We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Excursion731049

Awesome place

Review of Townhouse Motel
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 12 Sept 2017via mobile
One of the best we have come across, owner friendly and down to earth, value for money, king size bed was so comfortable wanted to take it home with us, unit was clean and tidy, large room, shower was amazing and so was the spa, totally recommend this place,
Date of stay: September 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
$201
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Expedia.com
    $201
  • Hotels.com
    $201
0.4 km from Townhouse Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$178
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    $173
  • Expedia.com
    $178
0.3 km from Townhouse Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$94
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
    $94
  • ZenHotels.com
1.0 km from Townhouse Motel
Free parking
Conference Room
Booking.com
$149
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • ZenHotels.com
    $132
  • Hotels.com
    $149
0.2 km from Townhouse Motel
Free parking
Restaurant
Booking.com
$184
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
    $170
  • Expedia.com
    $173
2.3 km from Townhouse Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Lovely big studio room
Booking.com
$150
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    $141
  • Expedia.com
    $150
0.4 km from Townhouse Motel
Free parking
Booking.com
$125
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Expedia.com
    $140
  • Hotels.com
    $140
0.1 km from Townhouse Motel
Free parking
Reception
Booking.com
$160
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • Expedia.com
    $131
  • Hotels.com
    $134
1.3 km from Townhouse Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Property and Gardens
Booking.com
$202
  • Expedia.com
    $202
  • Hotels.com
    $220
  • Priceline
2.8 km from Townhouse Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$86
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • Vio.com
  • eDreams
    $86
3.4 km from Townhouse Motel
Free parking
View more hotels in Timaru
Reviews (62)
Filter reviews
62 results
Traveller rating
16
31
12
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
16
31
12
2
1
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 62 reviews
Reviewed 30 June 2017

Very Very Dated, Broken Furniture, Cold and Damp. When searching online for motel this one was the cheapest for 2 bedroomed units, understandabley why, now we have visited, Wish we had spent the extra money and booked elsewhere. Online photos are definately misleading of what you may actually get when you visit. Wall heater was so noisy that you couldnt have it going at night. Will say the unit was clean and the staff helpfull, but thats the only happy thing to say. Has made me very wary of booking online, because what you see online is not always what you get.

Date of stay: June 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank freedreamz
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Lisa H, Owner at Townhouse Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2017

Thank you for letting us know in person something was broken if we dont know we can't fix it i the heater was noisy we could have been told that too and fixed it but as we dont know which unit you were in or exactly when you stayed we dont know any of the above we do appreciate when people actually tell us when something is wrong so i sorry you felt you couldn't come see us in person and say these things were wrong

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2017

Motel is a little dated as per other reviews but it's comfortable enough, a reasonable price, and the owners are very friendly.If you're looking for somewhere cost effective to stay for a night or two then this is fine.

Date of stay: May 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank BSmiley0
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 21 May 2017

Stayed one night when we had a weekend in Timaru. Was going to book the motel we stayed at last time we were in Timaru, but the price had gone up too much and this one was a lot cheaper. We booked a studio unit, #7.
A bit dated, but perfectly adequate and filled all our needs. Comfortable bed, clean unit, free wi-fi. Very efficient heater in the living area, which we needed as it was a very cold night!
Driveway into the motel is very steep - Timaru is quite hilly in parts.
Conveniently located. Five minute walk to KFC, McDonalds, PaknSave supermarket. Dairy across the road.
We would use this motel again.

Date of stay: May 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank roaming_kiwi58
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 27 February 2017

Just stopped here overnight when travelling from Christchurch to Dunedin. It was one of the least expensive motels on a 5 week tour of NZ and therefore excellent value. The unit was quite spacious and well-equipped, with a lovely big and clean bathroom. You can be sure of a warm welcome, with a friendly and very helpful host who goes out of his way to give advice, (such as not going through the restaurant at Moeraki or they'll charge you to access the beach to see the boulders!). Timaru was not that exciting but it's a good stop on the way down the coast.

Room tip: We just had a studio which was fine for us. There are larger apartments available.
Date of stay: February 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank lizhewlett
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 20 February 2017

Passing through Timaru on our way back from Queenstown. Very friendly reception staff. The lady with purple hair was hilarious. Great Wifi connection for catching up on work. Would definitely recommend if you're looking for a comfortable place to stopover.

Date of stay: February 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank jackmelb2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews