We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful Cabin”
other travellers have booked this property
Home with a View!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Home with a View!
Open spacious living area modern kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
15 reviews
Home with a View!
Open spacious living area
modern kitchen
King Bedroom
Spacious Queen Bedroom
custom tiled bath
Sunny Patio
Secluded Cottage
View of the mountains
Open Living Plan
Guest Firepit Area
Cottage from the Driveway
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Palmer, Alaska

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Giselle11...
Pasadena, California
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Beautiful Cabin”
Reviewed 26 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014

This was one of the best looking accommodations of our month in Alaska. We arrived after a long drive. Since in Alaska the house numbers are generally hard to spot I was disappointed that the signage for Rose Ridge was not more prominent. By the time I saw it we had already overshot it. To safely make a u-turn on the busy highway was a bit tricky. We did it and checked in. It turned out that the supplies for making a decent breakfast were severely limited. I wished that they would have been much more generous, considering that the closest markets are at quite a distance. If you are traveling with a group of friends this might be the ideal place, once you buy all the food, spices, oils, vinegar, etc. etc. For the two of us who came to Alaska to get to know its people the place felt a bit isolated, lacking human contact.

Date of stay: July 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The architecture
Liked least: poor supplies for (promised) breakfast, inadequate kitchen supplies
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Aug 2014
Thank you for taking time to review our Chalet. I am sorry you had trouble finding us. Alaska law does not allow us to have large signs in the right of way, so we have to keep it minimal to be able to have one at all. I will make sure my directions are written better in the confirmations.
Both of our homes have the basics for cooking supplies (oil, spices, condiments)so they should not have been lacking. We stock pancake mix, cereal, fruit, milk, juice and breakfast pastry for each new guest. Dietary restrictions sometimes limit what will work, but I go out of my way to try to accommodate special requests.
Rose Ridge is 7 miles from downtown Palmer and we do promote our quiet, private location as something guests might enjoy after full days of visiting nearby attractions and sights.
We are glad our accommodations were the best looking and appreciate sharing your honest review with other travelers.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
patc01
Bispham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Just perfect”
Reviewed 26 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We spent 2 nights in July 2014 in the wonderful chalet which is in a superbly quiet location just outside Palmer, Alaska.

The chalet is equipped to a very high standard, immaculately maintained and has excellent quality furnishings and importantly, very comfortable beds.

The owner, Diane, made sure we had a good starter pack for breakfast which was really appreciated

Bird life is plentiful and easily viewed from the wonderful floor to ceiling picture windows

All in all, this is one of our favourite places that we have stayed in and is highly recommended if peace, quiet and quality are what you are looking for

Date of stay: July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jackie611...
Las Vegas, Nevada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Home Away from Home”
Reviewed 24 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

From the moment we walked through the door of the beautiful cottage, we felt like we were home. All the reviews read were accurate, because this chalet was everything we hoped it would be. If we had a home in Alaska, we would want it to be just like this cottage. The open floor plan and spectacular views were perfect for relaxing and taking in the Alaska that we love. We looked forward to coming back to it every evening after our busy days of sightseeing. The interior was clean and comfortable, with a great deal of character built into the decor and structure of the cottage. We had everything we needed, including access to the owners, Diane and Dave, lots of privacy, comfortable furniture and beds, and views from all areas of the cottage due to multiple windows in all rooms. We wished we could have stayed longer, as it truly felt like we were home.

Date of stay: July 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views and open floor plan of the cottage.
Liked least: We couldn't stay longer.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sute99
Valparaiso
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“It's True! A beautiful cottage with a beautiful view”
Reviewed 23 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Cottage was very clean; directions made it very easy to find even though it was off the beaten path (which we wanted); and we never turned on the TV as we spent our two evenings there staring out the front windows. Owner lives on site and was very helpful but never intrusive. Would definitely stay there again!!

Date of stay: July 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Jul 2014
Thank you for taking a moment to review our Cottage. We are happy you enjoyed your time here and appreciate you passing your thoughts on to others. We would welcome you back anytime.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathy W
Brisbane, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Our Wonderful Rose Ridge Moment”
Reviewed 25 September 2013 for a stay in July 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We had had such a long day and were so tired when we arrived but all that changed when we arrive at our Rose Ridge cottage. It is a beautiful cottage sitting on top of a ridge overlooking forests and majestic mountains in the distance with the clouds moving in and out providing an ever changing view. Loved the large windows in the chalet type cabin that gave such access to outstanding views. The cabin is large and very well equipped, a lovely kitchen we are so impressed, the owners have gone to so much trouble to ensure they provide a most comfortable stay. After this every where we stayed we couldn't help but compare to this lovely accommodation with amazing views all at a very reasonable price.

Date of stay: July 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quality cabin in a great location
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Sep 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review! We do strive to make everything at Rose Ridge make the guest feel pampered and right at home. I appreciate you sharing your experience online with others and thank you for choosing to stay with us. Diane and David Rose, hosts
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.