We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Aspen on King(Timaru)(Great Value!)
US$108
US$86
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$101/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$119
US$100
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$67
US$64
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Townhouse Motel(Timaru)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 27/07
US$81
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 27/07
US$95
US$90
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$75
US$61
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$109
US$105
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$98
US$92
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$102
US$99
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (94)
Filter reviews
95 results
Traveller rating
83
7
2
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
83
7
2
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfly fishingtroutcontinental breakfastsouth islandnew zealandfishing guidevery comfortable roomwarm hostsdeer roamingyogurtweek tripfantastic placeone night staythe main roadpaulpatiencepaddock
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 95 reviews
Reviewed 3 September 2017 via mobile

As soon as my daughter and I stepped in the door we felt welcome and comfortable. Jude and Paul were friendly and helpful hosts and the space is very comfortable.
We had a twin share room with ensuite which was just right and the beds so wonderfully comfortable that we both slept really well.
A continental breakfast was laid out for us and had everything you could possibly want.
This would be an ideal, quiet and comfortable base to explore the area. Highly recommend!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank Leela-FB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jude M, Owner at Glendeer Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2017

Hi Leela,,
Thank you for your wonderful review, we do try to make everyone feel welcome to our home and so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, hope to see you again sometime.
Kind Regards
Jude

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2017 via mobile

Just loved this warm friendly homely accommodation, owners/hosts were a delight and great resource for travelling tips
The facilities were perfect, great bedrooms and common/dining room, generous warm bathrooms and very neat and clean.
The grounds were serene
We will return

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
Thank I6774BQleeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jude M, Owner at Glendeer Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2017

Thank you for your wonderful review, it was lovely to meet you and your friends, hope you enjoyed Fleur's Restaurant and all the wonderful places you have planned on your New Zealand trip.
We look forward to your next visit.
Kind Regards
Jude & Paul McLauchlan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2017 via mobile

The accommodation at Glendeer is top end. Furnished and finished to a high quality. Guests have a private living room area. Very comfortable room, warm winter duvet, large shower. Breakfast in the morning is plentiful and presented beautifully. The hosts are welcoming and friendly, happy to chat over a coffee about their pet deer and local information. I would recommend!

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Bluewaves32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jude M, Owner at Glendeer Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2017

Thank you for your wonderful review, so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay here and hope to see you again!
Kind Regards
Jude McLauchlan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2017 via mobile

We visited Glendeer Lodge sadly for only 1 night wished we could have stayed longer as it was so beautiful! The grounds were amazing and lovely to see the deer roaming in the compound. The gardens were beautifully manicured and beautiful views of Timaru. The accommodation was first class bed extremely comfortable and crisp bed linen! Bathroom was fabulous and very modern and toiletries were supplied and fluffy towels robes and slippers which was a lovely touch. Everything was so clean and fresh. Jude set up a wonderful breakfast she did not say a time to eat and we had breakfast at our own pace at around 8:30. The continental breakfast was amazing there was all sorts of cereals fresh fruit yoghurt nuts jams marmalade/jams/ honey cereal bars assortment of seeds lovely breads etc.. fresh juices you name there was everything. We did not see Paul as he was away on a fishing and hunting trip. Jude was most welcoming and chatty and advising of things to see and do. It was so peaceful and such a lovely time and will be returning again on our next visit to New Zealand. Thank you Jude for such a pleasant stay and we shall be staying a lot longer next time and look forward to it in the future!

Jennifer & Colin Alldred and Tim & Alex Price

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Jennifer A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jude M, Owner at Glendeer Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2017

Hi Jennifer,
It was so lovely to meet you all and spend time chatting with you, thank you for your wonderful review and so happy that you enjoyed your stay and are looking forward to the next time. I know you are still travelling around New Zealand and I hope you have a wonderful time experiencing our beautiful country.
Kindest Regards
Jude McLauchlan
Glendeer Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2017

The house is to the South of Timaru not far outside the town. It's off the main road, so we had a very quiet and pleasant sleep. Bed and preparation of the room was first class, better than many hotels, and there was an excellent choice for breakfast. The coast isn't that far away, so you can do some walking there if you are so inclined.
Thoroughly enjoyed our short stay.

Room Tip: Ground floor room facing the car park was easy to get cases in directly through the French doors.
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank astroman042000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jude M, Owner at Glendeer Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2017

Thank you for your review, we do enjoy our quiet countryside location and so glad to hear you enjoyed our first class amenities, hope to see you again sometime.
Kind Regards
Jude McLauchlan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews