We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Hosts, Fantastic place”
Review of Glendeer Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Glendeer Lodge
Ranked #1 of 16 Timaru B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 September 2017

What a great surprise to find a gem of a place on the edge of Timaru. Awesome, friendly and warm hosts in Judy and Paul to make you feel welcome and invited. 5+ star private facilities. Great beds, awesome showers and a great breakfast to start the day and someone to share their wealth of local knowledge on the region and all it has to offer. If you lucky enough to get in, then I highly recommend it. The only thing I regret was staying there for only 1 night! And I didnt have a board! :)

Room Tip: They're all good rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank HoddyMurray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jude M, Owner at Glendeer Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi there,
Thanks for your great review, we are lucky enough to be in a great location, fabulous coastal walk tracks and surf at the end of the road, yet only a 5 minute drive into town. Timaru is known as the place where the mountains meet the sea, which is reflected in our stunning mountain and sea views. Our area is definitely worth a 2 night stop, we have some wonderful local sights as well as being a great little friendly town with excellent facilities. It was great to meet you and chat, always a pleasure to send someone away with local insights as they can really make a trip!
Look forward to seeing you again sometime.
Kind Regards
Jude & Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (89)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 89 reviews

Reviewed 3 September 2017 via mobile

As soon as my daughter and I stepped in the door we felt welcome and comfortable. Jude and Paul were friendly and helpful hosts and the space is very comfortable.
We had a twin share room with ensuite which was just right and the beds so wonderfully comfortable that we both slept really well.
A continental breakfast was laid out for us and had everything you could possibly want.
This would be an ideal, quiet and comfortable base to explore the area. Highly recommend!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank Leela-FB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jude M, Owner at Glendeer Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Leela,,
Thank you for your wonderful review, we do try to make everyone feel welcome to our home and so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, hope to see you again sometime.
Kind Regards
Jude

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2017 via mobile

Just loved this warm friendly homely accommodation, owners/hosts were a delight and great resource for travelling tips
The facilities were perfect, great bedrooms and common/dining room, generous warm bathrooms and very neat and clean.
The grounds were serene
We will return

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
Thank I6774BQleeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jude M, Owner at Glendeer Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2017

Thank you for your wonderful review, it was lovely to meet you and your friends, hope you enjoyed Fleur's Restaurant and all the wonderful places you have planned on your New Zealand trip.
We look forward to your next visit.
Kind Regards
Jude & Paul McLauchlan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2017 via mobile

The accommodation at Glendeer is top end. Furnished and finished to a high quality. Guests have a private living room area. Very comfortable room, warm winter duvet, large shower. Breakfast in the morning is plentiful and presented beautifully. The hosts are welcoming and friendly, happy to chat over a coffee about their pet deer and local information. I would recommend!

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Bluewaves32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jude M, Owner at Glendeer Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2017

Thank you for your wonderful review, so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay here and hope to see you again!
Kind Regards
Jude McLauchlan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2017 via mobile

We visited Glendeer Lodge sadly for only 1 night wished we could have stayed longer as it was so beautiful! The grounds were amazing and lovely to see the deer roaming in the compound. The gardens were beautifully manicured and beautiful views of Timaru. The accommodation was first class bed extremely comfortable and crisp bed linen! Bathroom was fabulous and very modern and toiletries were supplied and fluffy towels robes and slippers which was a lovely touch. Everything was so clean and fresh. Jude set up a wonderful breakfast she did not say a time to eat and we had breakfast at our own pace at around 8:30. The continental breakfast was amazing there was all sorts of cereals fresh fruit yoghurt nuts jams marmalade/jams/ honey cereal bars assortment of seeds lovely breads etc.. fresh juices you name there was everything. We did not see Paul as he was away on a fishing and hunting trip. Jude was most welcoming and chatty and advising of things to see and do. It was so peaceful and such a lovely time and will be returning again on our next visit to New Zealand. Thank you Jude for such a pleasant stay and we shall be staying a lot longer next time and look forward to it in the future!

Jennifer & Colin Alldred and Tim & Alex Price

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Jennifer A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jude M, Owner at Glendeer Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2017

Hi Jennifer,
It was so lovely to meet you all and spend time chatting with you, thank you for your wonderful review and so happy that you enjoyed your stay and are looking forward to the next time. I know you are still travelling around New Zealand and I hope you have a wonderful time experiencing our beautiful country.
Kindest Regards
Jude McLauchlan
Glendeer Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Timaru
4.2 km away
Grosvenor Hotel
Grosvenor Hotel
#4 of 18 in Timaru
259 reviews
2.9 km away
Aspen on King
Aspen on King
#3 of 18 in Timaru
169 reviews
4.9 km away
Bay Viaduct Motor Lodge
Bay Viaduct Motor Lodge
#5 of 18 in Timaru
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 km away
ASURE Ashley Motor Lodge
3.0 km away
Avenue Motor Lodge
Avenue Motor Lodge
#2 of 18 in Timaru
97 reviews
38.3 km away
ASURE Scenic Route Motor Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Recently Reviewed Hotels around Timaru

Been to Glendeer Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glendeer Lodge

Address: 51 Scarborough Road, Timaru 7971, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Timaru
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Timaru
Price Range: $160 - $201 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Glendeer Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Glendeer Lodge offers luxury bed and breakfast accommodation set on 5 tranquil acres, with a large manicured lawn and native garden complete with wonderful bird life. This beautiful modern and new accommodation is surrounded with stunning mountain to ocean views; the private guest lounge looks out into the native garden area where pet Fallow deer can be watched roaming behind the fenced area. The king bedrooms are extremely spacious, comfortable, bright, airy and well appointed, with modern, spacious bathrooms featuring under floor heating, heated towel rails, and complimentary toiletries available in all rooms. Glendeer Lodge is a handy five minute drive to the centre of the town ship of Timaru which offers an array of fine dining restaurants, bars and cafes.All rooms are modern and well-appointed with nice garden views, the two king rooms have their own private court yards with big French doors and direct outside access. This beautiful modern and new accommodation is surrounded with stunning mountain to ocean views clients feel very relaxed as they sit back in the private guest lounge taking in these stunning scenic vistas whilst in the back ground of the fenced garden area our pet Fallow deer quietly roam.Glendeer Lodge is centrally located between the cities of Christchurch and Dunedin; it is the gateway to the Southern Alps and Mount Cook National Park.With coastal walks to a local lighthouse and wetland area are nearby, fly fishing, hunting, bird watching and scenic back country tours can all be organized at the lodge.Glendeer Lodge features fly fishing facilities on-site and serves a continental breakfast daily. A 10-minute drive from Te Ana Ngai Tahu Maori Rock Art Centre, it offers free parking and free Wi-Fi access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Wotif.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Glendeer Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing