We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Booking.com
ZenHotels.com
$213
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
helenlB8095KX

Brilliant stay as always :)

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 10 Aug 2023
I love staying here - it's my go-to place to stay in Timaru. Always really friendly and super clean. I especially love how the heatpump is on in our room when we arrive late - very thoughtful and much appreciated :)
Date of stay: July 2023
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
1.3 km from Bay Viaduct Motor Lodge
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
1.9 km from Bay Viaduct Motor Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Hotel exterior
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $138
  • Hotels.com
0.3 km from Bay Viaduct Motor Lodge
Free parking
Restaurant
Reception
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $135
  • Hotels.com
1.0 km from Bay Viaduct Motor Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Executive Studio Spa
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • Official Site
    $195
  • Hotels.com
1.7 km from Bay Viaduct Motor Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Lovely big studio room
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $150
  • Hotels.com
0.8 km from Bay Viaduct Motor Lodge
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $207
  • Hotels.com
2.4 km from Bay Viaduct Motor Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Anchor Motel
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Official Site
    $151
  • Booking.com
0.5 km from Bay Viaduct Motor Lodge
Free parking
Property and Gardens
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $202
  • Hotels.com
2.4 km from Bay Viaduct Motor Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
$190
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    $190
  • Vio.com
1.9 km from Bay Viaduct Motor Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Timaru
Reviews (223)
Filter reviews
223 results
Traveller rating
168
42
12
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
168
42
12
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews motor lodge great location top floor stayed here central location within walking distance no hesitation in recommending spa bath spacious room wonderful hosts business trip home away from home the main road place to stay stayed longer south island new zealand
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 223 reviews
Reviewed 3 July 2023

AWESOME PLACE, CENTRAL TO EVERYTHING. STAFF AMAZING. CLEAN, TIDY, AND SPACIOUS.COMPORTABLE BEDS AND SEATING,BATHROOM SPACIOUS AND AWESOME SHOWER. PARKING EASY, KITCHEN FACITLY IN ROOM GREAT FOR WHAT NEEDED . WE WILL BE BACK

Date of stay: June 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Companion53594878706
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 27 May 2023

We have stayed at the Bay Viaduct Motor Lodge several times over the years and have always be very impressed with the quality and cleanliness of our room and the friendliness of the owners Carol and Noel Stafford.

We always book the same room. Our room has a lovely spa bath which is very relaxing after a day of travelling or exploring the local sights.

The kitchen is excellent for anyone wanting to cook a meal and the view from our room over looks the bay. The room is very warm and cosy on a cold day but in the summer it is lovely to sit out on the balcony enjoy a cold drink and watch the world go by.

Room tip: Make sure you book in advance for sure as they are always heavily booked.
Date of stay: May 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Journey30638407403
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 3 April 2023

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and wished that we could have stayed another night just to enjoy the cleanliness and comfort of the room, bed as well as the comfortable crisp white sheeting and pillows. The staff were so friendly and helpful, highlighting on the Timaru map all the restaurants and take-aways close by (there's a lot to choose from). We heard the train pass by when the door was open which added to the whole atmosphere but when the door was closed, you hardly heard the traffic. We will definitely stay at the Bay Viaduct Motor Lodge again. Thank you for making our stay so memorable.

Date of stay: February 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Cheryl K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 April 2023 via mobile

Stayed 1 night in a executive studio with view on my way back to Christchurch to fly home. Wish I could have stayed longer…. Friendly check-in, extremely clean and spacious room with view as advertised. I was given a small jug of milk for coffee when checking in which I thought was a nice touch compared to the small cups one normally finds. Easy walk to the bay and restaurants nearby along with a downtown area. Only drawbacks I could think of are noise from proximity to the motorway which may bother some but was not so excessive that it bothered me, and lack of a lift which again, may affect some. Would definitely return here as value for price paid was exceptional.

Date of stay: March 2023
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank Voyager51827688431
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 27 February 2023 via mobile

The hotel has free attached parking within walking distance to the sea and you can go visit the penguin nesting area.
We got a large room with a kitchenette and balcony, Everthing is clean and wall maintained and the owner is nice ana helpful.

Date of stay: February 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank amirg423
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews