We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
$191
Fully refundable before Thu, 23 May
No prepayment needed
Booking.com
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
J_M30a
Christchurch, New Zealand

The best view in town - no contest

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 13 Sept 2021
Being on Bay Hill, this is a top location in Timaru with views right across Caroline Bay. There are 3 good restaurants within 100m, on-site parking and easy access. The unit we had had a good layout with a separate bedroom and was adequately set up for 2 people. We would thoroughly recommend this as a top place to stay in Timaru.
Date of stay: September 2021
Room Tip: We had room 1 and this has a deck over the street so you can see all that's happening.
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mary Langton, Owner at Panorama Motor Lodge, responded to this review
Responded 15 Sept 2021
We are delighted to hear you are enjoying our lovely motel. Thank you for your review and we hope to see you again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Hotel exterior
Tripadvisor
$169
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
0.4 km from Panorama Motor Lodge
Free parking
Restaurant
Reception
Tripadvisor
$137
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
0.7 km from Panorama Motor Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
$196
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
2.3 km from Panorama Motor Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
$139
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    $139
0.7 km from Panorama Motor Lodge
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    $201
  • Priceline
0.2 km from Panorama Motor Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    $178
  • Priceline
0.3 km from Panorama Motor Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Official Site
    $155
  • Expedia.com
    $162
1.7 km from Panorama Motor Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Executive Studio Spa
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Official Site
    $190
  • Expedia.com
    $198
1.5 km from Panorama Motor Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Lovely big studio room
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    $152
  • Priceline
1.0 km from Panorama Motor Lodge
Free parking
Property and Gardens
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    $208
  • Priceline
2.3 km from Panorama Motor Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Timaru
Reviews (90)
Filter reviews
90 results
Traveller rating
32
31
12
10
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
32
31
12
10
5
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 90 reviews
Reviewed 13 August 2020

This is a very cosy, well equipped, very quiet, renovated, accommodation provider.
It has a great central location, the staff are lovely and smilingly helpful.
The cost reflected the amenities very fairly.
Naomi and I enjoyed the hospitality offered and will return.

Date of stay: August 2020
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Whu Me A
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 22 March 2020 via mobile

Stayed last night and yuck!
I specifically asked for a sea view. Yes I could see the sea, but the people on the deck up a floor in front of me could see right into our lounge.
There were 3 people out on the deck almost constantly smoking YUCK. I didn't enjoy having their smoke invade my room.
The bed is hard. Linen clean.
Shower is DISGUSTING photo attached. The sink looked like someone shaved in it and haven't washed it. On closer inspection it was grime in lines of the old sink. A bit of chemco goes along way people!
We had people above us. I dont know if they were having a swingers party up there but all you could head all night was bang bang bang and chairs sliding on the floor.
Not to mention you can hear everyone around you. No insulation to help sound travel. Stairs outside the kitchen ensures every person can look directly into the full room.
Nothing on windows to try and give you privacy except curtains and then goodbye light or views.
The stairs are of a material you can hear every single step on them.
The inconsiderate drunk people screeching was the best part.

Date of stay: March 2020
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Ongeliqu
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mary Langton, Owner at Panorama Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2020

Hi there,
I'm sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us. We are available at all times by phone for our guests if they have problems and only wish you had contacted us directly so we could have resolved these problems.
Our cleaning staff are excellent at their job and we pride ourselves on our guest reviews. We have been renovating our units in stages and will continue to do so until all units have been completed.
Could you please provide your details so we can look into the above review and make changes were necessary.
Regards
Mary

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2020

We stopped overnight in Timaru and chose the Panorma Motor Lodge, I have to say I am pleased we did. We stayed in a 1 bed roomed apartment that was beautifully laid out with lounging area, dining table and chairs and a spacious bathroom (shower only). There are laundry facilities for the additional cost of $5 NZD including free washing powder if needed, milk is supplied to start the weary traveller off and close by are a choice of restaurants.

We were pleasantly surprised how lovely the area and accomodation were we wished we had booked to stay longer.

Date of stay: February 2020
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank susan g
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mary Langton, Owner at Panorama Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2020

Hi Susan,
Thank you for your comments and we are delighted you enjoyed your stay. We would be happy to accommodate you again
Thanks
Mary

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2019 via mobile

This motel is on the main road but was pretty quiet overnight. There was a truck parked outside that started up around 6am that was noisy and it looks like it always parks there.
Room was ok. A little tired. You can smoke outside on the patio so unfortunately the room had a smoky smell. The spa bath was very nice and great selection of TV channels. Bed was comfortable. Bathroom could’ve been cleaner.
Generally a good place to stay. Close to town centre and restaurants.

Date of stay: November 2019
Trip type: Travelled on business
1  Thank Adriandcass
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 11 October 2019

Stayed here as a family of 5, communication with management was A+ when we arrived quite late room was warm as the heating was on (thank you!) and portacot set up couldn’t fault a thing a great family unit in an excellent location. Thank you for your great job

Date of stay: October 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Kiwinz1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews