We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Aspen on King(Timaru)(Great Value!)
US$108
US$86
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$97/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$67
US$64
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Townhouse Motel(Timaru)(Great Value!)
US$81
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$95
US$92
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
US$75
US$61
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$118
US$102
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$108
US$105
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$98
US$91
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$102
US$98
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (94)
Filter reviews
94 results
Traveller rating
82
7
2
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
82
7
2
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfly fishingtroutcontinental breakfastsouth islandnew zealandfishing guidevery comfortable roomwarm hostsdeer roamingyogurtweek tripfantastic placeone night staythe main roadpaulpatiencepaddock
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 94 reviews
Reviewed 10 April 2017 via mobile

We visited Glendeer Lodge sadly for only 1 night wished we could have stayed longer as it was so beautiful! The grounds were amazing and lovely to see the deer roaming in the compound. The gardens were beautifully manicured and beautiful views of Timaru. The accommodation was first class bed extremely comfortable and crisp bed linen! Bathroom was fabulous and very modern and toiletries were supplied and fluffy towels robes and slippers which was a lovely touch. Everything was so clean and fresh. Jude set up a wonderful breakfast she did not say a time to eat and we had breakfast at our own pace at around 8:30. The continental breakfast was amazing there was all sorts of cereals fresh fruit yoghurt nuts jams marmalade/jams/ honey cereal bars assortment of seeds lovely breads etc.. fresh juices you name there was everything. We did not see Paul as he was away on a fishing and hunting trip. Jude was most welcoming and chatty and advising of things to see and do. It was so peaceful and such a lovely time and will be returning again on our next visit to New Zealand. Thank you Jude for such a pleasant stay and we shall be staying a lot longer next time and look forward to it in the future!

Jennifer & Colin Alldred and Tim & Alex Price

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Jennifer A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jude M, Owner at Glendeer Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2017

Hi Jennifer,
It was so lovely to meet you all and spend time chatting with you, thank you for your wonderful review and so happy that you enjoyed your stay and are looking forward to the next time. I know you are still travelling around New Zealand and I hope you have a wonderful time experiencing our beautiful country.
Kindest Regards
Jude McLauchlan
Glendeer Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2017

The house is to the South of Timaru not far outside the town. It's off the main road, so we had a very quiet and pleasant sleep. Bed and preparation of the room was first class, better than many hotels, and there was an excellent choice for breakfast. The coast isn't that far away, so you can do some walking there if you are so inclined.
Thoroughly enjoyed our short stay.

Room Tip: Ground floor room facing the car park was easy to get cases in directly through the French doors.
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank astroman042000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jude M, Owner at Glendeer Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2017

Thank you for your review, we do enjoy our quiet countryside location and so glad to hear you enjoyed our first class amenities, hope to see you again sometime.
Kind Regards
Jude McLauchlan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2017 via mobile

A great walk to Jack's point as recommended by Jude followed by penguin watching in Timaru. A lovely room, excellent bathroom and linens etc. Pleasant breakfast with fellow guests after a good night's sleep.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Pouillyfume
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jude M, Owner at Glendeer Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2017

Thank you for your review, glad to hear you enjoyed our little town and also your stay with us!
Kind Regards
Jude & Paul McLauchlan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2017

Just out of Timaru town (a few minutes), quiet country location.

Our friendly host showed us to a decent size suite, modern, clean and comfortable with its own courtyard. This was a one night stay but could have stayed another night. The deer in their paddock was nice to observe. Didn't meet the husband of our host but I believe he is a fishing guide so maybe a good place to stay and get some trout fishing tuition. Maybe next time.

Only down side for me was the outdoor furniture was too dirty to utilise but otherwise a pleasant B&B. Cost was around $260 per night in Feb 2017. Would go back.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank cyberlion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jude M, Owner at Glendeer Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2017

Hello there,
Thank you for your review and feedback, we do work very hard to keep all areas clean, neat and tidy for our guests to utilize.
Glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and do hope to see you again sometime.
Kind Regards
Jude & Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2017

We had a one night stay at Glendeer lodge and found it to be an outstanding B&B. The hosts Jude and Paul are very helpful and accomodating. The lodge is charming and the rooms very comfortable, spacious and clean. The continental style breakfast was good and we could help ourselves to tea and coffee at leisure. It is set in a nice quiet location and there is a fabulous beach a short walk away. We would highly recommend Glendeer Lodge.

Stayed: February 2017
Thank clare c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jude M, Owner at Glendeer Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2017

Hi Clare,
Thank you for taking the time to review us and so glad to hear you enjoyed our B&B. I hope you enjoyed the rest of your travels in New Zealand and do hope to see you again someday.
Kind Regards
Jude & Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews