We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotels.com
US$172
View deal
Booking.com
US$172
View deal
Agoda.com
US$129
View deal
Free cancellation until 01/05/21
Expedia.comUS$172
eDreamsUS$172
Trip.comUS$224
View all 15 deals
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (351)
Filter reviews
351 results
Traveller rating
264
70
7
7
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
264
70
7
7
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews michelle and paul skewers watch the sunset other guests happy hour across the road every evening bus stop right fantastic stay new zealand wilsons hosts cocktails island apo deck kitchenette
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 351 reviews
Reviewed 17 April 2020

So, this is a small resort on the sunset part of the Island. The crew is amazing, they all know your name, you feel like at home, they are nice, full of advises and kindness and smiles! The bosses Michele and Paul are absolutely lovely, they can recommand what you need on the island (great restaurants, best snorkelings spots and activities
to do etc...)
Place is small, rooms clean and great, nice restaurant on the beach with wonderful food and cocktails, they even have an amazing masseuse on site... It's a very relaxing hotel, very quiet, I definitely recommand it !
Thank you Michele and Paul and the crew for the marvelous stay I had at Castway ! Hope to see you soon... :)

Date of stay: February 2020
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank florinebachelot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle Oberg, General Manager at Castaway Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2020

Thank you very much for your review! Your feedback is greatly appreciated. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your visit with us and hope to have the pleasure of hosting you in future :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2020

Throughout all interactions with staff, from booking to departing, everyone without fail was courteous and helpful. Our room was spotlessly clean with a private balcony with beautiful reef view. We ate at the restaurant every evening and the menu, which changes nightly, was varied and delicious. The cereal/toast/coffee breakfast which is included was more than enough to get you started for the day. Great location especially for sunsets. Highly recommended!

Room tip: Upstairs rooms with views
Date of stay: March 2020
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Linda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle Oberg, General Manager at Castaway Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2020

Kia Orana!

Thank you for taking the time to write such a beautiful review! So happy to hear you're having such a great time with us and super glad the team here are able to help make your stay here that much more enjoyable! Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we hope to see you back again soon :)

Meitaki maata,
The Castaway Crew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2020

For our 4 weeks on Raro we stayed the first 2 at Castaways. For the final 2 we stayed at an airBnB. In hind sight we wished we had stopped all four at Castaways. There are several reasons why, in Februay the humidity was a killer and the A/C was a welcome greeting to our room. That coupled with a pool to cool off was a bonus as well, our airBnB did.nt have either and we suffered for it. Happy with the room, staff came in every day and made bed and tidied up. The patio doors opened onto the pool and the rooms the other side of the pool, #6,7 and 8 looked like they had been refurbished. The owners Michelle and Paul as well as everybody in the front office were a pleasure to deal with, no problem they could'nt fix. The staff at the restaurant and bar were exceptional, Apo, Treena, Richelle and Mel, truly gave you a Raro welcome. We ate there several times and was impressed with the pizza, especialy the seafood. Other meals included the loaded nachos, chicken vindaloo and the sausage and mash were easily the best l've ever tasted. They have great breakfasts as well, if you are going to have the big breaky bring your appetite with you. The chefs also are a great bunch of guy's and in the morning only they make a certain amount of pies. A couple of times we managed to snag an egg and bacon and a beef and mushroom, yummy. l know the skewers were popular but l did'nt think to much of them, l liked the ones at the Saturday morning market in Avarua more. There's a nice community feel about being on the beach and having a drink at Wilsons in the evening. Most evenings were cloudy but the one sunset we did witness blew us away, spectacular. The loungers around the pool and on the beach look as if they are ready to be retired, but all in all l would recomend the Castaways and we would definatly stay here again should we be in this neck of the woods. Meitaki ma'ata.

Room tip: #6,7 and 8. Refurbished by the pool.
Date of stay: February 2020
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle Oberg, General Manager at Castaway Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2020

Kia Orana!

Thank you for taking the time to write such a beautiful review! So happy to hear you're having such a great time with us and super glad the team here are able to help make your stay here that much more enjoyable! Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we hope to see you back again soon :)

Meitaki maata,
The Castaway Crew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2020

We didn’t stay at the resort, we came for drinks and appetizers several times and a delicious breakfast. The staff are excellent, so friendly, welcoming and great service. ( thank you Trina, Moi, it was a pleasure to meet you.) The shrimp & meat skewers were excellent, so delicious, cocktails are fabulous, great setting on the beach! We will see you again,☺️Deb and Steve from Ontario, Canada

Date of stay: February 2020
Thank 523stevep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle Oberg, General Manager at Castaway Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2020

Thank you very much for your review! Your feedback is greatly appreciated. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your visit with us and hope to have the pleasure of hosting you in future :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2020

I didn’t stay here, but enjoyed some beverages and dinner. Tempura prawns, Parrot fish cooked in sake were to die for! sitting with our toes in the sand, undercover enjoying the view. We agreed it would be a great spot to eat and watch the sunset

Date of stay: February 2020
Thank wlw0032
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle Oberg, General Manager at Castaway Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2020

Thank you very much for your review! Your feedback is greatly appreciated. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your visit with us and hope to have the pleasure of hosting you in future :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews