We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 AM - 3:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
A Must-Do Experience in the South Island

What an incredible experience ! If you are interested in Maori culture, history, and art this is... read more

Reviewed 21 March 2021
HappyNZTraveller21
An experience not to be missed!

Te Ana is an incredible experience. Not just a museum, it is interactive, immersive, and you’ll get... read more

Reviewed 5 March 2021
wilderness99
,
Wellington, New Zealand
via mobile
Read all 85 reviews
  
Reviews (85)
Filter reviews
85 results
Traveller rating
62
20
3
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
62
20
3
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews maori culture tahu guided tour south island new zealand an incredible experience wealth of knowledge small museum wes oamaru drawing displays visitors dam heritage cave insight
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
72 - 77 of 85 reviews
Reviewed 18 April 2013

We wanted to learn about the Maoris without going to Rotoroa. After reading about this new museum in Timaru we decided to book a hotel there and see the museum as well as the town. Turned out to be an excellent choice. Our guide, a you g man with dredlocks could not have been better. we were luckly that we were the only people rhatday and he gave us his u divided attention.
The charge for entering was $20. Per person. We agreed that it was well worth it. If you are i terested n real history, not just dancing go to this museum. It gives a person a real understanding of the art, religion, story of the westerners and Maori interaction. also hacing a fuide to answer our questions made it perfect. Make an effort to go to Ti aru Architectually, this town rocks! Refurbished buildings from the 1920's are beautiful.

Date of experience: April 2013
Thank Annallen_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2013 via mobile

Ourguide was a chap called Carl. He was a Maori and was passionate about his people and culture.

One part of the displays was about Mt Cook, that we had literally just come from. Hearing about the legends and how the Maori perceive the mountain was fascinating.

Definitely worth going to see especially if you are prepared to listen to the guide

1  Thank Alison D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2012

The Rock Art Centre is a unique experience that is special to this region. Everyone should visit and learn a bit more about local history. I recently took a group of visitors through and they all learnt a great deal. The centre is very well set out with multimedia displays and unique artefacts and displays. The guided tour is highly recommended.

Date of experience: May 2012
Thank fsplk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2012

For both locals and visitors this is a rare opportunity to see first had Maori Rock Art in New Zealand. The displays of rock art from around the area are complemented with excellent videos, and interactive audio visuals. There is a very helpful guide too who imparts much insight into the local history. We spent a whole morning at this fascinating exhibition.

Date of experience: January 2012
1  Thank irishkiwi_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2011

Get to understand deeper about the Maori culture & having the first hand look at the rock carving which wont be found anywhere in New Zealand.

Date of experience: October 2011
1  Thank Nicole M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews