We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
$125
Fully refundable before Thu, 2 May
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
BexNZ2015
Rustic but clean
4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 8 Oct 2022
Stayed here for 1 night. No road noise which was awesome since being on such a main road. The room itself was dated but clean in fact the sparkliest stainless steel bench top and shower I have ever seen and all original still! Enjoyable to stay here especially if you are looking to relive some old school vibes.
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
$201
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $201
  • Vio.com
    $180
  • Hotels.com
    $194
0.4 km from Blue Dolphin Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$94
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $94
  • eDreams
    $94
  • Agoda.com
0.9 km from Blue Dolphin Motel
Free parking
Lovely big studio room
Booking.com
$166
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
  • Expedia.com
    $166
0.4 km from Blue Dolphin Motel
Free parking
The VERY comfy bed.
Booking.com
$184
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $184
  • Hotels.com
    $156
  • Expedia.com
    $160
2.3 km from Blue Dolphin Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Reception
Booking.com
$160
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    $160
  • Agoda.com
    $133
  • Expedia.com
    $134
1.4 km from Blue Dolphin Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$213
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $213
  • Official Site
    $190
  • Hotels.com
    $192
2.1 km from Blue Dolphin Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$211
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    $207
  • Hotels.com
    $207
  • Priceline
    $211
2.8 km from Blue Dolphin Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Hotel exterior
Booking.com
$159
Fully refundable
  • Tripadvisor
    $159
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.2 km from Blue Dolphin Motel
Free parking
Restaurant
Property and Gardens
Booking.com
$262
  • eDreams
  • Hotels.com
    $259
  • Expedia.com
    $262
2.8 km from Blue Dolphin Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    $91
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
3.4 km from Blue Dolphin Motel
Free parking
View more hotels in Timaru
Reviews (69)
Filter reviews
69 results
Traveller rating
18
20
15
6
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
18
20
15
6
10
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 69 reviews
Reviewed 1 September 2022

We spent a night here recently while travelling the South Island.
The motel is right on a main highway and we expected a bit of noise, but the back units were too bad at all, and with the bedroom being at the back of the unit, the noise was minimal to none.
Very dated units, The unit we had was very spacious and had that we needed. Some carpet wear that was quite obvious in the entry way, that perhaps could be covered up or carpet replaced.
Bed was comfortable and of a good size. Bathroom set up a little odd, shower and toilet in one room, but the vanity was in the bedroom.
Well set up kitchen with all that would be need if staying a little longer. Along with a good sized kitchen table.

Date of stay: August 2022
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Strickes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 8 July 2022 via mobile

A blast from the past a motel with a rustic 60s look and feel.
Not even the glasses matched.
A fan heater on wall in living room.
I would recomend you someplace else
We will not be back
The good point was how close it is to the centre of town.
Also close to restaurants.

Room tip: Book some place else
Date of stay: July 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank David1952_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 26 June 2022

Very clean and affordable accommodation. We would stay again. Yes it is a bit dated but we are not complaining at all. You get what you pay for and most importantly it was very clean everywhere and comfortable. Thank you

Date of stay: June 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank angelanN3680UR
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 30 April 2022 via mobile

The motel smelled really musty when you walked in, couldn't open windows in front rooms as had funny double glazing covering them. Right on main highway with lot of traffic noise. The bathroom was very small a short person would have trouble reaching the shower over the bath. Had to get in bath to turn it on.

Room tip: Good off street parking
Date of stay: April 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Seaside67466040974
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 29 December 2020 via mobile

The motel units are very clean. Bed was a bit soft for me and shower pressure quite low but it is a very reasonable price for 4 ppl. Very honest motel owners too who run me straight away when I left my kindle behind so we could come straight back and get it.

Date of stay: December 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank 608tinat
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews