We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (28)
Filter reviews
28 results
Traveller rating
20
2
4
0
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
20
2
4
0
2
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 28 reviews
Reviewed 15 February 2017 via mobile

Peter and Devon are excellent hosts, and their accommodation was perfect for us as two couples travelling together. We had the upstairs 'flat' with two bedrooms and communal lounge/breakfast area. You need a car to get to the nearest restaurants in Ohakune, but the restaurants are good. The walks in Tongariro are excellent, although we picked a miserable day for it and only managed the waterfall walk which was good. Highly recommended B&B.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Phaphosman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2017

Loved our two night stay at Cairnbrae - wish we could have stayed longer.
Our hosts Devi & Pete were sensational and breakfast was super tasty!

There is a challenging golf course (Waimarino GC) around the corner (1km) from the location. It was very quiet, the greens & fairway were in good order. Green Fees are only $25 if you are a non-NZ club member.

I also got to feed their deer they have on the property - another great experience which will be remembered.

Thanks,

James

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank JamesB5734
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2017 via mobile

Friendly host and hostess, a beautiful appartment with views of the garden and the surrounding mountains, a great bed, lots of birds and quiet. Town with shops and restaurants nearby. All good (except for the weather today).

Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank jhelmich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2016

Positives: 1) Location: out of town, quiet, with nice views of Mt Ruapehu. 2) We booked a standard queen room, but got a free upgrade to a king room with ensuite. 3) Room was very spacious and clean. 4) Fridge, microwave, kettle in the room - tea/coffee and milk were provided. 5) Bathroom was also spacious and clean - free toiletries were provided. 6) Breakfast was included in the room price, prepared and left in the room by the owners a day earlier. Lots of things to choose from: fruit, cereals, bread, ham, tomatoes - dirty dished were collected and cleaned by the owners. 7) Free WiFi.

One small negative - the walls/ceiling were very thin and we could hear all kinds of noises from surrounding rooms.

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank pralinka10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairnbrae, Owner at Cairnbrae House, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2016

Thank you for your kind remarks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2016

We decided to stay here as a getaway together from the big city. We had spent the day at the snow and arrived to be shown around this tidy B&B. It had a gorgeous little deer farm and we were pleased with the furnishings and our own private en suite.
However, we found the hosts unusually rude and overall we felt we were extremely unwelcome. After arriving home from an early dinner we decided to watch some TV quietly in the shared guest lounge before getting an early night. We turned the heat pump on to 25 degrees because we were cold. Shortly after the host stormed in and growled us, saying that this was completely unnecessary and using up all their power. Her manner made us feel like we were kids on school camp who had been naughty. She then cooled the room back down to 18 degrees!!! Not only did we feel embarrassed by this, we felt completely shocked that we were paying $200/night to be told off for using the heating system!!
We ended up having to go back and ask for another source of heating because it was freezing. We aren't particularly fussy about these things and wouldn't have minded even being given some blankets or something to warm up - we just couldn't believe the way the host handled it. She didn't seem open to reason to the fact that we were feeling cold. We felt stupid for asking. We were made to feel like we were a nuisance, unwelcome, and intruding on her house. Needless to say we felt like we were watching our backs all night - like she might come back and unreasonably scold us again. We left first thing in the morning.
We were also disappointed with the breakfast. Despite informing the host on the booking form that one of us had coeliac disease, there were no gluten free options other than fruit that had mould on it. It wouldn't have hurt to have provided a bit of gluten free bread for toast! We left without eating.
For $200 a night, we felt really ripped off. We did not feel comfortable here and wished we had either just driven home, or spent our money on the Powderhorn which was just $20 more.
We won't be recommending Cairnbrae House or coming back.

Room Tip: Not all rooms have own, private bathroom
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank gewooding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairnbrae, Owner at Cairnbrae House, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2016

Thank-you for your kind remarks regarding Cairnbrae House. We are sorry you had to be censured for abusing our facilities. Your critique only reflects on your character. Regards Peter M

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews