We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (28)
Filter reviews
28 results
Traveller rating
20
2
4
0
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
20
2
4
0
2
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 28 reviews
Reviewed 19 February 2017

Spacious, comfortable room with high quality, appealing furnishings that fit the alpine setting. Breakfast foods and beverages provided for us to prepare and eat when convenient. Liked the combination of informality in serene gracious setting with garden views. Hosts Devon and Peter were warm, fun and helpful.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MarthaL628
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2017 via mobile

Peter and Devon are excellent hosts, and their accommodation was perfect for us as two couples travelling together. We had the upstairs 'flat' with two bedrooms and communal lounge/breakfast area. You need a car to get to the nearest restaurants in Ohakune, but the restaurants are good. The walks in Tongariro are excellent, although we picked a miserable day for it and only managed the waterfall walk which was good. Highly recommended B&B.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Phaphosman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2017

Loved our two night stay at Cairnbrae - wish we could have stayed longer.
Our hosts Devi & Pete were sensational and breakfast was super tasty!

There is a challenging golf course (Waimarino GC) around the corner (1km) from the location. It was very quiet, the greens & fairway were in good order. Green Fees are only $25 if you are a non-NZ club member.

I also got to feed their deer they have on the property - another great experience which will be remembered.

Thanks,

James

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank JamesB5734
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2017 via mobile

Friendly host and hostess, a beautiful appartment with views of the garden and the surrounding mountains, a great bed, lots of birds and quiet. Town with shops and restaurants nearby. All good (except for the weather today).

Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank jhelmich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2016

Positives: 1) Location: out of town, quiet, with nice views of Mt Ruapehu. 2) We booked a standard queen room, but got a free upgrade to a king room with ensuite. 3) Room was very spacious and clean. 4) Fridge, microwave, kettle in the room - tea/coffee and milk were provided. 5) Bathroom was also spacious and clean - free toiletries were provided. 6) Breakfast was included in the room price, prepared and left in the room by the owners a day earlier. Lots of things to choose from: fruit, cereals, bread, ham, tomatoes - dirty dished were collected and cleaned by the owners. 7) Free WiFi.

One small negative - the walls/ceiling were very thin and we could hear all kinds of noises from surrounding rooms.

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank pralinka10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairnbrae, Owner at Cairnbrae House, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2016

Thank you for your kind remarks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews