We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Ozday
australia

Dreadful motel in an excellent location

Review of Seabreeze Motel
1.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 5 Dec 2014
The best thing about the Seabreeze is its location, looking out over the harbor, quite close to a number of restaurants and pubs and a short walk to the center of town. Otherwise, there is little to recommend it, apart from the modest price of the rooms. It’s the kind of motel where you are asked to pay your bill on check in, so as not to disturb the manager the next morning. The buildings are old and in poor repair. The rooms are spacious and there are cooking facilities, but the décor is old, in need of maintenance and not very clean. For example, I had to clean the soap scum out of the shower before using it, which didn’t impress me. Parking is limited and difficult to get into, and we were annoyed to find that the management did nothing about a large motorcycle which had parked diagonally across two parking spaces. The walls are thin and as a result, the rooms can be noisy -- ours was above the manager's flat, and she was having a party. The bed was saggy and the sheets getting threadbare. Our family has stayed here before in better days, but we’ve crossed it off our travel list and recommend you do too.
Date of stay: November 2014
Room Tip: Some upstairs rooms have a sea view.
Trip type: Travelled with family
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
$213
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
    $213
  • Expedia.com
    $213
0.3 km from Seabreeze Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$184
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
    $170
  • Expedia.com
    $173
1.6 km from Seabreeze Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$178
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
    $175
  • Expedia.com
    $178
0.4 km from Seabreeze Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Executive Studio Spa
Booking.com
$218
Fully refundable
  • Tripadvisor
    $218
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
    $218
1.5 km from Seabreeze Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Hotel exterior
Booking.com
$149
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • ZenHotels.com
    $137
  • Hotels.com
    $149
0.5 km from Seabreeze Motel
Free parking
Restaurant
Reception
Booking.com
$160
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • Expedia.com
    $131
  • Hotels.com
    $134
0.6 km from Seabreeze Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$94
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • ZenHotels.com
  • Lol.travel
1.6 km from Seabreeze Motel
Free parking
Property and Gardens
Booking.com
$202
  • Expedia.com
    $202
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
    $202
2.2 km from Seabreeze Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$131
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
    $139
  • Expedia.com
    $139
0.7 km from Seabreeze Motel
Free parking
Booking.com
$91
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • Vio.com
  • Expedia.com
3.0 km from Seabreeze Motel
Free parking
View more hotels in Timaru
Reviews (25)
Filter reviews
25 results
Traveller rating
1
11
5
4
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1
11
5
4
4
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 25 reviews
Reviewed 1 July 2014

No wardrobes,pink kitchen cupboards, 1960s brown Lino,smells,dirty old lounge suite,mould on wall. Sorry but this disgusting, owner needs to smartin up in appearance,not inviting,just like the rooms all a bit tired.

Room tip: Come on motel ,hotels inspectors offer me a job to get some of these hotels up to standard. Having stayed in 7 hotel or motels in the past 3 weeks it's not a good look.
Date of stay: June 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Creativedesigns
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 14 May 2014 via mobile

Booked for one night but ended up staying two. Lovely view from upstairs unit. A bit dated but lovely and comfortable, clean and with kitchen. Easy walk to shops, cafes, restaurants, beach etc. Great value for money.

Date of stay: May 2014
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank BarbaraC2040
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 22 March 2014

We stayed on one night in a downstairs unit. Unit was very clean and tidy. A little dated but we were not worried especially at the good price for two people and especially in Timaru.

Great location just leave your car in the car park and walk to town centre or down into Caroline Bay. For the more mature there is a lift nearby that will drop you down into the Caroline Bay area.
We were not worried by the railway or motor vehicle traffic.

Bed was average but hey nothing is as good as your own bed. The only noise was from the people moving around in the upstairs unit. Easy check in and friendly management.
Would stay again

Date of stay: March 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank abdnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 26 January 2014

A popular and handy location, only a short walk to the main street. Booking in was not a problem using their freephone. We asked for a quiet room away from the railway line. As it turned out, our spacious room on the upper level had a great view over Caroline Bay. There is sufficient car parking on the premises.

The bedroom was clean, fresh and tidy with adequate lighting, heating, phone and TV, but the wireless internet is on the Zenbu paid network. The kitchen is a separate area with cooking and tea making, ironing facilities. Though the appliances are cosmetically tired, they are still functioning. Likewise the shower and toilet area showing the age of the premises but clean enough for a short stay. Face cloths and towels are supplied but the traditional block of soap has been replaced by liquid hand wash and shower gel.

As for the railway, the last train went through at about 11.30 p.m, a perceptible rumble but not a problem. From then on, a good night’s sleep in the comfortable bed. Great value at $95 per night.

Date of stay: January 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jaspah4582
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 29 September 2013 via mobile

The location is great as far as Timaru goes, but this place is out of the 70s! Maybe even earlier. Sometimes vintage can be quirky if done right, but this is NOT done right! The beds (thank heavens) are the only things in this place that have been changed in 40 odd years. The smell of our room was quite sickening, it's as if it's been sprayed with loads of disinfectant to try and distract you from the old decor, and I'm sure, the rotting of the lounges. I wouldn't recommend it.

Date of stay: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank charmmaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews