We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Official Site
$99
No prepayment needed
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Martine Darrou
Dunedin, New Zealand

Stay away

1.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 26 Jul 2021
I stayed overnight at the anchor motel in Timaru New Zealand, I had booked a studio, I’m a seasoned traveler, when I arrived the owner show me the room it was so small like a cell with a bed and a toilet, I commented that I did not booked a backpacker, he assured me that was not it, seeing my reaction he offer me to upgrade at a great cost of a bigger but similarly run down, with holes in the cupboard, etc, and so noisy the electric blanket worked only in one side, to add insult to injury in the morning about 10 minutes passed the check out time the owner knocked loudly at the door, saying are you ready to move out!
While at lunch in town the restaurant owner and I were talking he asked where did you stay and I told him, and he said OH No! That is the worth place to stay so that say it all.
Stay away.
Date of stay: July 2021
Trip type: Travelled solo
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
$94
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Lol.travel
  • ZenHotels.com
0.9 km from Anchor Motel & Timaru Backpackers
Free parking
Booking.com
$184
Fully refundable
  • Official Site
    $155
  • Expedia.com
    $153
  • Hotels.com
    $173
2.3 km from Anchor Motel & Timaru Backpackers
Free Wifi
Free parking
Property and Gardens
Booking.com
$208
  • Hotels.com
    $231
  • Expedia.com
    $208
  • Priceline
2.8 km from Anchor Motel & Timaru Backpackers
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
$139
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    $139
0.0 km from Anchor Motel & Timaru Backpackers
Free parking
Reception
Tripadvisor
$137
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
1.4 km from Anchor Motel & Timaru Backpackers
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    $202
  • eDreams
0.5 km from Anchor Motel & Timaru Backpackers
Free Wifi
Free parking
Lovely big studio room
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    $152
  • eDreams
0.3 km from Anchor Motel & Timaru Backpackers
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    $178
  • eDreams
0.4 km from Anchor Motel & Timaru Backpackers
Free Wifi
Free parking
Hotel exterior
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $155
  • Algotels
0.3 km from Anchor Motel & Timaru Backpackers
Free parking
Restaurant
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    $86
  • eDreams
  • Priceline
3.4 km from Anchor Motel & Timaru Backpackers
Free parking
View more hotels in Timaru
Reviews (53)
Filter reviews
53 results
Traveller rating
13
17
7
9
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
13
17
7
9
7
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 53 reviews
Reviewed 24 April 2019 via mobile

Lovely place to stay! Spacious warm the inside has been nicely modernised. A bloody comfortable bed! Large lounge and kitchen. I will definitely be back. Would highly recommend this as a place to stay

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Travelled solo
1  Thank Travellerben
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Yoan T, Owner at Anchor Motel & Timaru Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2019

Thank you for your great review, Travellerben, we're very happy you enjoyed your stay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2019

Very good location close to the main road. Bakery opposite. The supermarket is less than a kilometer away. Good laundry along with a drying room (thanks to the nice lady from the reception I did not have to pay extra). Very nice and helpful staff. My room with the bathroom was small, but in my opinion it was worth the price I paid.

Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Tomasz K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Yoan T, Owner at Anchor Motel & Timaru Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2019

Thank yo for your review Toamsz, it's great you enjoyed your stay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2018 via mobile

Older unit but cost feel with a comfortable bed and parking in front of some units. Across the road from coupland bakery and caroline bay within walking distance. Close to restaurants and supermarkets.

Date of stay: December 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Patrick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Yoan T, Owner at Anchor Motel & Timaru Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2019

Hi PatMacnz64, thanks for your review, we're glad you enjoyed your stay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2018

I didnt think I could find worse than Reavers Lodge in Queenstown but that was before I stayed at Anchor Motel in Timaru! This is the worse place I have ever stayed in! I couldnt sleep during my stay. The mattress is too old, you sink in it and it kills your back. The constant - day&night- noise from the cars and trucks on State Highway 1 makes you feel like you're sleepling on the street as the windows are very thin. The place is gross and looks like it's been abandoned. The floor are probably not cleaned because it is so sticky each step makes noise. In the building I was in there is only one shower and one toilet without soap to wash your hands. The kitchen lacks basics such as bowls, cups, teatowels, etc. The bedroom smelled like tobacco as the guy next door smokes in his bedroom and the corridor smells like a mix of alcohol and tobacco. The walls are so thin you hear the person and the tv next door. Some people are living here long term and don't care coming back at 1am without paying attention to other clients' sleep - using the microwave and speaking loudly even after I've closed the kitchen door, or holding conversations right in front of your doors. They don't know how to close a door but kept slamming them each time they go in or out. The safety is also a concern as they are open wires in the living room and it doesnt seem to have a fire alarm in the rooms or kitchen (a guy left his food to burn...). Finally I had only 250mb for the whole stay, which didn't even work properly and you have to pay if you want more.
This motel was not worth my money or anyone else's and the owner/management should be ashamed to run such a place!

Room tip: Find another place!
Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Reanalda
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Yoan T, Owner at Anchor Motel & Timaru Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2019

Hi Reanalda,
We're very sorry you disliked your stay so much. I'd like to point out that YOU DID NOT STAY AT THE ANCHOR MOTEL, YOU STAYED AT THE BACKPACKERS, and you paid backpacker prices, that's why you had to share kitchen bathroom and lounge with others (some long term residents as you say yourself).
It's a bit of shame you did not come and tell me about you not being happy with the Backpacker accommodation, I could have offered you a Motel room for an extra fee.
I hope the rest of your trip went well

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2018

On the main road through town this motel is also a backpackers, so can be a bit noisy, especially our room which was next to the laundry. The interior of the rooms are a bit rough in the way of finishing, but are very clean and comfortable. If you want a good cheap place to use as a base while exploring Timaru this is good. The staff are very friendly and if you want to cook there is as good a collection of pots and cutlery that I think I have even seen in a motel.

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Kathleen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews