We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
speedingcar
Cromwell, New Zealand

Overnighter in Timaru

Review of Townhouse Motel
4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 5 Nov 2017via mobile
Clean welcoming & comfortable, with a friendly hostess on arrival. Units are a little dated but very clean and well appointed with a very comfortable bed just what we needed after a days traveling. Situated on the main road into Timaru, handy to food outlets, supermarkets and the town centre.
& walking distance to Caroline bay attractions. Would recommend & will stay again.
Date of stay: October 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
$201
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $201
  • Hotels.com
    $201
  • Expedia.com
    $201
0.4 km from Townhouse Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$94
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $94
  • eDreams
    $94
  • ZenHotels.com
1.0 km from Townhouse Motel
Free parking
Booking.com
$178
  • Priceline
    $178
  • Hotels.com
    $169
  • Expedia.com
    $178
0.3 km from Townhouse Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Conference Room
Booking.com
$149
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $149
  • Hotels.com
    $149
  • Expedia.com
    $149
0.2 km from Townhouse Motel
Free parking
Restaurant
Booking.com
$184
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $184
  • Hotels.com
    $159
  • Expedia.com
    $173
2.3 km from Townhouse Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Executive Studio Spa
Booking.com
$218
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $218
  • Official Site
    $195
  • Expedia.com
    $218
2.1 km from Townhouse Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$125
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $125
  • Expedia.com
    $140
  • Hotels.com
    $140
0.1 km from Townhouse Motel
Free parking
Reception
Booking.com
$160
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    $160
  • Hotels.com
    $129
  • Expedia.com
    $132
1.3 km from Townhouse Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Property and Gardens
Booking.com
$202
  • Expedia.com
    $224
  • Priceline
    $202
  • Hotels.com
    $205
2.8 km from Townhouse Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$86
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    $86
  • Vio.com
    $86
  • eDreams
    $86
3.4 km from Townhouse Motel
Free parking
View more hotels in Timaru
Reviews (62)
Filter reviews
62 results
Traveller rating
16
31
12
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
16
31
12
2
1
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 62 reviews
Reviewed 24 September 2017

Very friendly owners,units very clean and tidy great having my sky 50 chanels, had extra heaters in room parking right by door bed very comfortable shower great pressure for the price we found it good value for money

Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stayalot213
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 14 September 2017

To start with the good points, the room was spacious and the bed was comfortable. Despite being quite close to a busy road, I had a quiet and undisturbed night's sleep. The negatives were mainly to do with attention to detail. My room was clean, but shabby and scruffy. Furnishings are cheap and cheerful, but reasonably functional. However, the spa bath didn't work and neither did the kettle. The TV remote volume button also didn't work, so I avoided watching TV because I didn't want to disturb next door. I must admit, I could have queried these items at the time, but I was tired and couldn't be bothered. I was also unimpressed by the unfriendly greeting on arrival.

Room tip: Ask for a room not next to the road.
Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Faith1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 13 September 2017 via mobile

One of the best we have come across, owner friendly and down to earth, value for money, king size bed was so comfortable wanted to take it home with us, unit was clean and tidy, large room, shower was amazing and so was the spa, totally recommend this place,

Date of stay: September 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Excursion731049
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 30 June 2017

Very Very Dated, Broken Furniture, Cold and Damp. When searching online for motel this one was the cheapest for 2 bedroomed units, understandabley why, now we have visited, Wish we had spent the extra money and booked elsewhere. Online photos are definately misleading of what you may actually get when you visit. Wall heater was so noisy that you couldnt have it going at night. Will say the unit was clean and the staff helpfull, but thats the only happy thing to say. Has made me very wary of booking online, because what you see online is not always what you get.

Date of stay: June 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank freedreamz
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Lisa H, Owner at Townhouse Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2017

Thank you for letting us know in person something was broken if we dont know we can't fix it i the heater was noisy we could have been told that too and fixed it but as we dont know which unit you were in or exactly when you stayed we dont know any of the above we do appreciate when people actually tell us when something is wrong so i sorry you felt you couldn't come see us in person and say these things were wrong

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2017

Motel is a little dated as per other reviews but it's comfortable enough, a reasonable price, and the owners are very friendly.If you're looking for somewhere cost effective to stay for a night or two then this is fine.

Date of stay: May 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank BSmiley0
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews