We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
JBR

Brilliant stay in Ashburton

Review of Taylors Motel
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 27 Feb 2023via mobile
We had a great stay here. We stayed for two nights whilst travelling on business. Units were spotless and the kitchen facilities were excellent. Location was great, a short walk from the town centre and the beautiful park.

Thank you very much for having us.
Date of stay: February 2023
Trip type: Travelled on business
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Lambie, Owner at Taylors Motel, responded to this review
Responded 28 Feb 2023
Many thanks for your lovely review. We are delighted you had a great stay and we look forward to seeing you again. Regards Kay & Des
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Main entrance
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Vio.com
    $89
  • Hotels.com
0.1 km from Taylors Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $148
  • Hotels.com
0.5 km from Taylors Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Expedia.com
  • Priceline
    $168
  • Hotels.com
0.8 km from Taylors Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Beautiful garden setting with cosy rooms
  • Expedia.com
  • Priceline
    $139
  • Hotels.com
0.3 km from Taylors Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tinwald Motels
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
4.0 km from Taylors Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Restaurant
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $122
  • Hotels.com
0.8 km from Taylors Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Adcroft Guest Room
  • Expedia.com
  • Priceline
    $148
  • Hotels.com
3.0 km from Taylors Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Lodge, East wing ensuite studio rooms West Wing dorm rooms, family rooms, communal facilities.  Opening soon
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
  • Priceline
5.4 km from Taylors Motel
Free parking
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • eDreams
  • Expedia.com
  • Booking.com
13.0 km from Taylors Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Priceline
    $380
  • eDreams
5.2 km from Taylors Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Ashburton
Reviews (247)
Filter reviews
247 results
Traveller rating
194
48
2
3
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
194
48
2
3
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews friendly welcome excellent value for money heat pump two bedroom unit kay motel hosts des units netflix nz
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 247 reviews
Reviewed 1 January 2023

Found this place at short notice. Good rate, location and recommendations where to find a feed and a drink on new year's eve. Even provided secure storage for our bikes rather than leaving in the ute. Super comfortable bed and amazing pillows.

Date of stay: December 2022
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Mason C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Lambie, Owner at Taylors Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2023

Many thanks for your time taken to write your lovely review. We are only too happy to advise our customers with our local knowledge. Delighted you had a great stay and we look forward to seeing you again. Regards Kay & Des

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2022

Kay and Des are extremely welcoming hosts often upgrading returning guests if possible. The motel is exceptionally clean, comfortable and modern including the new Smart tvs which even have Netflix. This is one of our favourite motels in NZ and our first choice in Ashburton.

Date of stay: June 2022
Thank L3605WMcarola
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Lambie, Owner at Taylors Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2023

Thank you very much for your amazing review and we are always happy to help our customers. As always we are delighted you had a fantastic stay. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Kind Regards Kay & Des

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2022

After a long road trip from Picton we were looking for a comfortable place to bunk down for the night. There are not many hotels in Ashburton so we were pleasantly surprised when we stumbled across Taylors Motel. Excellent value for money and everything was new. Well appointed / maintained rooms. A credit to the managers / owners. I would highly recommend to others.

Date of stay: April 2022
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank waynehannah2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Lambie, Owner at Taylors Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2023

Thank you very much for taking your time and writing a lovely positive review. We are thrilled that you had a great stay with us and hopefully we will see you again. Kind Regards Kay & Des

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2021

Stayed in one of their Executive King suites with bonus spa bath, which are in a new wing. Very well appointed, double glazed, and warm. This new wing is nearest to the road and I was worried about road noise. I wasn't an issue at all. The train noise/vibration was intrusive but trains were rare and I'd say all motels in Ashburton face the same issue. Best things? Spotlessly clean and super friendly staff. Comfy bed and plenty of space for my husband to work for an evening. Will definitely be back.

Date of stay: September 2021
Thank johannar776
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Lambie, Owner at Taylors Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2021

We are absolutely delighted that you had a great stay with us and found everything well appointed for your requirements. As the train runs directly through the centre of town, you can virtually hear it from anywhere is town. Lucky the trains are few and far between now. Many thanks for writing your lovely review and we look forward to having you stay with us again soon. Regards Kay & Des

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2021

I stayed at Taylors Motel in Ashburton on the way home from the Brass Monkey Rally in June 2021. After five hours on a motorbike in the cold and rain it was a huge relief to find this warm and friendly oasis. The room was very well equipped, clean and tidy and the friendliness and helpfulness of the proprietors was a pleasure.

Date of stay: June 2021
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank tolleyc2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Lambie, Owner at Taylors Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2021

Many thanks for your time taken to write your great review. Glad we were able to assist you and provide lovely warm accommodation for you after being out in the cold for so long. We look forward to seeing you again on your next journey through town. Regards Kay & Des

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews