We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Booking.com
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
Agoda.com
Multiple ways to pay
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Aunty126
wanganui

Excellent stay

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 9 Jul 2022
Excellent stay. Absolutely lovely owners who were incredibly helpful and check in was incredibly easy. Stayed in room 14 with which has an excellent view. Room was clean, warm and comfortable. Ordered breakfast in our room which was a lovely service and well priced. Parking is very tight but Motor Lodge is well situated.
Date of stay: July 2022
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $211
  • Hotels.com
0.3 km from Baywatch Motor Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
  • Lol.travel
1.2 km from Baywatch Motor Lodge
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $172
  • Hotels.com
2.1 km from Baywatch Motor Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Executive Studio Spa
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Official Site
    $195
  • Hotels.com
1.9 km from Baywatch Motor Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $209
  • Hotels.com
2.6 km from Baywatch Motor Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Reception
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $135
  • Hotels.com
1.1 km from Baywatch Motor Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Lovely big studio room
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $149
  • Hotels.com
0.6 km from Baywatch Motor Lodge
Free parking
Hotel exterior
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $137
  • Hotels.com
0.1 km from Baywatch Motor Lodge
Free parking
Restaurant
Property and Gardens
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $200
  • Hotels.com
2.7 km from Baywatch Motor Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • eDreams
  • Lol.travel
  • Vio.com
4.9 km from Baywatch Motor Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Timaru
Reviews (78)
Filter reviews
78 results
Traveller rating
11
22
27
10
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
11
22
27
10
8
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 78 reviews
Reviewed 24 October 2020

Another pleasant stay, this time in an upstairs room with a view of Caroline Bay, the train track (below garden level), and across to the port (cranes, etc). On the main north/south road and you need to be ready for the turn-off if heading north (it is just after Waiiti Road) - if you go past KFC/Pak 'n Save you have gone too far and need to turn back! (These businesses are a 'heads up' if travelling south). Close to Caroline Bay (walk south and go under the train tracks), and to a variety of restaurants (and supermarkets). Parking is tight, but workable (if early you could back in).

Room tip: Choices! Rms close to the road = traffic noise; closer to the Bay = train noise (& better views). Std rms or whole house (Villa).
Date of stay: October 2020
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ezra710
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 31 March 2020

I had a Bayview suite. the view i of cranes and loading docks. the train track is 50meters from the patio. Fortunately there were only a few trains. The bed was comfortable and the shower had hot water. The room would have been marginally better than camping, except for the noise and view. I cannot recommend.

Date of stay: March 2020
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank waiake1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 10 March 2020 via mobile

This was only a one night stay so we were not too stressed about the noise. We were greeted by the pleasant reception lady who let us check the room prior to paying so we were comfortable with our choice, the room was spacious and comfortable and met all our needs. We enquired about laundry and were pleasantly surprised to be able to use the facilities in house.
If ever we were in town again we would happily stay here.

Date of stay: March 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank WayneAP
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 5 February 2020 via mobile

We stayed there for couple days due to the location was close (walking distance) to the caroline bay. However, it was next to the busy highway with large trucks passed by. You could hear the noise at night.

We stayed at the 2/F and there was no air conditioning but only a fan. It was hot during the day. The daily wifi limit was only 2GB for two devices, and in many occasions you could not get connected. Then they would ask for NZD5 for getting additional access. The laundry was NZD8 for clean and dry and better to inform the front desk and pay in advance or they would chase you for that.

We found our stuff changed or moved every day after the housekeeping service, eg the kitchen wares were moved, the luggage was moved, stuff stored inside the luggage was found outside, the extra soaps we stored inside the drawer were taken away, etc. Very strange!

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank JeremyWan
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 8 December 2019 via mobile

We specifically asked about noise when we got there. The lady at reception said that all the motels are in the main road, with heavy traffic, so we booked a studio far from the road, with sea views. She didn't say a word about trains passing one metre from the window, night and day.

Date of stay: November 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 434beleng
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews