We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Booking.com
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
Agoda.com
Multiple ways to pay
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Ken W
Wellington, United Kingdom
Outstanding B&B
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 10 Mar 2020via mobile
Our second visit to this superb establishment did not disappoint. Clare and Lindsay are excellent hosts and provide an outstanding experience. Nothing is too much trouble the rooms are excellent and the breakfasts are sufficient for a full day without further nourishment. This is the gold standard.
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.2 km from Nelson Heights Bed & Breakfast
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
1.3 km from Nelson Heights Bed & Breakfast
Free parking
The VERY comfy bed.
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
1.8 km from Nelson Heights Bed & Breakfast
Free Wifi
Free parking
Reception
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $175
  • Hotels.com
1.0 km from Nelson Heights Bed & Breakfast
Free Wifi
Free parking
Lovely big studio room
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $172
  • Hotels.com
0.9 km from Nelson Heights Bed & Breakfast
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • Official Site
    $190
  • Priceline
1.6 km from Nelson Heights Bed & Breakfast
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • eDreams
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
1.5 km from Nelson Heights Bed & Breakfast
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
2.3 km from Nelson Heights Bed & Breakfast
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • eDreams
  • Lol.travel
  • Vio.com
4.6 km from Nelson Heights Bed & Breakfast
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $200
  • Lol.travel
1.8 km from Nelson Heights Bed & Breakfast
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Timaru
Reviews (18)
Filter reviews
18 results
Traveller rating
18
0
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
18
0
0
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 18 reviews
Reviewed 29 February 2020

We had a lovely one night stay on our way to Dunedin. The room we had was very nice and had chocolates! It was a very hot day and we had travelled from Blenheim, Clare greeted us with a jug of cold chilled wated, just what we needed. The lounge was lovely to use and bed super comfy. We came as strangers and left as friends, fits this B&B. Hope we will stay again, on our next trip south.

Date of stay: February 2020
Thank MrsBB14
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 23 November 2019

Two mature couples touring the South Island and we fell over this place in a search for accommodation before reaching Christchurch. Fantastic! Lovely place, great hosts, and every possible luxury we could think of. Chocolates, toffees, large comfortable beds and warm, very spacious personal bathrooms. We even shared some bottles of wine with Claire and Lindsay after we returned from our dinner, which was only a short walk away. Nothing was too much trouble for our hosts and the best was to come with a sumptuous and tasty breakfast - and the price was right too. This is a MUST for travellers - and a good example of how it should be done - we really hope to be back.

Room tip: All rooms are great.
Date of stay: November 2019
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trevor J
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 11 April 2019 via mobile

What a shame we could only spend one night here, when I planned our itinerary I had no idea it would be such a lovely place to stay and unwind. From the first communication with Clare until we left she was helpful, booking our table at The Oxford and giving us the best walking route there. At breakfast we thoroughly enjoyed our conversation with another couple staying there as well as Clare and Lindsey, so interesting that we left a bit later than we had planned although it turned out not to be an issue. The room was comfortable with everything we needed and little extras. Couldn’t recommend it highly enough. From what we saw Timaru was a lovely little town and our walk was very pleasant.

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank GardeningFanatic
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 9 April 2019

Clare made us very welcome and we had a lovely room with French windows and a small patio. The room was furnished and decorated to a high standard and was very quiet so we slept well. There are tea and coffee facilities and a cookie jar in the guest lounge which is also very comfortable. Clare cooked us breakfast to order the the next day which was delicious, and sat and chatted to us and another guest - more like staying with an old friend than in a B&B! The location is 15min walk into town although there are some bar and restaurant options nearer than that. Our only regret was that we only stayed for one night. Highly recommended.

Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MikeAtsill
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 5 February 2019

One night was not enough to fully appreciate this home. We only met Claire, but she was everything that a hostess should be. Nothing was too much trouble and she was genuinely interested in us. The rooms were very comfortable and beautifully appointed.
The breakfast was fresh and extensive.

Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews