We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
BSmiley0
Auckland Central, New Zealand

Nice owners

Review of Townhouse Motel
4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 28 May 2017
Motel is a little dated as per other reviews but it's comfortable enough, a reasonable price, and the owners are very friendly.If you're looking for somewhere cost effective to stay for a night or two then this is fine.
Date of stay: May 2017
Trip type: Travelled solo
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
$94
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
    $94
  • ZenHotels.com
1.0 km from Townhouse Motel
Free parking
view from my room
$190
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    $172
0.2 km from Townhouse Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
The view from the lounge room window.
$110
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    $96
0.0 km from Townhouse Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    $201
  • ZenHotels.com
    $186
  • Priceline
0.4 km from Townhouse Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Conference Room
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    $139
  • ZenHotels.com
    $125
  • Priceline
0.2 km from Townhouse Motel
Free parking
Restaurant
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    $178
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
    $178
0.3 km from Townhouse Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    $130
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
    $145
0.1 km from Townhouse Motel
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Official Site
    $155
  • Hotels.com
2.3 km from Townhouse Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Reception
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    $160
  • Agoda.com
    $129
  • Priceline
1.3 km from Townhouse Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Property and Gardens
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    $205
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
    $224
2.8 km from Townhouse Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Timaru
Reviews (62)
Filter reviews
62 results
Traveller rating
16
31
12
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
16
31
12
2
1
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 62 reviews
Reviewed 21 May 2017

Stayed one night when we had a weekend in Timaru. Was going to book the motel we stayed at last time we were in Timaru, but the price had gone up too much and this one was a lot cheaper. We booked a studio unit, #7.
A bit dated, but perfectly adequate and filled all our needs. Comfortable bed, clean unit, free wi-fi. Very efficient heater in the living area, which we needed as it was a very cold night!
Driveway into the motel is very steep - Timaru is quite hilly in parts.
Conveniently located. Five minute walk to KFC, McDonalds, PaknSave supermarket. Dairy across the road.
We would use this motel again.

Date of stay: May 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank roaming_kiwi58
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 27 February 2017

Just stopped here overnight when travelling from Christchurch to Dunedin. It was one of the least expensive motels on a 5 week tour of NZ and therefore excellent value. The unit was quite spacious and well-equipped, with a lovely big and clean bathroom. You can be sure of a warm welcome, with a friendly and very helpful host who goes out of his way to give advice, (such as not going through the restaurant at Moeraki or they'll charge you to access the beach to see the boulders!). Timaru was not that exciting but it's a good stop on the way down the coast.

Room tip: We just had a studio which was fine for us. There are larger apartments available.
Date of stay: February 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank lizhewlett
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 20 February 2017

Passing through Timaru on our way back from Queenstown. Very friendly reception staff. The lady with purple hair was hilarious. Great Wifi connection for catching up on work. Would definitely recommend if you're looking for a comfortable place to stopover.

Date of stay: February 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank jackmelb2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 11 February 2017

The motel appertment (nmbr 8) was big. Good, soft bed. Kitchen is complete. Bathroom was good. Nice shower. Everything is clean.

TV with 50 channel satelite TV.

WIFI with excess code and 500Mb per day.

Very friendly and helpfull owners.

Room tip: Just do it.
Date of stay: February 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank erikdefotograaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 9 February 2017 via mobile

Huge apartment rented for the night here. Two bedrooms with a bedroom downstairs with two single beds, and single bed under the stairs, and bed upstairs in the lounge and a queen bed in the upstairs bedroom. Bathroom had a spa bath and separate shower. Full kitchen, and a large TV with Sky. Had a carport for the car as well. Parking was very tight, and the driveway rather steep. Place was rather dated, but afforded brilliant value for money. Friendly people and close to Timarus supermarkets and Caroline Bay

Date of stay: February 2017
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank JustPlaneMad
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews