We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
$190
Fully refundable before Thu, 30 May
Priceline
$182
Fully refundable before Sat, 1 Jun
Go to your Happy Price
Agoda.com
$166
Fully refundable before Sat, 1 Jun
Multiple ways to pay
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
JeremyWan
Hong Kong, China

Average motel with strange housekeeping

3.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 5 Feb 2020via mobile
We stayed there for couple days due to the location was close (walking distance) to the caroline bay. However, it was next to the busy highway with large trucks passed by. You could hear the noise at night.

We stayed at the 2/F and there was no air conditioning but only a fan. It was hot during the day. The daily wifi limit was only 2GB for two devices, and in many occasions you could not get connected. Then they would ask for NZD5 for getting additional access. The laundry was NZD8 for clean and dry and better to inform the front desk and pay in advance or they would chase you for that.

We found our stuff changed or moved every day after the housekeeping service, eg the kitchen wares were moved, the luggage was moved, stuff stored inside the luggage was found outside, the extra soaps we stored inside the drawer were taken away, etc. Very strange!

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
$213
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    $213
  • Priceline
    $213
  • Expedia.com
    $213
0.3 km from Baywatch Motor Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$94
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $94
  • eDreams
    $94
  • ZenHotels.com
1.2 km from Baywatch Motor Lodge
Free parking
Booking.com
$178
  • Priceline
    $178
  • Hotels.com
    $175
  • Expedia.com
    $178
0.1 km from Baywatch Motor Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Conference Room
Booking.com
$149
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $149
  • ZenHotels.com
    $134
  • Hotels.com
    $149
0.1 km from Baywatch Motor Lodge
Free parking
Restaurant
Booking.com
$184
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $184
  • Hotels.com
    $170
  • Expedia.com
    $173
2.1 km from Baywatch Motor Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Executive Studio Spa
Booking.com
$218
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    $215
  • Official Site
    $195
  • Expedia.com
    $218
1.9 km from Baywatch Motor Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Reception
Booking.com
$160
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    $160
  • Agoda.com
    $128
  • Expedia.com
    $136
1.1 km from Baywatch Motor Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$131
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $131
  • Hotels.com
    $139
  • Expedia.com
    $139
0.3 km from Baywatch Motor Lodge
Free parking
Booking.com
$202
  • Expedia.com
    $202
  • Hotels.com
    $202
  • Priceline
    $202
2.7 km from Baywatch Motor Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$91
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    $91
  • Vio.com
    $91
  • Expedia.com
3.3 km from Baywatch Motor Lodge
Free parking
View more hotels in Timaru
Reviews (78)
Filter reviews
78 results
Traveller rating
11
22
27
10
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
11
22
27
10
8
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 78 reviews
Reviewed 8 December 2019 via mobile

We specifically asked about noise when we got there. The lady at reception said that all the motels are in the main road, with heavy traffic, so we booked a studio far from the road, with sea views. She didn't say a word about trains passing one metre from the window, night and day.

Date of stay: November 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 434beleng
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 27 September 2019 via mobile

I was happy with my room and not bothered by any traffic noise (just a swish when ht vehicles passed, and only heard one train, while outside). Maybe the downstairs room helped, but no view from there. Bed was comfortable and the unit clean. Friendly staff. Happy to return in the future and likely to do so. Parking is tight but not impossible. Entry is off the busy main road, so take care. East side of SH1, north of the CBD.

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank Ezra710
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 3 June 2019 via mobile

Great room serviced each day. With all things restocked. Comfortable bed in a quiet room. Price a bit steep for what it was but then it is a long weekend. Short walk into town to shops a food. Not bad for a first time overnighting in Timaru

Date of stay: June 2019
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank KennelKing
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 29 April 2019

We booked in for two nights but the owner misheard me and charged us for only one night. This meant our room was double booked for the second night. The daytime manager the next day, who we chatted to in the morning, knew we thought we were booked in for a second night. While we were in town over lunchtime, she realised our room was double booked but the owner insisted that she and the cleaners pack up all our belongings in the room themselves. We arrived back at our room to find all our belongings gone!!! We were humiliated and felt utterly violated. When I asked why she hadn’t called us it was because the owner forgot to get our phone number from us when we checked in.

For a motel owner to think that his/her staff have the right to handle a family’s personal belongings when he made the mistake of double booking them is absolutely objectionable and disgusting. I wonder what else he thinks he has the right to do?

Also, while the view from our room was pretty, if you look down you see a train track directly below the window. We had about three trains rattle past in the early hours, which woke us up. If you’re willing to overlook that strangers may handle all your personal effects, if you care about sleep don’t stay here.

Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vivienne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 3 March 2019

Our room was large and had a fabulous view. The location was pretty good beingclose to both the downtown and the park/beach. But the noise throughout the night from the road and the trains woke us many times during the night.

Room tip: If you want quiet not sure this is the place for you.
Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank seeitall19
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews