We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
MrsHepworth

Basic, dated motel

Review of Seabreeze Motel
2.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 8 Oct 2019
Great views of the bay though the motel is very dated & in desperate need of modernisation.
Shower cubicle was dark & a very compact space. Toilet windows didn’t close (louvred Windows) so freezing (not great for the middle of the night trips to the loo).
Kitchen area worn & very basic.
Bed was comfy & small warm air heater compensated for the cold draft from the bathroom area.
Looked better on the web-site than in reality.
Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
$201
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $201
  • Hotels.com
    $201
  • Expedia.com
    $201
0.3 km from Seabreeze Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$178
  • Priceline
    $178
  • Agoda.com
    $173
  • Expedia.com
    $178
0.4 km from Seabreeze Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$184
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $184
  • Hotels.com
    $170
  • Expedia.com
    $173
1.6 km from Seabreeze Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Reception
Booking.com
$160
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    $160
  • Expedia.com
    $131
  • Hotels.com
    $134
0.6 km from Seabreeze Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Conference Room
Booking.com
$149
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $149
  • ZenHotels.com
    $132
  • Expedia.com
    $149
0.5 km from Seabreeze Motel
Free parking
Restaurant
Booking.com
$94
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $94
  • eDreams
    $94
  • ZenHotels.com
1.6 km from Seabreeze Motel
Free parking
Lovely big studio room
Booking.com
$150
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $150
  • Agoda.com
    $141
  • Expedia.com
    $150
1.1 km from Seabreeze Motel
Free parking
Property and Gardens
Booking.com
$202
  • Hotels.com
    $220
  • Expedia.com
    $202
  • Priceline
    $202
2.2 km from Seabreeze Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$125
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $125
  • Expedia.com
    $140
  • Hotels.com
    $140
0.7 km from Seabreeze Motel
Free parking
Priceline
$86
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
    $86
  • Vio.com
    $86
  • eDreams
    $86
3.0 km from Seabreeze Motel
Free parking
View more hotels in Timaru
Reviews (25)
Filter reviews
25 results
Traveller rating
1
11
5
4
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1
11
5
4
4
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 25 reviews
Reviewed 2 April 2019 via mobile

Stayed here for a night. Well, it well located , cleanish but nothing has changed since the 1960s it seems
If you want to show the kids what was like in those days stay here!

Very well located with a good Montieth brew bar and eatery within 3 mins walk.

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank ericgT2218DB
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 20 January 2018

This motel is very dated, with peeling wallpaper and old chantles. But for a quick stop over its ok if you get a room with a sea view. Beds are comfy and rooms large but the road is noisy and so are the trains. It is walking distance to town and beach, there are also good eateries near by.

Room tip: Sea view is a must
Date of stay: January 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ecofriendly386
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 12 January 2018

After all day travelling we needed a place to stay over night. Our original choice was fully booked so we ended up here. However although the building and interior needs some tlc, the room was very clean and had everything we needed for an overnight stay, including wifi.

Date of stay: December 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 783carola
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 14 April 2017

Great location, so close to town, beautiful view over the park and port. But the decor and sevice lets it down. Did not get a very friendly welcome, very surly and not a lot of help about where to eat. The decor is well overdue for revamp, coat of paint, new carpets etc. Such potential.

Date of stay: April 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barry A
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 15 November 2015 via mobile

At the best this should have been advertised as a very Budget Backpacker Accommodation!
Very musty smell that we had to endure over the 2 days !
Extremely dated and worn interior.
Mould on broken cutains and broken dirty venetions.
Very old couch and 2 chairs worn and uncomfortable.
Dated wall paper ripped off walls..Nails/Screws in walls where pictures used to hang.
Night store heater with bare wires and filthy dirt behind it.
Horrible bathroom.
Double bed had 1 single electric blanket fitted.
SIDEWAYS across the Centre of the bed.
We had several friends also booked in this accommodation
One unit (that had been partly renovated) had lots of mould on shower roof another with 3 people staying had only 1 electric blanket working.
All units had shocking views of unkept weed ridden areas out the back.

Date of stay: November 2015
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Maureen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews