We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Aaron Zschau
Kenmore, Washington

Clean, old and loud

3.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 25 Mar 2019
The room was clean but a bit musty smelling due to the fact that there was no real cross-ventilation for the unit. Very dated decor. Couldn't open the windows on the street side due to the double glazing which was much needed for the noisy street. Otherwise the room was ok, the management friendly and we didn't have any real problems. Probably bottom of the list for motels that we stayed at while visiting the South Island though.
Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Curiosity62985384818, Manager at Blue Dolphin Motel, responded to this review
Responded 16 Sept 2019
Thank you for your comments. We appreciate your view about the ventilation, however, the double glazing
provided, does allow for sliding to the side so you can open the windows for air flow, also you can use the fan option on our heaters, to move air around he rooms. We do ask guests to please tell us at the time, if there is anything we can do to make their stay more pleasant. If it is within our capabilities we will ablige. The Motel is outdated, but we are very limited as to what we can do to improve that, but people generally like the home away from home feel!
We sincerely hope you enjoyed your holiday on the whole and you returned home safe and sound.
Take care, kind regards, Geoff and Dianne
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
$201
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $201
  • Agoda.com
    $175
  • Expedia.com
    $198
0.4 km from Blue Dolphin Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
$94
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $93
  • ZenHotels.com
  • Agoda.com
0.9 km from Blue Dolphin Motel
Free parking
The VERY comfy bed.
$184
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $184
  • Expedia.com
    $156
  • StayForLong
2.3 km from Blue Dolphin Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
$181
  • Priceline
    $181
  • Expedia.com
    $169
  • Hotels.com
    $181
0.3 km from Blue Dolphin Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
view from my room
$185
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $177
  • Agoda.com
    $168
0.3 km from Blue Dolphin Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
$211
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    $201
  • Priceline
    $211
  • Hotels.com
    $211
2.8 km from Blue Dolphin Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Reception
$160
No prepayment needed
  • StayForLong
  • Agoda.com
    $123
  • Priceline
    $160
1.4 km from Blue Dolphin Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
$206
  • Expedia.com
    $225
  • Hotels.com
    $206
  • Priceline
    $206
2.8 km from Blue Dolphin Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
The view from the lounge room window.
$110
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $105
  • Agoda.com
    $96
0.1 km from Blue Dolphin Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
$86
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    $86
  • Vio.com
    $86
  • Expedia.com
3.4 km from Blue Dolphin Motel
Free parking
View more hotels in Timaru
Reviews (69)
Filter reviews
69 results
Traveller rating
18
20
15
6
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
18
20
15
6
10
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 69 reviews
Reviewed 18 February 2019

Room was clean and tidy, Car parking close to the unit was a bonus. Bed was a little too soft for our liking but ok for 1 night. The owners were friendly and helpful. The location was very convenient, close to shops and restaurants

Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stevemarie2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Curiosity62985384818, Manager at Blue Dolphin Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2019

Thank you for your helpful comments. We do try to keep up our concentration on our guest comfort and
convenience to make your stay as pleasant as possible.
Hope the rest of your holiday went extremely well and was safely travelled Have a great year..
Kind regards,
Geoff and Dianne,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2019 via mobile

Great little motel with easy access, easy to find, parking adjacent to unit. Unit was clean and tidy and all services working well. Staff were great and the cat was friendly.
The only negative was the ice tray in the fridge was empty so ice for a G&T, a common problem with motels.

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank rodkpage
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Curiosity62985384818, Owner at Blue Dolphin Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2019

Hello past guests. thank you very much for your kindly comments. We know that happy, comfortable,
contented guests is our main focus, while always being aware that small improvements can make a difference at times. With regards to the ice cubes, we have it mentioned in our compendiums, that we, in the first instance, are happy to supply our guests with ice when requested. But what we generally suggest to guests who are keen to make use of ice in their drinks, is that they will immediately fill their tray with water to make their ice cubes for later, but come to us initially for their 'first drink' :-). You see, if we were to leave ice in the trays in the ice box for any length of time without being used, they rather quickly 'frost up' the ice box, and create problems for the other items freezing up in the fridge! So if we indeed have the pleasure of hosting you again, please book us 'direct' by making use of our 0800 number and remind us that you would definitely appreciate some ready made ice for your G&T's. Your wish would be our pleasure. Thank you again, take care, have a great year and safe travelling. Warm regards, Geoff and Dianne and wee Piko :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2019 via mobile

Loved our stay so much. The owner was very friendly and welcoming providing us with detailed information about the locality of things in the area and gave us a detailed map. He mentioned how beautiful Caroline Bay was and he was not wrong. The room itself was clean and comfortable but the furniture was a little outdated. The bed was very comfortable and we both had a fantastic night sleep. Kitchen was useful with a good sized fridge and all the utensils were provided. Circulation of air however was an issue as there was no fan and only a heater provided. Internet was capped at 1GB but that was plenty for the two of us for the one night and it was reliable. Parking was free however was awkward at times. Would stay here again if we pass through Timaru.

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 942aimeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Curiosity62985384818, Manager at Blue Dolphin Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2019

Thank you Aimee for your kind and thoughtful comments. It is very easy to cater and look after guests such as yourselves.You must take some of the credit for making our job of making your stay as pleasant.as possible.
The heater does have a cooling fan as part of its function, and we are able to supply more Wifi as requested.
we apologise for any inconvenience as regards the parking, and we try to manage that as best we can considering the time of year when we are most often full.
We hope your whole holiday was a success and you had safe travelling.
Thank you again for your patronage and we would look forward to hosting you again given the opportunity.
Have a great year, Kindest regards, Geoff and Dianne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2018 via mobile

Yes, it’s a reasonable rate, but what you get is just ‘reasonable’. Old motel, old units (I wouldn’t be surprised to find the fuses in the fuse box on my bedroom wall were nails), old furniture, old everything.

It’s clean, though, so the owners are working with what they have. What they’re not doing is investing in modern creature comforts. Mattress was cheap and soggy, and the room heater struggled to warm the space of my 1 bed unit on a cold night.

The noise, though. Even from a back unit you hear the street (it’s on the main highway), as there’s no double glazing. No internal insulation either, as you live your neighbour’s life vicariously, with the random water pipe noises being a bonus.

It’s cheap, though, so as long as you have your eyes open this place might suit. It is not a high end establishment though, and I don’t think it’s a tourist motel if you have a good holiday budget.

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Travelled on business
1  Thank exile66
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 1 September 2018

These motels are well maintained, clean tidy and comfortable. Close to the CBD. Reasonably priced. The owners always make you feel welcome. We have stayed in these units several times over the past few years and always find them a great place to stay. Within 10 minutes walk from the seaside and attractive boardwalks.

Date of stay: August 2018
Thank Denis W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Curiosity62985384818, Manager at Blue Dolphin Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2019

Hello Denis, hope your day is going well and that you and your family are in great health. Thank you very much for your kind and welcome comments as regards your much appreciated stay with us here at the Blue Dolphin Motel here in Timaru last year. It is always great to see you and we are glad that we live in a city that you enjoy coming to visit.
We trust you are having a good year and we wish you all, the best for the coming Xmas and new year ahead.
Take care, safe travelling where ever you go.
Warm regards,
Geoff and Dianne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews