We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 AM - 3:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
for lovers of culture, art and history this place is more than a place to go, it is a must visite.

I love learning more about the most diverse cultures. Te Ana provides a moment of interaction... read more

Reviewed 15 September 2018
Caroline G
via mobile
Rock art rocks!

I've been here many times and this really is a must see for all visitors to Timaru. We have a... read more

Reviewed 23 August 2018
Passport680803
Read all 71 reviews
  
Reviews (71)
Filter reviews
71 results
Traveller rating
50
18
3
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
50
18
3
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tahu nz history new zealand three hours local caves wes oamaru culture stories guide information visitors museum ancestors introduction heritage rocks
Filter
Updating list...
64 - 69 of 71 reviews
Reviewed 1 May 2011

Te Ana Rock Art Centre is not located at the main touristy route heading to Mount Cook. It's worth stopping by to the Centre if you want to know more about Maori culture particularly Ngai Tahu tribe. Whilst the Rock Art Centre may not be imbedded with the latest interactive & entertainment technology, it has knowledgeable and enthusiastic staff that gives people an intimate Q&A sessions. I like the fact that the Rock Art Centre isn't choked with tourists and that I could stroll around the displays at an easy pace. I particularly loved the stories told by Susie, the local guide of things that the tribe is doing now to help other native people in the world. I didn't know until today that Red Indians from the States was here in the 19th century and they're the ones who introduced salmon to the local river. Ironically, the Indian tribe is now seeking for Ngai Tahu's assistance to re-introduce the spawns back to America because human's intervention in dam has eradicated its local population of salmon. For those of you that are inquisitive and wanting to know more about Ngai Tahu, this is an experience NOT to be missed.

Date of experience: May 2011
2  Thank Ping L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2011

We visited the brand new Te Ana Rock Art Centre in Timaru today. What a fantastic, comprehensive and stylish place! It's located by the old railway station in the center of town in the old Landing Services Building and has been put together by local Ngai Tahu.

The South Canterbury region of New Zealand has many examples of indigenous art in the limestone caves surrounding the Timaru area. The Rock Art Centre brings together examples of this art, explaining why it came to be there, how it was created, what it means and how it's being preserved and viewed today. We ran out of time visiting the center and you could easily spend a couple of hours there if you looked at everything. There's a few interactive displays including a 'rubbing' section so you can create your own copies of the art, and a display that tells you more about the food and hunting methods of local people.

Perfect for a rainy day! The staff are very enthusiastic and eager to give you more information. Check the opening hours as they are dependent on the iSite visitor office in the same building.

2  Thank MhairiT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2018 via mobile
Google Translation

Date of experience: February 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Date of experience: November 2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda S, Manager at Te Ana Maori Rock Art, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2016
Google Translation

Date of experience: February 2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews