We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great eatery in Ohakune”

Powderkeg Restaurant
Ranked #5 of 38 Restaurants in Ohakune
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$1 - US$18
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: The Powderkeg is the heart of the Powderhorn Chateau and is where the most of the fun tends to begin! Situated at the start of The Old Coach Road, The Powderkeg guarantees a fun and hospitable atmosphere! Many a tall story is told over a cold beer seated at the unforgettable wood furniture.
Reviewed 4 January 2018

Awesome service and great food. The spare ribs were to die for and plenty of meat on them as well. Lovely people and a great atmosphere. Hadn't been here before but would definitely recommend it and will be back.

Date of visit: December 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank doris30nz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (350)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

38 - 42 of 350 reviews

Reviewed 4 January 2018 via mobile

The PowderKeg is an Ohakune institution and it would be rude NOT to visit on our stay.
The wine list was great and we settled in with a glass of Roaring Meg Pinot Noir.

The food menu was varied and enticing. I opted for a quinoa and marinated haloumi salad and it was delicious. Presentation was ok and it was a huge serving.
The Pork Ribs was served with coleslaw with pineapple on top. We didn’t eat the coleslaw. Where does pineapple with coleslaw come from? Feels very 1970’s. The pork ribs tasted a bit like they just had bought bbq sauce on them. Not much panache about them.
Yes the PowderKeg is a trip down memory lane. The staff were all excellent and our water glasses were always topped up and I couldn’t fault how the place runs but probably won’t rush back in a hurry.

Date of visit: January 2018
Thank maestro77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2017

Enjoyable surroundings and atmosphere with good range on the menu followed up with quick and efficient service by the staff . Well done to all

Date of visit: December 2017
Thank James1002013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2017

A great place to spend some time , excellent range of everything in the Bar good bar snacks and meal selections , Great Service , have been many times and hope to come many more.

Date of visit: November 2017
Thank OliverWellington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2017

Loved that I could walk to the restaurant from our holiday rental house - no need for sober driver! Great range of food and a lively, colourful atmosphere. The Powderkeg seems more professional and cosmopolitan than some other restaurants in town.

Date of visit: October 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank latte-lover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Powderkeg Restaurant also viewed

Ohakune, Manawatu-Wanganui Region
Ohakune, Manawatu-Wanganui Region
 
Ohakune, Manawatu-Wanganui Region
Ohakune, Manawatu-Wanganui Region
 
Ohakune, Manawatu-Wanganui Region
Ohakune, Manawatu-Wanganui Region
 

Been to Powderkeg Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing