We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Algotels
eDreams
Vio.com
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Stayalot213
Oamaru, New Zealand

Spring outing

Review of Townhouse Motel
4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 24 Sept 2017
Very friendly owners,units very clean and tidy great having my sky 50 chanels, had extra heaters in room parking right by door bed very comfortable shower great pressure for the price we found it good value for money
Date of stay: September 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $200
  • Hotels.com
0.4 km from Townhouse Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
1.0 km from Townhouse Motel
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $173
  • Hotels.com
2.3 km from Townhouse Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Lovely big studio room
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $149
  • Hotels.com
0.4 km from Townhouse Motel
Free parking
Executive Studio Spa
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • Official Site
    $195
  • Hotels.com
2.1 km from Townhouse Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Conference Room
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $133
  • Booking.com
0.2 km from Townhouse Motel
Free parking
Restaurant
Reception
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $136
  • Hotels.com
1.3 km from Townhouse Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $209
  • Hotels.com
2.8 km from Townhouse Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Anchor Motel
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Official Site
    $99
  • Booking.com
0.1 km from Townhouse Motel
Free parking
Property and Gardens
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $223
  • Hotels.com
2.8 km from Townhouse Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Timaru
Reviews (62)
Filter reviews
62 results
Traveller rating
16
31
12
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
16
31
12
2
1
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 62 reviews
Reviewed 14 September 2017

To start with the good points, the room was spacious and the bed was comfortable. Despite being quite close to a busy road, I had a quiet and undisturbed night's sleep. The negatives were mainly to do with attention to detail. My room was clean, but shabby and scruffy. Furnishings are cheap and cheerful, but reasonably functional. However, the spa bath didn't work and neither did the kettle. The TV remote volume button also didn't work, so I avoided watching TV because I didn't want to disturb next door. I must admit, I could have queried these items at the time, but I was tired and couldn't be bothered. I was also unimpressed by the unfriendly greeting on arrival.

Room tip: Ask for a room not next to the road.
Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Faith1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 13 September 2017 via mobile

One of the best we have come across, owner friendly and down to earth, value for money, king size bed was so comfortable wanted to take it home with us, unit was clean and tidy, large room, shower was amazing and so was the spa, totally recommend this place,

Date of stay: September 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Excursion731049
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 30 June 2017

Very Very Dated, Broken Furniture, Cold and Damp. When searching online for motel this one was the cheapest for 2 bedroomed units, understandabley why, now we have visited, Wish we had spent the extra money and booked elsewhere. Online photos are definately misleading of what you may actually get when you visit. Wall heater was so noisy that you couldnt have it going at night. Will say the unit was clean and the staff helpfull, but thats the only happy thing to say. Has made me very wary of booking online, because what you see online is not always what you get.

Date of stay: June 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank freedreamz
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Lisa H, Owner at Townhouse Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2017

Thank you for letting us know in person something was broken if we dont know we can't fix it i the heater was noisy we could have been told that too and fixed it but as we dont know which unit you were in or exactly when you stayed we dont know any of the above we do appreciate when people actually tell us when something is wrong so i sorry you felt you couldn't come see us in person and say these things were wrong

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2017

Motel is a little dated as per other reviews but it's comfortable enough, a reasonable price, and the owners are very friendly.If you're looking for somewhere cost effective to stay for a night or two then this is fine.

Date of stay: May 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank BSmiley0
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 21 May 2017

Stayed one night when we had a weekend in Timaru. Was going to book the motel we stayed at last time we were in Timaru, but the price had gone up too much and this one was a lot cheaper. We booked a studio unit, #7.
A bit dated, but perfectly adequate and filled all our needs. Comfortable bed, clean unit, free wi-fi. Very efficient heater in the living area, which we needed as it was a very cold night!
Driveway into the motel is very steep - Timaru is quite hilly in parts.
Conveniently located. Five minute walk to KFC, McDonalds, PaknSave supermarket. Dairy across the road.
We would use this motel again.

Date of stay: May 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank roaming_kiwi58
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews