We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Official Site
$99
No prepayment needed
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Paula M

Really good

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 29 Sept 2022
The bedroom was quite nice, comfortable bed, enough space for suitcases and two people, equipped kitchen, wifi… The owner was very nice and helped us locate the penguins too for our visit. Highly recommended if you are staying in the area.
Date of stay: September 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Hotel exterior
Tripadvisor
$169
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
0.3 km from Anchor Motel & Timaru Backpackers
Free parking
Restaurant
Reception
Tripadvisor
$137
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
1.4 km from Anchor Motel & Timaru Backpackers
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
$191
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    $191
0.7 km from Anchor Motel & Timaru Backpackers
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
$139
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    $139
0.0 km from Anchor Motel & Timaru Backpackers
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    $201
  • Priceline
0.5 km from Anchor Motel & Timaru Backpackers
Free Wifi
Free parking
Lovely big studio room
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    $152
  • Priceline
0.3 km from Anchor Motel & Timaru Backpackers
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    $178
  • Priceline
0.4 km from Anchor Motel & Timaru Backpackers
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Official Site
    $155
  • Expedia.com
    $162
2.3 km from Anchor Motel & Timaru Backpackers
Free Wifi
Free parking
Executive Studio Spa
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Official Site
    $190
  • Priceline
2.1 km from Anchor Motel & Timaru Backpackers
Free Wifi
Free parking
Property and Gardens
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    $208
  • Priceline
2.8 km from Anchor Motel & Timaru Backpackers
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Timaru
Reviews (53)
Filter reviews
53 results
Traveller rating
13
17
7
9
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
13
17
7
9
7
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 53 reviews
Reviewed 27 September 2022

Extremely approachable lovely hosts sisters Rach & Sandy. Small unit but everything that we needed. Very Comfy bed and 2 comfortable pillows. Motel very handy to town, and the great Caroline Bay parkland area. Would love to see the Rose garden in bloom. Penguins came in near the port area which was wonderful.

Date of stay: September 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank SandieGee_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 26 July 2021

I stayed overnight at the anchor motel in Timaru New Zealand, I had booked a studio, I’m a seasoned traveler, when I arrived the owner show me the room it was so small like a cell with a bed and a toilet, I commented that I did not booked a backpacker, he assured me that was not it, seeing my reaction he offer me to upgrade at a great cost of a bigger but similarly run down, with holes in the cupboard, etc, and so noisy the electric blanket worked only in one side, to add insult to injury in the morning about 10 minutes passed the check out time the owner knocked loudly at the door, saying are you ready to move out!
While at lunch in town the restaurant owner and I were talking he asked where did you stay and I told him, and he said OH No! That is the worth place to stay so that say it all.
Stay away.

Date of stay: July 2021
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank 276li
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 24 April 2019 via mobile

Lovely place to stay! Spacious warm the inside has been nicely modernised. A bloody comfortable bed! Large lounge and kitchen. I will definitely be back. Would highly recommend this as a place to stay

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Travelled solo
1  Thank Travellerben
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Yoan T, Owner at Anchor Motel & Timaru Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2019

Thank you for your great review, Travellerben, we're very happy you enjoyed your stay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2019

Very good location close to the main road. Bakery opposite. The supermarket is less than a kilometer away. Good laundry along with a drying room (thanks to the nice lady from the reception I did not have to pay extra). Very nice and helpful staff. My room with the bathroom was small, but in my opinion it was worth the price I paid.

Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Tomasz K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Yoan T, Owner at Anchor Motel & Timaru Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2019

Thank yo for your review Toamsz, it's great you enjoyed your stay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2018 via mobile

Older unit but cost feel with a comfortable bed and parking in front of some units. Across the road from coupland bakery and caroline bay within walking distance. Close to restaurants and supermarkets.

Date of stay: December 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Patrick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Yoan T, Owner at Anchor Motel & Timaru Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2019

Hi PatMacnz64, thanks for your review, we're glad you enjoyed your stay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews