We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
$213
Fully refundable before Thu, 30 May
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
Expedia.com
$213
Fully refundable before Fri, 31 May
Get rewarded with One Key
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Julie S
Brisbane, Australia

Gem in Timaru

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 8 Feb 2023
A friend and I were doing a 2 week road trip around the South Island, just finding accommodation when we arrived in a town. Bay Viaduct was one of our favourites. The lady on reception was ever so friendly and helpful. Our 2 bedroom unit was large and everything we could want was provided. Beds were super comfy and there was also a connecting door which would cater for a larger family.
Date of stay: February 2023
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
$178
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    $171
  • Expedia.com
    $178
0.2 km from Bay Viaduct Motor Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Hotel exterior
Booking.com
$149
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • ZenHotels.com
    $141
  • Expedia.com
    $149
0.3 km from Bay Viaduct Motor Lodge
Free parking
Restaurant
Booking.com
$94
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • ZenHotels.com
  • Lol.travel
1.3 km from Bay Viaduct Motor Lodge
Free parking
Reception
Booking.com
$160
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • Expedia.com
    $131
  • Hotels.com
    $134
1.0 km from Bay Viaduct Motor Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Lovely big studio room
Booking.com
$150
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    $147
  • Agoda.com
    $145
  • Expedia.com
    $150
0.8 km from Bay Viaduct Motor Lodge
Free parking
Executive Studio Spa
Booking.com
$218
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Official Site
    $195
  • Hotels.com
    $218
1.7 km from Bay Viaduct Motor Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$131
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Expedia.com
    $139
  • Hotels.com
    $139
0.4 km from Bay Viaduct Motor Lodge
Free parking
Property and Gardens
Booking.com
$202
  • Hotels.com
    $220
  • Expedia.com
    $202
  • Priceline
2.4 km from Bay Viaduct Motor Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$95
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
0.6 km from Bay Viaduct Motor Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$91
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • Vio.com
  • Expedia.com
3.1 km from Bay Viaduct Motor Lodge
Free parking
View more hotels in Timaru
Reviews (223)
Filter reviews
223 results
Traveller rating
168
42
12
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
168
42
12
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews motor lodge great location top floor stayed here central location within walking distance no hesitation in recommending spa bath spacious room wonderful hosts business trip home away from home the main road place to stay stayed longer south island new zealand
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 223 reviews
Reviewed 20 January 2023 via mobile

My late husband and I have been coming here since 1999/2000 every 2 years until the pandemic. This is my first solo holiday. This Motel is the best my husband John and I ever stayed in while in New Zealand. It has got better and better and I wish I could stay here for ever! The units are ultra cleaned by the owners and a team of lovely ladies who are experts at hygienic methods. I feel so safe and welcome. The owners Carol and Noel go out of their way to make sure their guests are looked after. Even after 22 years of travelling various Countries and top hotels, this always feels like home. Thank you Bay Viaduct

Date of stay: January 2023
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank 411valeriet
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 17 January 2023

Home away from home - spacious, clean and great location. I stayed with 3 primary aged children and it was great to have a bit of space for everyone. Beds were really comfortable and kids made the most of the spa bath. We were attending a sports event and it was amazing having such a nice place to come back to after really busy days.

Date of stay: January 2023
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank 3happyblenheimkids
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 16 January 2023

Bay Viaduct in Timaru was the perfect place to stay for our family of 5. Absolutely faultless. Central location. Spacious, stylish and impeccably clean rooms with well equipped kitchens. Receptionist was organised, informative, helpful, warm, welcoming and very friendly. Housekeeping is top notch. We had a dream stay. Thanks so much.

Date of stay: January 2023
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Sunshine21584825861
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 15 January 2023

Our favourite motel in Timaru. We just love the location- beautiful Caroline Bay is just across the road. The views of the bay are so lovely. Staff are friendly and helpful. The rooms are always so clean and well resourced. We stay here often and have experienced three different types of rooms and found all of them great. Plenty of easy car parking and lots of restaurants and the main shops are within 5 mins away. We certainly enjoyed visiting the Caroline Bay Festival each day and watching the New Years Eve fireworks was a real bonus- from our motel room! Thanks heaps. See you again soon.

Date of stay: January 2023
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank lyndap15
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 5 January 2023

The Bay Viaduct is always our favourite place to stay every New Year. It is just a couple of minutes walk from the Caroline Bay Carnival and a good choice of restaurants. Sitting on our private balcony, seeing in the New Year while watching the spectacular fireworks display with a bottle of bubbly. Just perfect.

Date of stay: November 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank CathieP66
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews