We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
roaming_kiwi58
Christchurch, New Zealand

Good value motel.

Review of Townhouse Motel
4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 21 May 2017
Stayed one night when we had a weekend in Timaru. Was going to book the motel we stayed at last time we were in Timaru, but the price had gone up too much and this one was a lot cheaper. We booked a studio unit, #7.
A bit dated, but perfectly adequate and filled all our needs. Comfortable bed, clean unit, free wi-fi. Very efficient heater in the living area, which we needed as it was a very cold night!
Driveway into the motel is very steep - Timaru is quite hilly in parts.
Conveniently located. Five minute walk to KFC, McDonalds, PaknSave supermarket. Dairy across the road.
We would use this motel again.
Date of stay: May 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Conference Room
$139
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $139
  • ZenHotels.com
    $125
  • Expedia.com
    $139
0.2 km from Townhouse Motel
Free parking
Restaurant
$213
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $213
  • ZenHotels.com
    $197
  • Hotels.com
    $209
0.4 km from Townhouse Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
The VERY comfy bed.
$184
Fully refundable
  • Official Site
    $155
  • Priceline
    $184
  • Expedia.com
    $173
2.3 km from Townhouse Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
$94
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $94
  • eDreams
    $94
  • ZenHotels.com
1.0 km from Townhouse Motel
Free parking
$130
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $130
  • Expedia.com
    $145
  • Hotels.com
    $145
0.1 km from Townhouse Motel
Free parking
$178
  • Priceline
    $178
  • Hotels.com
    $175
  • Expedia.com
    $178
0.3 km from Townhouse Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
$204
  • Expedia.com
    $227
  • Priceline
    $204
  • Hotels.com
    $207
2.8 km from Townhouse Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
view from my room
$185
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $177
  • Agoda.com
    $168
0.2 km from Townhouse Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
The view from the lounge room window.
$110
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $105
  • Agoda.com
    $96
0.0 km from Townhouse Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
$86
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    $86
  • Vio.com
    $86
  • Expedia.com
3.4 km from Townhouse Motel
Free parking
View more hotels in Timaru
Reviews (62)
Filter reviews
62 results
Traveller rating
16
31
12
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
16
31
12
2
1
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 62 reviews
Reviewed 27 February 2017

Just stopped here overnight when travelling from Christchurch to Dunedin. It was one of the least expensive motels on a 5 week tour of NZ and therefore excellent value. The unit was quite spacious and well-equipped, with a lovely big and clean bathroom. You can be sure of a warm welcome, with a friendly and very helpful host who goes out of his way to give advice, (such as not going through the restaurant at Moeraki or they'll charge you to access the beach to see the boulders!). Timaru was not that exciting but it's a good stop on the way down the coast.

Room tip: We just had a studio which was fine for us. There are larger apartments available.
Date of stay: February 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank lizhewlett
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 20 February 2017

Passing through Timaru on our way back from Queenstown. Very friendly reception staff. The lady with purple hair was hilarious. Great Wifi connection for catching up on work. Would definitely recommend if you're looking for a comfortable place to stopover.

Date of stay: February 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank jackmelb2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 11 February 2017

The motel appertment (nmbr 8) was big. Good, soft bed. Kitchen is complete. Bathroom was good. Nice shower. Everything is clean.

TV with 50 channel satelite TV.

WIFI with excess code and 500Mb per day.

Very friendly and helpfull owners.

Room tip: Just do it.
Date of stay: February 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank erikdefotograaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 9 February 2017 via mobile

Huge apartment rented for the night here. Two bedrooms with a bedroom downstairs with two single beds, and single bed under the stairs, and bed upstairs in the lounge and a queen bed in the upstairs bedroom. Bathroom had a spa bath and separate shower. Full kitchen, and a large TV with Sky. Had a carport for the car as well. Parking was very tight, and the driveway rather steep. Place was rather dated, but afforded brilliant value for money. Friendly people and close to Timarus supermarkets and Caroline Bay

Date of stay: February 2017
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank JustPlaneMad
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 10 January 2017

We had a very pleasant stay here. Unit was very clean and spacious. It is an older style, but had been painted and modernised. Friendly and helpful staff. Even though on the main road was very quiet. The only issue for some people could be the steep drive down to the units which also makes parking interesting. We would definitely stay here again as very pleasant and affordable.

Date of stay: January 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Lindsay and Sha... W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews