2023

Very nice but very basic for the cost, Close to the road and rail line. Nice and central, difficult to get in there from the Christchurch direction. Double glazing cuts out the noise when doors closed.

Date of stay: December 2022
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank DerekBJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 30 May 2021

People dont touch theses motels,own by the same person,her name is Jane,late last yr 2021,she was a very good host,i never had a problem with her,now she is mucking me around,im trying to get back there with my mum who is in a wheel chair and my brother who has a disability,i send her an email on Saturday 15 May at 11.27 am,to see if i can get the disability Unit,never heard back till i email again on 25 May time 5,31 pm,i did hear back on the same day all the excuse i got was,ive been away,will get back to you tomorrow night,never heard back the next day 26 May,i have send another email away,on Saturday 29 May,im still waiting for a reply back,that is not very good for business,looks like i wont be staying there again this year 2021 in October,that places has gone back,it was good lasts yr 2020,its gone to the pack,so people dont book any of there motels thats the Harbour view Timaru Motels and the Fitzgerald on King,Timaru,she keeps fobbing me of,poor business practises

Date of stay: October 2020
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 15 November 2020 via mobile

We stayed two nights in October perfect getaway from Christchurch. We had an upstairs two bedroom motel with great views. On busy road but no noise & always something to watch. Easy walk to cafe's & restaurants so didnt need to use the car. Friendly welcome & comfortable beds, electric blankets an added bonus. Good Wi-fi. Highly recommend & can't wait to return.

Date of stay: November 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank nzsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 14 February 2020 via mobile

Stayed in the house room 15. Roomy and comfortable two-bedroom accomodation. A two bedroom house with large kitchen / dining room and lounge room.
Reception staff friendly and very helpful. Couldn’t ask for a better place to stay.

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank 400maxc
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jane-Lapthorn, Owner at Harbour View Motel Timaru, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2020

Many thanks Max for your review. We enjoyed having you as our guests.
Safe travels.
Jane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2019

Used Tripadvisor to find this place. It was a cold few days staying in Timaru but the heatpump worked well! Everything was clean and modern. The shower was very good and in a large bathroom. Beds also very comfy. Wi-Fi some of the best I have used in New Zealand. In-room modern access point with ethernet connection. Very fast.

Date of stay: June 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank agstvgryjl
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jane-Lapthorn, Owner at Harbour View Motel Timaru, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2019

Loved reading your review. You picked up on all the things we pride ourselves on. Thank you for taking the time to post a review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews