We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Booking.com
eDreams
Lol.travel
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Joanne P
Bowral, Australia
More luxurious than a home away from home
Review of Glendeer Lodge
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 8 May 2019
Glendeer Lodge is a couple of kms out of Timaru yet easily accessed. We loved the quiet location and the peaceful park like surrounding gardens with deer grazing close by. Then only about 500 metres further along the road you reach the beach with access to walking or I guess for the brave a dip.

Our King bed room was enormous, with a lovely area to sit on a lounge, enjoy a cup of tea and contemplate the garden. The décor is smart and attractive and very comfortable. A chilled thermos of water was lovely and the map provided and details about the town were helpful and thoughtful additions. The bathroom was fabulous with a lovely big shower and spotlessly clean. Heated floor and towel rail added to the comfort. Adjustable heating in the room means you can suit yourself. We always like heating off during the night so it was perfect.

The best thing about the room was the comfort of bed and pillows which ensured a fabulous nights sleep. No traffic, no street lights, just a wonderful view of the stars on a clear night.

Breakfast is included and served in the common room - a lounge and kitchen available for guest use at all times. Wonderful breakfast (not a hot breakfast) with a huge selection to choose from. One request we would add is plain yogurt would be great. Fresh coffee brewing welcomed us. Thank you Jude and Paul - we will recommend Glendeer to our friends travel your way.
Date of stay: May 2019
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
The VERY comfy bed.
Tripadvisor
$171
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
2.9 km from Glendeer Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
$207
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
2.3 km from Glendeer Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Reception
Tripadvisor
$134
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
4.2 km from Glendeer Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Hotel exterior
Tripadvisor
$159
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
4.9 km from Glendeer Lodge
Free parking
Restaurant
Tripadvisor
$139
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
5.1 km from Glendeer Lodge
Free parking
Property and Gardens
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    $262
  • Priceline
2.3 km from Glendeer Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    $187
  • Priceline
4.7 km from Glendeer Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Official Site
    $190
  • Priceline
3.0 km from Glendeer Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    $178
  • Priceline
4.8 km from Glendeer Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Lovely big studio room
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    $166
  • Priceline
5.4 km from Glendeer Lodge
Free parking
View more hotels in Timaru
Reviews (114)
Filter reviews
114 results
Traveller rating
100
7
2
2
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
100
7
2
2
3
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 114 reviews
Reviewed 29 April 2019

Our king room was extremely spacious - bigger than normal hotel rooms, as well as comfortable and private. The kingbed provided a relaxing sleep! Our ensuite included a huge shower area, which is such a difference from the small corner shower space you may find in any motel, or the horrific shower and bathtub combo in hotels. The attention to detail was amazing! The heated towel rack, along with the toiletries and cold water in a flask with drinking glasses.
Why spend the same amount of money in a small and over crowded motel?
Jude and Paul, thank you for making our visit to Timaru an extremely comfortable one! Highly recommended.

Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank monteloveslife
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jude M, Owner at Glendeer Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2019

Hello Joy!
Thank you for your wonderful words, we always are thankful when guests notice the small details and we do try to provide a comfortable home away from home.
We hope you enjoyed the rest of your journey and look forward to seeing you again someday.
Kind Regards
Jude

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2019 via mobile

Stopped in last minute from Queenstown en route to Christchurch on a mother/daughter holiday. Beautiful location. The host Jude was fantastic. So friendly and knowledgeable. The room was beautiful. Beds were super comfortable. The continental breakfast hit the spot. Hope the new owners are just as amazing! Thank you for being my first and prettiest B&B. Highly recommend.

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank RhiLouise
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jude M, Owner at Glendeer Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2019

Thank you for your lovely review, it was great to meet you both and so glad you ended up staying here! Really hope you enjoy the rest of your travels around the South Island!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2019 via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights. Beautiful room and such a comfy bed. Loved the heated floor in the ensuite. Very quiet and warm. Lovely conteninatal breakfast. Jude the host very friendly and helpful. Great local knowledge and stories. Would definitely stay again.

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank RebeccaJayneLindsay
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jude M, Owner at Glendeer Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2019

Thank you Rebecca, it was lovely having you both stay and so nice talking to you! I hope you had a wonderful 'explore' around the area and we do look forward to seeing you again.
Kind Regards
Jude

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2019

We arrived having driven from Picton tired and ready to relax. Delightful and peaceful and exceptionally comfortable. Beds really good and great big showers. Nothing missing, so pleased I need to return to Timaru very soon so will be able to stay again.

Room tip: All 3 rooms really nice.
Date of stay: January 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tiarksy
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jude M, Owner at Glendeer Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2019

Hello there!
Thank you for your lovely, kind words and it was such a pleasure to have wonderful people such as yourselves to stay, really enjoyed our time with you and looking forward to your next visit.
Kind Regards
Jude & Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2018

Location: ok
Room: not really clean, some dusty area.
Breakfast: totally unacceptable!
No fresh fruits! No fresh bread! No eggs! No bacon! Not any warm
dishes! No cheese and cold cut!
All items on the table were prepacked. Same as in the plane!
No milk on the table for muesli.
No attendance of the host to collect wishes of guest!
3 Star, if you are gracius!
Anne and Lothar Brosien

Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank lobro49
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jude M, Owner at Glendeer Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2018

Dear Anne & Lothar,
I am struggling to understand that you were the same nice mature couple that wanted to stay on longer, I am sure you have us confused with somewhere else.
I really do hope you have a wonderful trip in New Zealand.
Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews