We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
$125
Fully refundable before Thu, 6 Jun
Priceline
$125
Fully refundable before Thu, 6 Jun
No prepayment needed
Go to your Happy Price
Expedia.com
$140
Fully refundable before Fri, 7 Jun
No prepayment needed
Get rewarded with One Key
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Tina T
Maramarua, New Zealand

Good value for money

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 29 Dec 2020via mobile
The motel units are very clean. Bed was a bit soft for me and shower pressure quite low but it is a very reasonable price for 4 ppl. Very honest motel owners too who run me straight away when I left my kindle behind so we could come straight back and get it.
Date of stay: December 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
$201
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $201
  • Agoda.com
    $180
  • Expedia.com
    $201
0.4 km from Blue Dolphin Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$94
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $94
  • eDreams
    $94
  • ZenHotels.com
0.9 km from Blue Dolphin Motel
Free parking
Booking.com
$178
  • Priceline
    $178
  • Hotels.com
    $175
  • Expedia.com
    $178
0.3 km from Blue Dolphin Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$184
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $184
  • Hotels.com
    $170
  • Expedia.com
    $173
2.3 km from Blue Dolphin Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Executive Studio Spa
Booking.com
$226
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $226
  • Official Site
    $202
  • Hotels.com
    $222
2.1 km from Blue Dolphin Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Conference Room
Booking.com
$149
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $149
  • ZenHotels.com
    $135
  • Expedia.com
    $149
0.2 km from Blue Dolphin Motel
Free parking
Restaurant
Lovely big studio room
Booking.com
$150
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $150
  • Agoda.com
    $141
  • Hotels.com
    $147
0.4 km from Blue Dolphin Motel
Free parking
Reception
Booking.com
$160
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    $160
  • Expedia.com
    $131
  • Hotels.com
    $134
1.4 km from Blue Dolphin Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Property and Gardens
Booking.com
$202
  • Hotels.com
    $220
  • Expedia.com
    $202
  • Priceline
    $202
2.8 km from Blue Dolphin Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$86
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    $86
  • Vio.com
    $86
  • eDreams
    $86
3.4 km from Blue Dolphin Motel
Free parking
View more hotels in Timaru
Reviews (69)
Filter reviews
69 results
Traveller rating
18
20
15
6
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
18
20
15
6
10
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 69 reviews
Reviewed 15 December 2020

WE were booked for one night here, at Blue Dolphin Motel, but never stayed ....... my two main complaints were the internet was not accessible at all & kitchen carpet was anything but clean & also a mark on the bedroom carpet.

Geoff response by Email "The mark on the carpet in the bedroom was there when we arrived in these motels eight years ago,
and even though we got a professional cleaner in to try and remove it when we first saw it, he failed to do
so, explaining that it was like a plastic substance that had embedded itself into the carpet and won’t be
removed, ever!
As it is only about the size of two 50 cent pieces, and not in any guests way what so ever, I can categorically say that, like most Moteliers, we are not in the habit of ripping up a whole bedroom worth of carpet just to get rid of the likes of that mark!
The same goes for the general condition of the carpet in the kitchen. Spot cleaning is carried out every time a large sports group visits us like on the week end just gone, and the shampooing and drying of carpet can not be completed in just a day or two!.............DIRTY CARPET IS UNACCEPTABLE TO ME.

THE STATEMENT BELOW IS A JOKE !!!! MADE BY GEOFF IN HIS EMAIL TO ME !!!
That unit has been used by ‘hundreds of guests in the time we have been here, and you are the first to make a complaint.
However, we do have people from time to time that we just can’t please. Sorry you are one of them.

It might be a good idea that he checks ALL of his reviews, some glowing but definitely there are  a number of negative reviews.

We spent 3 weeks in the South Island, Blue Dolphin Motel was the ONLY disappointment we had with our accommodation.
The  7 other motels we stayed at over those 3 weeks were superb in every way, CLEAN & INTERNET, no problems at all.

Even though we were at the unit a short time Geoff insists on NO REFUND !!!!"
His reasons "
"As you have used the unit,(We used 2 sachets of sugar and 1 of coffee and a bit of milk) we are not able to have guests in that room till we clean it tomorrow and so for the reasons explained about,( I don't recall any explanation) we feel that, and after discussing this situation with another motel owner, the refunding, any money to you is not warranted"
Pretty pathetic reply & reason really, I'm seeking advice in regards to this matter !!
Bad news travels fast !!!!!!!!!

Date of stay: October 2020
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steph R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 1 November 2020

A motel that has seen better days and seriously needs updating. The bed was lump and saggy and had a serious lean to one side so that you almost fell out of the bed. Rest of the decor etc wasn't that much better. It was like someone had brought everything at a cheap garage sale.

Only thing that was good as that it was close to supermarket and take out places. But other than than it's a big pass from us. Definitely wouldn't recommend

Date of stay: October 2020
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank 881pennyh
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 20 July 2020 via mobile

We stayed at the Blue Dolphin Motel for a night to get out of our camper van. The 2 bedroom apartment was super clean and inviting. The hosts Dianne and Geoff were fabulous hosts and were very accomodating and friendly! Would most definitely stay again! 10/10 very reasonable price too!

Date of stay: July 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank 395kelliw
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 22 May 2020 via mobile

A blast from the past a motel with a rustic 60s look and feel.
Not even the glasses matched.
A fan heater on wall in living room.
The good point was how close it is to the centre of town.
Also close to restaurants.

Date of stay: May 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank David1952_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 24 May 2019

Not the newest motel (among many along this strip of highway) but reasonably comfortable. The hosts were extremely nice and very helpful. The 2 bedroom apartment was quite adequate, the kitchen was well equipped and heating was adequate. Our main complaint was that - despite double glazing windows- there was still a fair amount of street noise in the front bedroom. If we were to stay there again would request a unit not fronting the highway.

Date of stay: May 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank DonandKathy51
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Curiosity62985384818, Owner at Blue Dolphin Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2019

Hello Don and Kathy. Thank you for your comments as regards your stay here at the Blue Dolphin, and we would like to apologize for the noise aspect of your stay in Timaru. In one respect, it is unfortunate that we are on the main road for the noise factor, but any exposure to the flowing traffic, and for convenience of location to most of what Timaru has to offer, makes it almost a must for the capture of guests and their bookings. The Blue Dolphin Motel, or at least the front block of motels, as we understand it, are the oldest in Timaru, and it has always bugged us that the units are dated. We try to keep them clean, fresh and comfortable, a 'home away from home'. But as we are only the 'lease holders' of the complex, our hands are somewhat tied as to costly improvements that no doubt could be made to enhance the overall experience for our guests. So we apologize again for that and if we have the pleasure of hosting you again, we will happily accommodate you in our updated 'younger block' of motels at the back of the Blue Dolphin Motel complex.Thank you again, have a great year and safe travelling. Warm regards, Geoff and Dianne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews