We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
$190
Fully refundable before Thu, 25 Apr
Agoda.com
$170
Fully refundable before Sat, 27 Apr
Multiple ways to pay
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (78)
Filter reviews
78 results
Traveller rating
11
22
27
10
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
11
22
27
10
8
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 78 reviews
Reviewed 19 May 2023 via mobile

The manager was friendly, helpful and efficient. The motor lodge was next to the State Highway 1 and easy to find. The room was well appointed with tea/ coffee making facilities, microwave, fridge and 2 ring cooker. it was warm and comfortable, and spotlessly clean. The shower had a good jet on it. Loved the towel origami on the bed ( first we have had in New Zealand!). It fully served it's purpose for the one night that we were there.
Disliked · The room we were allocated did not have a sea view as was suggested when booking and seeing the photos. It was on the ground floor overlooking the car park. Our room was the furtherest from the highway approx 100m away. sadly it did not have double glazing so we could hear the vehicular traffic all night, particularly large trucks climbing up the hill. (We should have worn ear plugs) The walls are thin and we could hear the people next door and the people above going to the toilet and walking around in their room. Could have done with some USB charging plugs for mobile phones etc.

Al’s top tips
Not all rooms have a sea view, check when booking to avoid disappointment. Take ear plugs as the traffic noise from trucks will keep you awake. Restaurant Bennys Again nearby does great meals.

Date of stay: May 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Al-Shumba
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 10 April 2023

To start with Ray & Debbie were superb, couldnt do enough for me. Noble hounds visiting me and saying hello as well!
Had an ocean view room, roomy, all mod cons, so so neat and tidy.
Had same breakfast here I had at Novetel Auckland airport and Debbies brekkie left them for dead!
Looking at going back to ride around NZ next summer and if I do, will most definitely stay here again

Date of stay: February 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank allan s
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 9 July 2022

Excellent stay. Absolutely lovely owners who were incredibly helpful and check in was incredibly easy. Stayed in room 14 with which has an excellent view. Room was clean, warm and comfortable. Ordered breakfast in our room which was a lovely service and well priced. Parking is very tight but Motor Lodge is well situated.

Date of stay: July 2022
Thank Aunty126
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 24 October 2020

Another pleasant stay, this time in an upstairs room with a view of Caroline Bay, the train track (below garden level), and across to the port (cranes, etc). On the main north/south road and you need to be ready for the turn-off if heading north (it is just after Waiiti Road) - if you go past KFC/Pak 'n Save you have gone too far and need to turn back! (These businesses are a 'heads up' if travelling south). Close to Caroline Bay (walk south and go under the train tracks), and to a variety of restaurants (and supermarkets). Parking is tight, but workable (if early you could back in).

Room tip: Choices! Rms close to the road = traffic noise; closer to the Bay = train noise (& better views). Std rms or whole house (Villa).
Date of stay: October 2020
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ezra710
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 31 March 2020

I had a Bayview suite. the view i of cranes and loading docks. the train track is 50meters from the patio. Fortunately there were only a few trains. The bed was comfortable and the shower had hot water. The room would have been marginally better than camping, except for the noise and view. I cannot recommend.

Date of stay: March 2020
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank waiake1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews